Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forum

Suche
Forum » Ticket to Ride - the Board Game - English » TTR Card game rules questions?
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Cinulph
Junior Member
Cadet

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
November 2006
TTR Card game rules questions? Mon, 28 April 2008 18:44
Or rather assumptions/interpretations...

I found the rules a little vague in places, unlike other DoW games.

1) If you play 3 different colours then they go in a row but side to side - so that in the next turn you have to remove one of them?

2) If you play 3 different colours then they must be different from any cards that are already in play by anyone (including yourself) - otherwise you are in contradition of the train robbing rule?

3) If you play locomotives as Jokers - They count towards the number of cards of that colour placed. E.G. Bob has 3 blue carriages, I can play 2 Blue carriages and 2 Locomotives (i.e. equivalent 4) locomotives and rob him of his carriages?

4) As a corollary, if you play locomotives as Jokers - Then you can play them irrespective of how many are already in play as they are colourless and instead count as the matching colour of card.

Jon
      
Joszti
Junior Member
Hauptmann

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7
Registriert:
February 2006
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Sat, 24 May 2008 23:05
1. No. If you have 3 different colours in your railyard, then next turn you put them all three into your 'On the track' pile.

2. Yes. When you play 3 cards of different colour you cannot play a colour which is in another players' railyard.
You can only play the same colour if you lay down more cards than other player(s) and you cannot put more than 1 card of a colour when you lay down 3 different colours.

3. Yes, you are right.

4. I don't understand this question, but maybe someone elso does.


Now I have a question myself:

When one player plays more cards of a colour than an opponent has in his railyard a Trainrobbery takes place.

What happens to the discarded cards? Do they go out of play or will they go back in the train pile?

Jos
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1595
Registriert:
May 2004
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Wed, 28 May 2008 11:00
Joszti wrote on Sat, 24 May 2008 15:05



Now I have a question myself:

When one player plays more cards of a colour than an opponent has in his railyard a Trainrobbery takes place.

What happens to the discarded cards? Do they go out of play or will they go back in the train pile?

Jos


Yes and no. The discarded cards go in the discard train pile. And at the end of the 1st round, if this is a game with 4 players, this discard train pile of cards make up the train pile for the 2nd round after it is shuffled.

In other words, they don't go out of play, per se.

Cinulph wrote on Mon, 28 April 2008 10:44



3) If you play locomotives as Jokers - They count towards the number of cards of that colour placed. E.G. Bob has 3 blue carriages, I can play 2 Blue carriages and 2 Locomotives (i.e. equivalent 4) locomotives and rob him of his carriages?

4) As a corollary, if you play locomotives as Jokers - Then you can play them irrespective of how many are already in play as they are colourless and instead count as the matching colour of card.

Jon



3 - Yes, you are correct.

4- I'm going to say no here, since each pile must be a color of something, per the rules. Sure locomotives have "no color" but I suspect that if you happen to lay down 3 locomotives, you will have to announce which pile of colors they are. Note, per the rules, you cannot LAY down ANY locomotives and thus try the "Playing 3 train cards of different colors" option.

Thus if you are trying to place down 4 locomotives in 1 pile, you would also have to announced the color of the pile as well. Thus if you were placing them down as "4 blue" you would still need to abide by the rules and thus have more blues than anyone else at the time of the placement.

Sadly I did ask DoW about a pile of locomotives but I've seem to have misplace the answer to the question...Sad

In regards to when the train deck runs out - Since there will be a pile of train cards PLUS 5 cards laid out face up, I'm presuming the train deck runs out when there is 0 or 1 cards to choose from - i.e. the deck is exhausted and there is 0 or 1 train cards faced up - Correct?

Cab

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 28 May 2008 11:12]

      
filzenexpress
Junior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 12
Registriert:
May 2005
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Thu, 29 May 2008 09:16
We understood the (German language) rules as follows:

- A set of 3 different cards can never include a locomotive.

- One pile of color cards has to start with two color cards, and so many (other cards with that color and/or) locos can be added on top as one wishes (in order to lay down more cards as exists already in any railyard).
A set with locos only is not allowed. The color of the locos has to be announced by color cards, not by words.

I think it is only fair, that the opponent who steals cards from my railyard, must lay down a minimum of two cards of that certain color!

When the train deck runs out:
The "last" round starts if the last card from the pile has been taken. In the next round, the remaining 4 or 5 open color cards can be drawn (that could make sense in a 4-player-game, as they remain in your hand).

filzen

      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1595
Registriert:
May 2004
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Fri, 30 May 2008 20:22
filzenexpress wrote on Thu, 29 May 2008 01:16

We understood the (German language) rules as follows:

- A set of 3 different cards can never include a locomotive.

- One pile of color cards has to start with two color cards, and so many (other cards with that color and/or) locos can be added on top as one wishes (in order to lay down more cards as exists already in any railyard).
A set with locos only is not allowed. The color of the locos has to be announced by color cards, not by words.

I think it is only fair, that the opponent who steals cards from my railyard, must lay down a minimum of two cards of that certain color!

When the train deck runs out:
The "last" round starts if the last card from the pile has been taken. In the next round, the remaining 4 or 5 open color cards can be drawn (that could make sense in a 4-player-game, as they remain in your hand).

filzen



As for your set of 3 different colors not including a loco, you are correct there and the English rules states that as well.

As for the 1 pile of cards with 2 colors cards, that is NOT in the English rules (at least not in the online rules here). Too bad it isn't since it definitely would remove some of the issues of whether a pile of locos is valid or not.

But also I noticed this and thus MAYBE this is where you are getting this (not saying otherwise, but would like some concurance)...in the section of placing trains in the railyard :
[added boldness to highlight item I noticed]

Quote:

When playing a suit of 2 or more cards of the
same color
, the cards must be placed in a single
row in the player's Railyard, each slightly
offset from the card just under it. Locomotives
may be played as part of that suit, but must all
be placed on top of the row.


Could the item I highlighted be where it says 2 cards MUST be the same color and not locos ??

Likewise with when the last round starts is not in the English rules either. It would have made sense to state if is the empty pile that triggers it or all the cards. Based on the possible items to do on the last round, the rules seem to indicate that all the cards must be gone..but again it would have been nice for some clarification.

Cab
      
MarkoPolo
-= Crew =-
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 138
Registriert:
October 2002
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Wed, 04 June 2008 20:24
Caboose wrote on Fri, 30 May 2008 11:22


Could the item I highlighted be where it says 2 cards MUST be the same color and not locos ??

Likewise with when the last round starts is not in the English rules either. It would have made sense to state if is the empty pile that triggers it or all the cards. Based on the possible items to do on the last round, the rules seem to indicate that all the cards must be gone..but again it would have been nice for some clarification.

Cab


To clarify... you only need to include ONE train card of the specific color when you lay down a set of 2 or more cards. The second and any additional cards can be locomotives. We should have made this clearer in the rules.

Also, the trigger for the turn (or game) end is last card drawn from the deck, NOT the last cards drawn. It is possible there would be face up cards remaining. This is actually stated as the first sentence of the "When the Train Deck runs Out..." section of the rules: "When the last card is drawn from the Train deck..."

Hope this helps.

      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1595
Registriert:
May 2004
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Wed, 04 June 2008 20:53
Mark

Thanks the clarification on those 2 items, namely the "end of game" situation, since I could see a situation on the last turn that if a person couldn't play cards (due to what they have in hand and thus abide by the rules) that if there were no cards to pick up that one would have to pick up a ticket and thus possible lose points.

Thus with the above, it looks like there might be the option of taking cards from the pile, if there are any. Of course, the rulebook made it sound like this option wouldn't be available (except for maybe one person). The above definitely helps.

If possible, when a FAQ becomes available, to include both of these items in there (I know a tad early for that but something to remember when the time comes)

Cab

      
yosemite
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 130
Registriert:
October 2004
  Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Thu, 12 June 2008 00:59
Hi. All! We played our first game today! From reading this forum, the railyard seems to be causing me some problems still! (THOUGHT we had it figured out... Confused )

Let's say that I have a set of black cards and locos AND a set of three different colored cards. At the start of my turn, WE played that I moved ONE card from each of these into the "On Track" pile. Right or not? Someone earlier indicated that I would move ALL THREE of the different colored ones at the same time...

Also, assuming that cards ARE moved one at a time, must you take the top card first and move them to the "On Track" pile in order?!?

THANKS!!!!!!!
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1595
Registriert:
May 2004
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Fri, 13 June 2008 01:22
yosemite wrote on Wed, 11 June 2008 16:59

Hi. All! We played our first game today! From reading this forum, the railyard seems to be causing me some problems still! (THOUGHT we had it figured out... Confused )

Let's say that I have a set of black cards and locos AND a set of three different colored cards. At the start of my turn, WE played that I moved ONE card from each of these into the "On Track" pile. Right or not? Someone earlier indicated that I would move ALL THREE of the different colored ones at the same time...

Also, assuming that cards ARE moved one at a time, must you take the top card first and move them to the "On Track" pile in order?!?

THANKS!!!!!!!


Yosemite, at the start of your turn, if you have any cards in your railyard, you move ONE card from EACH Row in the Railyard to your On-The-Track stack. And yes, you must take the topmost card of each color to your On-The-Track stack.

As a note : When you lay down a suit of 2 or more trains in your railyard, remember that Wilds locos are placed on top of the normal color locos for that color.

Cab
      
Zhaleskra
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Fri, 13 June 2008 01:54
I just got my preordered copy of the game a couple days ago. The art for the tickets and the train cards is wonderful.

My question isn't a rules question per se, it's more like a crossover question. That is, could you use the card game tickets with the US board game? It doesn't give you those neat point to point pictures, and they'll still have the color line from the card game, but I don't see how it would be unreasonable.

Also, will we be getting an online version of the card game?
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1595
Registriert:
May 2004
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Fri, 13 June 2008 02:00
Zhaleskra wrote on Thu, 12 June 2008 17:54

I just got my preordered copy of the game a couple days ago. The art for the tickets and the train cards is wonderful.

My question isn't a rules question per se, it's more like a crossover question. That is, could you use the card game tickets with the US board game? It doesn't give you those neat point to point pictures, and they'll still have the color line from the card game, but I don't see how it would be unreasonable.

Also, will we be getting an online version of the card game?


I guess you could use them for the board game, but like you said, it won't show where they are on the board. Also don't forget that each T2R : The Card game ticket is tied to one of 6 cities (Chicago, Dallas, New York, Seattle, Miami and Los Angeles) vs the board game tickets could be anywhere (if also using the 1910 expansion)

As for an online version, no word from DoW about one anytime soon.

Cab
      
yosemite
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 130
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Fri, 13 June 2008 02:02
Thanks, Cab! That's the way we played. I've seen posts here and on BGG that sounded like you moved all three AT ONCE if they were different colors. Didn't seem right to me, but I wanted to check.

Thanks again!

      
losmadden
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 5
Registriert:
July 2005
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Tue, 17 June 2008 18:05
Thanks for these clarifications. I think the confusion about game-end comes from the confusion about what constitutes the "Train deck." Does it include the five face-up cards? I was confused by the second sentence: "If there is only 1 Train card left to pick up..." I was playing a 2-player game, and this is an impossibility there. I didn't think about the 4-player game, where everybody could just pick up cards and leave 1 or 0 face-up cards for the last player. Anyway, I'm fine with that now.

In any case, there's no risk to picking up more Destination Tickets on your last turn, since you don't have to keep any of them...

My other question is probably pretty obvious, but I'll try anyway: the rules state that at the beginning of each turn a player MUST move one train from each Railyard row to the On-The-Track pile. But they don't explicitly prohibit anyone from placing MORE than one train from a given pile. Say I only have one pile, of 3 red trains. Could I move all three to On-The-Track? I assume this is a no-no?
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1595
Registriert:
May 2004
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Wed, 18 June 2008 20:03
losmadden wrote on Tue, 17 June 2008 10:05

Thanks for these clarifications. I think the confusion about game-end comes from the confusion about what constitutes the "Train deck." Does it include the five face-up cards? I was confused by the second sentence: "If there is only 1 Train card left to pick up..." I was playing a 2-player game, and this is an impossibility there. I didn't think about the 4-player game, where everybody could just pick up cards and leave 1 or 0 face-up cards for the last player. Anyway, I'm fine with that now.

In any case, there's no risk to picking up more Destination Tickets on your last turn, since you don't have to keep any of them...

My other question is probably pretty obvious, but I'll try anyway: the rules state that at the beginning of each turn a player MUST move one train from each Railyard row to the On-The-Track pile. But they don't explicitly prohibit anyone from placing MORE than one train from a given pile. Say I only have one pile, of 3 red trains. Could I move all three to On-The-Track? I assume this is a no-no?


Welcome to the forums LosMaden!!

In regards to your question as to what constitues the "end of game", as MarkPolo stated above, it is when the Card deck is empty (runs out of cards). It does NOT include the 5 face up cards. Don't worry, this item has caused quite a bit of confusion for TTR: The Card game and probably will be asked again.

As for your railyard to ON-the track pile question, it is ONE card from EACH pile that goes from the railyard to the on-the-track pile. No more than one card from each pile either.

Cab
      
hudarklord
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 9
Registriert:
December 2007
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Wed, 02 July 2008 23:58
The rules note that when you move train cards of your Railyard and to the On-the-Track stack, you take one card from each colored row. It doesn't specify where you take them from. Can you take any card in each stack?

The rules oddly tell you to put the locomotive on the top of each row of cards. It's unclear whether that means they are the first to get sent to the On-the-Track Stack or if they are put on top merely for informational purposes. On Board Game Geek some people said you pull from the bottom of the stack to send it to your On-the-Track Stack.

Is there any official response on this. As written, the player who controls the cards could pick any card in each of his rows (locomotive or standard train) and would thus tend to pick his locomotives to go first to the On-the-Track stack. Similarly if you pick from the top they would go there first. If you have to pick from the bottom first, then that's counterintuitive with the rules and should REALLY have been noted.

Any clarification either officially or from someone who has gamed with a DoW employee?

Thanks,
Lee Valentine
      
hudarklord
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 9
Registriert:
December 2007
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Thu, 03 July 2008 00:07
I didn't quite understand MarkoPolo's comments on locomotives above. Were you saying that I can't, for example, play a pile of 2 locomotives and call them "blue" without including at least one normal blue train in the mix?


Thanks

[Aktualisiert am: Fri, 04 July 2008 02:21]

      
AK_Aramis
Senior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 399
Registriert:
January 2006
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Wed, 09 July 2008 07:43
hudarklord wrote on Wed, 02 July 2008 14:07

I didn't quite understand MarkoPolo's comments on locomotives above. Were you saying that I can't, for example, play a pile of 2 locomotives and call them "blue" without including at least one normal blue train in the mix?


Thanks


The bottom-most card on every yard pile MUST be a genuine color card, not a locomotive. You could, however, drop one blue and 10 locomotives....

Now, when completing tickets, you can use wild cards for any and/or all of the requisite cards to complete the tickets.
      
hudarklord
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 9
Registriert:
December 2007
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Wed, 09 July 2008 14:42
Thanks, Aramis.

Lee
      
erps
Senior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1637
Registriert:
July 2005
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Wed, 16 July 2008 11:03
Hi

First: Bought the card game recently and must say it is brilliant (for a card game), has the spirit of the board game and some clever rules.

But... This times the rules are not really well written. Of course we figured the thing with the "at least one card of color for a pile" out by ourself (other solutions are senseless imo), but also the "last" card rule is not written clearly.

However another question and i think it is an important one...

How do you handle the end of the game? The moment the tickets are counted?

First it is really nearly impossible to handle 5+ tickets and 20+ color cards in one hand, so we decided to lay them out open and distributed the color cars to the tickets. So far no problem as long as all players make their tickets. But the real problem is, that you have sometimes to decide which tick you abandon and which not! And this is not always the lowest ticket! And it is possible that the decision of one player has impacts of the decision of another player and vice versa. You may ask why this is so? Because of the bonus cards. It may be worth to subtract more points from a higher ticket if you get together with the lower ticket the bonus card of one city (alone).

So we did ask ourself how to do this. Is there any idea out there because it is clearly not in the rules how to handle this.

We had two ideas: The playing order remains intact for the ticket counting phase and the next player must count all his ticks and color cards an lay them out. His game ends then, the next player counts and so on. The other idea is nearly the same, but in each "round" a player must only lay out one ticket before the next player is doing so and so on.

I hope that this game is one day implemented online because the counting and the holding of the cards are a little problem in offline play. Online if all players count their cards simultaneous there is no such problem i described.

bye, erps
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1595
Registriert:
May 2004
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Sat, 19 July 2008 01:22
Erps

I see nothing wrong with the way you played the scoring round. Each player goes in order - as for WHO the 1st person who should go, I would think it would be the person to the LEFT of the person who went last.

Also, if you are playing the 4 person (or is 5, i forget) version, I would do the same thing you did for scoring, each person has to indicate which ones they will score in both rounds (obviously scoring each ticket once and have SOME way of indicating which tickets were completed the previous round by maybe flipping them face up or turning them 90 degrees from the others unfinished tickets).

That is how I've been showing the game...unless I hear otherwise.

Cab
p.s. People always complain about the size of the cards..either too big or too small. Sure the TTR Card game wagon cards are BIGGER than the 1910 version wagon cards, you don't have to worry about picking up the cards in the "On the Track" section until the end and thus can be a big pile (hopefully not!) of cards.
pps - Yes sometimes take the negative for a larger point ticket might work out better in the end with the bonuses Smile
ppps - I like to move the bonus cards around (i.e. first person had 2 tickets to Dallas..but the next person had 3 ticks to Dallas, move the Dallas bonus to the person with 3). Just to help on strategy as well (obviously on the last scoring round) Doesn't have to be done but might help with 4 people...just a thought.
      
AK_Aramis
Senior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 399
Registriert:
January 2006
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Sun, 20 July 2008 08:05
We choose to book up our cars and tickets individually, and simultaneously, revealing only after all is done.

Then we examine who gets which bonus cards.

Rules are vague, and we took the most conservative route.
      
*ewokspy
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
August 2008
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Sat, 16 August 2008 21:11
Hi all! Big DOW board game fan here and we finally received our copy of TTR Card game, but like many of you, rules were a bit vague. Can anyone clarify the following?

1) Based on the forum, each row in your yard must be a different color, must share no color with any other row in anyone's yard, and at the beginning of your turn you must take the top card from each row and add it to your on-the-track pile. Is this about correct?

2) When a train robbery occurs and I have 1 blue and 1 loco and the robber has 3 blues, then do both my cards go, or just the cards of that color?

3) During ticket scoring it was vauge how you score. Some of us thought the train cards had to be in sets, meaning that to successfully score a ticket that requires a red, a blue and a whote, you needed a red, blue and white ticket in a row in you on-the-track deck. Based off this forum, you just take the tickets from you pile and split them up and re-assign them to tickets, irregardless of the order you added them. Which is it?

Thanks for your help!
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1595
Registriert:
May 2004
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Mon, 18 August 2008 01:28
ewokspy wrote on Sat, 16 August 2008 13:11

Hi all! Big DOW board game fan here and we finally received our copy of TTR Card game, but like many of you, rules were a bit vague. Can anyone clarify the following?

1) Based on the forum, each row in your yard must be a different color, must share no color with any other row in anyone's yard, and at the beginning of your turn you must take the top card from each row and add it to your on-the-track pile. Is this about correct?


First, ewokspy, welcome to the forums!

In regards to your first question, yes - that is correct, you take the TOP card from each pile.

ewokspy wrote on Sat, 16 August 2008 13:11


2) When a train robbery occurs and I have 1 blue and 1 loco and the robber has 3 blues, then do both my cards go, or just the cards of that color?


Both cards would go - the blue wagon as well as the loco.

ewokspy wrote on Sat, 16 August 2008 13:11


3) During ticket scoring it was vauge how you score. Some of us thought the train cards had to be in sets, meaning that to successfully score a ticket that requires a red, a blue and a whote, you needed a red, blue and white ticket in a row in you on-the-track deck. Based off this forum, you just take the tickets from you pile and split them up and re-assign them to tickets, irregardless of the order you added them. Which is it?



The latter - you take the wagons from the pile and allocate them for the various tickets you possess. Remember it sometimes is not in the best interest to score the BIGGEST ticket if you can score more bonus points.

Cab

[Aktualisiert am: Mon, 18 August 2008 01:29]

      
MattDrown
Junior Member
Cadet

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
January 2006
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Mon, 18 August 2008 08:32
Probably only to add to the "me to" list of people who played this "wrong", so the next printing can include better instructions. Smile

Here's how I just played my first 3 games (with 2 people).

2 or more of a suit (1 color required, can't just put engines)

3 different laid out on top of each other, providing 3 turns worth of cards one at a time in the order place (This does not appear to be the way that is intended)

At no time could any player place a color already down on the board.

Scoring was performed by gathering all the collected trains, sorting them out, assigning tickets to them first based on just putting the cards together. Lost points were applied immediately. And after both sides had totaled tickets, we computed big city bonus points.


So reading over here, it looks like the only major issue we had was that the train yard is intended to be columns of the same color that you pick up on the next turn, not something that takes 3 turns to collect.

I'll try it again later and see what happens.
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1595
Registriert:
May 2004
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Mon, 18 August 2008 22:24
MattDrown wrote on Mon, 18 August 2008 00:32

Probably only to add to the "me to" list of people who played this "wrong", so the next printing can include better instructions. Smile

Here's how I just played my first 3 games (with 2 people).

2 or more of a suit (1 color required, can't just put engines)

First Matt Drown - Welcome to the forums!!

In regards to the above, you are correct - the "suit" has to be of some color and it cannot be all locomotives. Also see further down on how the wagon cards should be set up when locomotives are part of the column.

MattDrown wrote on Mon, 18 August 2008 00:32


3 different laid out on top of each other, providing 3 turns worth of cards one at a time in the order place (This does not appear to be the way that is intended)


Incorrect. You lay down each color in it's own column in the railyard. Thus if you had played down brown, red and blue it would be

brown ----- red ----- blue

With the "-----" meaning the space between each column. (The editor here on the forums cuts down on white spaces, thus had to use ----- to indicate space between the columns)

MattDrown wrote on Mon, 18 August 2008 00:32


At no time could any player place a color already down on the board.


Incorrect. A person can place a color that is already down IF AND ONLY IF that person can EXCEED the total number of that color. Equalling the # of a particular color wagon already down is NOT allowed.

For example, if Susan has 4 red down in a pile, another person can only lay down red wagons if they have 5 or more red wagons. When that person lays down the 5 red wagons, All of Susan's column of 4 red wagons go away to the discard pile. That is what the rules are talking about in regards to "train robbing".

Also to clarify maybe something else, if in the above example, the person with the 5 red wagons has 2 locomotives as part of the 5 red wagons, the column of red wagons would look like this :

red
red
red
locomotive
locomotive

with the locomotives being on bottom of the column of cards but are the top most cards(in other words, the top of the pile is the bottom most card and the last card of the pile is the top most card). This allows for 2 things : 1) to know what color the column is and 2) to allow you to get locomotives in to your own trainyard.

MattDrown wrote on Mon, 18 August 2008 00:32


Scoring was performed by gathering all the collected trains, sorting them out, assigning tickets to them first based on just putting the cards together. Lost points were applied immediately. And after both sides had totaled tickets, we computed big city bonus points.


Sounds like you did that correctly. It should be basically simultaneous in regards to which tickets you did (in other words, all the people should assign the wagons to the tickets they want to complete and everyone turns them over at the same time when everyone has done that). Note that sometimes it is NOT advantageous to complete the big value tickets if you can get more extra bonus points.

Lastly, remember each wagon card can only be used for 1 ticket. It cannot be used for multiple tickets.

MattDrown wrote on Mon, 18 August 2008 00:32


So reading over here, it looks like the only major issue we had was that the train yard is intended to be columns of the same color that you pick up on the next turn, not something that takes 3 turns to collect.


Correct. And to make sure, when it is that player's NEXT turn, they only take the TOP card from each column of their own railyard and put it in their respective On-the-track stack.

I know the rules are quite unclear in some places. I know I added some more information to some of your questions but it might help others on the forum as well.

If there is anything else, don't hesitate to ask and hoped you enjoyed the game. Trust me, the other DoW games are not this bad in regards to rules, just seems the rulebook seemed to be rushed at the last minute (in my opinion).

Cab
      
Bookkeeper
Junior Member
Cadet

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
August 2008
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Sat, 23 August 2008 07:09
To clarify the 4-player rules:

When the first round is finished, the rules state that all the train cards except the unplayed cards still in the players' hands are discarded and the discards are reshuffled. There is no reference to what happens to the completed destination cards, and we assume that the completed destination cards are kept and displayed face up in front of each player so that all players can see them (for guidance in determining play strategies for the second round). Is this correct? (It appears that the info printed on the right-hand border of the destination cards is to facilitate this.)
      
*ewokspy
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
August 2008
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Sat, 23 August 2008 18:50
Thank you very much. Smile Time to play it the right way it seems Razz
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1595
Registriert:
May 2004
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Mon, 25 August 2008 05:54
Bookkeeper wrote on Fri, 22 August 2008 23:09

To clarify the 4-player rules:

When the first round is finished, the rules state that all the train cards except the unplayed cards still in the players' hands are discarded and the discards are reshuffled. There is no reference to what happens to the completed destination cards, and we assume that the completed destination cards are kept and displayed face up in front of each player so that all players can see them (for guidance in determining play strategies for the second round). Is this correct? (It appears that the info printed on the right-hand border of the destination cards is to facilitate this.)


Bookeeper, welcome to the forums!

In regards to a 4 player game, after the first round is completed, the destination cards that are completed are indicated in some fashion that they were (i.e. maybe turn the cards 90 degrees).

As for facing them up, the rules indicate otherwise. Obviously there has to be a way to "verify" the wagons used did complete those tickets and thus they need to be face up for that purpose.
But if you look on the last page, middle column, 1st paragraph, the rules, it states the following : (bold emphasis added)
Quote:


... ; and the completed Tickets are set aside, face down , next to each player.



Thus it is clear that after verification of the tickets, the tickets need to be turned face down. But doesn't say how to indicate how to indicate those completed tickets vs the non ones. Thus you can use whatever method that you feel like, provided it is face down.

Cab
      
Bookkeeper
Junior Member
Cadet

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
August 2008
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Fri, 29 August 2008 05:33
Thanks, Caboose.
      
Devilska
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
February 2014
Re:TTR Card game rules questions? Sun, 23 February 2014 23:52
Guys i need help Rolling Eyes
Do you know somewhere to have a review of TTR card game on english because i cannot understand the second part of the game!
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Overall ranking explanation
Nächstes Thema:Do your plastic trains have to be visible to other players?
Gehen Sie zum Forum: