Forum

Suche
Forum » Small World - English » Conquering or Waiting?
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
mattnik
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
February 2009
Conquering or Waiting? Tue, 08 September 2009 12:42
Hi to all,
I have a little question for you, when I read:

During his turn, each player must now either:
 Expand the reach of his race through new conquests
OR
 Put his race In Decline to select a new one

These rules does it mean that I must do one or the other action?

Or , maybe, can I stay and gain coins without doing anything?

For example: if I have an active race and I don't want to conquer no one region in my turn, can I stay and gain coins without doing anything?

I think that I must conquer a region or put it in decline, isn't it? And I think that I can't stay "watching" and gain coins only!

Please, tell me more...
mattnik@libero.it
Thank's
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3198
Registriert:
October 2002
Re:Conquering or Waiting? Wed, 09 September 2009 03:40
You could choose to stay put during your turn and do no conquests, though it is rarely beneficial to do so (since all you will be doing is score, whereas your opponents will often be expanding AND scoring, or getting ready for another race).
      
mattnik
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
February 2009
Re:Conquering or Waiting? Wed, 09 September 2009 14:04
Hi Eric, thank for your answer.

I'm not so sure that you're right, because I read on rules that:
During his turn, each player must now either:
 Expand the reach of his race through new conquests
OR
 Put his race In Decline to select a new one.

So, I understand that I can do: new conquest OR put in decline.
I repeat, I'm not so sure that I can gain coins doing nothing, I think that I must do something...conquest (or try to do) OR go in decline...and then gain coins.

What do you think about this?
Thank's
      
boxcarsquatter
Junior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
February 2009
Re:Conquering or Waiting? Mon, 14 September 2009 17:29
Perhaps a clarification like "a player may choose to conquer 0 regions on their turn" is in order. This way the player can choose the "conquest" action and avoid having to put their active race into decline.

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 06 October 2009 23:09]

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 905
Registriert:
December 2006
Re:Conquering or Waiting? Mon, 14 September 2009 20:19
I think it can be Inferred from the rules that you don't have to conquer on your turn. The option "Expand the reach of his race through new conquests" is really a section header. The similar named section in the rules then describes what you can do. You can choose to do nothing.

Besides if the crew (Eric) says you don't have to do anything, then I wouldn't continue to have doubts.
      
mattnik
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
February 2009
Re:Conquering or Waiting? Thu, 12 November 2009 09:26
Ok, thank you!

Another new question: what about Leaders? Where can I find it? I know that expansion was selled in Essen with Cursed and Gran Dames, but I can't in Essen last October, and now I want Leaders!
Could you help me?
      
*player38092
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 771
Registriert:
November 2004
Re:Conquering or Waiting? Tue, 15 December 2009 23:07
The Leaders are sold (5$) on Boardgamegeek.
Here : http://store.boardgamegeek.com/
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Conquering - placing more than required?
Nächstes Thema:FAQ pdf???
Gehen Sie zum Forum: