Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 Online - English » Mistake in Finest Hour
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Aerik
Junior Member
Major

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 5
Registriert:
June 2011
Mistake in Finest Hour Wed, 22 June 2011 21:22
I've rolled a grenade several times with Their Finest Hour, but could never choose my cannons.

Could have made a difference several times.

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 22 June 2011 21:23]

      
gheintze
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 960
Registriert:
August 2004
Re:Mistake in Finest Hour Wed, 22 June 2011 21:38
Aerik wrote on Wed, 22 June 2011 15:22

I've rolled a grenade several times with Their Finest Hour, but could never choose my cannons.

Could have made a difference several times.


Artillery can only be ordered with stars using "Their Finest Hour".

So, infantry orders infantry, tanks order armor, and stars order any unit. Grenades and Flags are wasted orders.

Geoff
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1778
Registriert:
December 2008
Re:Mistake in Finest Hour Wed, 22 June 2011 21:43
If you examine the Their Finest Hour Command Card you will see it says
Quote:

Roll 1 battle die for each command card you have, including this card.

For each unit symbol rolled 1 unit of this type is ordered.
For each star rolled 1 unit of you choice is ordered.

Ordered units battles with 1 additional die.
Reshuffles deck and discard pile.



A grenade is not the unit symbol for the artilllery. The artillery can only be activated by rolling a star.
      
Aerik
Junior Member
Major

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 5
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Mistake in Finest Hour Wed, 22 June 2011 21:47
I thought that the symbol for cannons was a grenade like it says on the card. For each unit symbol rolled, 1 unit of this type is ordered.

Going to check the manual.
      
gheintze
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 960
Registriert:
August 2004
Re:Mistake in Finest Hour Wed, 22 June 2011 21:50
Aerik wrote on Wed, 22 June 2011 15:47

I thought that the symbol for cannons was a grenade like it says on the card. For each unit symbol rolled, 1 unit of this type is ordered.

Going to check the manual.


No -- grenades hit any unit. So they are a wild symbol, not the symbol for artillery.

Artillery don't have a symbol on the dice, which is why they can only be hit by grenades. But grenades also hit tanks and infantry. That is probably where the confusion is...

Geoff
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1778
Registriert:
December 2008
Re:Mistake in Finest Hour Wed, 22 June 2011 21:52
You are welcome to check the manual however the M44 FAQ has the following

Quote:


Their Finest Hour
Q. Their Finest Hour: Does grenade mean that you can order artillery, or is the only way to order
artillery to get a star result?
A. The Star will order any unit and is the only way to order artillery.


I hadn't bothered getting the exact FAQ quote but given your doubts I looked it up.

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 22 June 2011 21:53]

      
Aerik
Junior Member
Major

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 5
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Mistake in Finest Hour Wed, 22 June 2011 22:03
Thanks, never looked at the FAQ, just remembered all the discussions in the hobby club Rolling Eyes .

Misunderstanding probably due to the fact that you can only hit a cannon with grenade.
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1778
Registriert:
December 2008
Re:Mistake in Finest Hour Wed, 22 June 2011 22:48
No problems - the only stupid question is the one you didn't ask.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2200
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Mistake in Finest Hour Sun, 30 September 2012 13:56
Phread wrote on Wed, 22 June 2011 16:48

No problems - the only stupid question is the one you didn't ask.


Ummmm, you may wish to talk that over with Al Jaffe.

While at work a while back I would look through my "How to Build a Shed" book on my breaks and lunch .

On no less than three occasions co-workers looked at the book I was holding and asked "Are you building a shed?". Rolling Eyes

I could only think of the "Snappy Answers to Stupid Questions" from Mad Magazine at those times Laughing
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2324
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:Mistake in Finest Hour Tue, 02 October 2012 02:37
Why would you want to talk to Al Jaffe?

Smile
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3107
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Mistake in Finest Hour Tue, 02 October 2012 05:12
sam1812 wrote on Mon, 01 October 2012 20:37

Why would you want to talk to Al Jaffe?

Smile


He's trying not to worry!

http://lib1point5.files.wordpress.com/2011/11/what-me-worry-715605.jpg?w=245&h=300
      
Dietrich von Kleist
Senior Member
Total Victory

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 743
Registriert:
June 2005
Re:Mistake in Finest Hour Thu, 11 October 2012 16:37
DOW is working on a new lay out.

http://i1083.photobucket.com/albums/j383/DiederC/theirfinesthour.jpg
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Ghost Chaser Achievement
Nächstes Thema:Cannot play cards
Gehen Sie zum Forum: