Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Paradrop scenarios in CB2
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1063
Registriert:
December 2007
Paradrop scenarios in CB2 Sun, 01 July 2012 09:29
I've been playing the Breakthrough Normandy Grand Campaign in CB2 and there are a few things I'm not sure about regarding the paradrop secenarios.

1. When using Night Attack rules the Allied player should roll their dice before their turn. Given the historical nature of these scenarios we don't roll for the Allied first turn, ensuring that the paratroopers drop in darkness.

2. It is clear that in the Drop in the Night scenarios all Allied units must be dropped on the board for the German's to be able to gain the 10 Victory Medals. Normally figures dropped off the board would be removed. For example the Allied player lost 3 units in the first drop (2 off the board and 1 in a German hex) and so, even with later reenforcements, they would have a maximum of 9 units in play.

3. The Paradrop rule states that units cannot move or battle on the turn in which they land. Should this be applied in these surprise attack scenarios? In effect it means that the German player goes first, rather than being taken by surprise.

Thoughts anyone?
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 610
Registriert:
May 2008
Re:Paradrop scenarios in CB2 Sun, 01 July 2012 11:41
Hi.
I played both paradrops as the germans and got smashed see AAR
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/battles/mybattles/
Enjoy!
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1063
Registriert:
December 2007
Re:Paradrop scenarios in CB2 Sun, 01 July 2012 11:47
JJAZ wrote on Sun, 01 July 2012 10:41

Hi.
I played both paradrops as the germans and got smashed see AAR
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/battles/mybattles/
Enjoy!


So you played as per pure Paradrop rules and without the scenario-specific interpretation?
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 786
Registriert:
September 2007
Re:Paradrop scenarios in CB2 Sun, 01 July 2012 12:40
Your question number 2 is addressed in the faq docuent for CB2.
If you don't drop enough units to reach 10 the requirement for the Germans go down.

Question 3: Aren't these initial drops made BEFORE the first turn, and therefore you can move and attack on the first turn. Reinforcement drops still follow the droprules.
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 610
Registriert:
May 2008
Re:Paradrop scenarios in CB2 Sun, 01 July 2012 13:31
Achtung Panzer wrote on Sun, 01 July 2012 11:47

JJAZ wrote on Sun, 01 July 2012 10:41

Hi.
I played both paradrops as the germans and got smashed see AAR
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/battles/mybattles/
Enjoy!


So you played as per pure Paradrop rules and without the scenario-specific interpretation?



Before his first turn the allies dropped the paratroopers yes.
And roll for the night chart.

Well to be honest we played with vassal, wich has a die, we roll for the directions of the para troopers.
I believe personally its the best way (and the only on vassal) to perform these paradrops.
Also many para's landed in terrain that gave them good cover.
Nevertheless its though to win as the Germans but then Tank commander is a great player.

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 01 July 2012 13:38]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Memoir '44 Online Betatester

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3013
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Paradrop scenarios in CB2 Sun, 01 July 2012 17:12
Achtung Panzer wrote on Sun, 01 July 2012 03:29

I've been playing the Breakthrough Normandy Grand Campaign in CB2 and there are a few things I'm not sure about regarding the paradrop secenarios.

1. When using Night Attack rules the Allied player should roll their dice before their turn. Given the historical nature of these scenarios we don't roll for the Allied first turn, ensuring that the paratroopers drop in darkness.

2. It is clear that in the Drop in the Night scenarios all Allied units must be dropped on the board for the German's to be able to gain the 10 Victory Medals. Normally figures dropped off the board would be removed. For example the Allied player lost 3 units in the first drop (2 off the board and 1 in a German hex) and so, even with later reenforcements, they would have a maximum of 9 units in play.

3. The Paradrop rule states that units cannot move or battle on the turn in which they land. Should this be applied in these surprise attack scenarios? In effect it means that the German player goes first, rather than being taken by surprise.

Thoughts anyone?


1. The standard rules for Night Attacks states:

 http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_action_19.jpg

These 4d are rolled before the Allies play a card. It is not possible to gain FULL DAYLIGHT by rolling 4d even if you get all stars.

IF YOU PERSONALLY CHOOSE TO DELAY ROLLING FOR DAYLIGHT UNTIL THE ALLIES SECOND TURN THIS IS YOUR PEROGATIVE (HOUSERULE) but, it is not the standard rule play.

2. This answer is clearly stated in the CB#2 Errata:


Quote:

p. 90, 92 and 104 - Drop in the Night: 82nd , Drop in the Night: 101st and The Coup de Main:

- If the number of Allied units is under 10, the Axis player wins the game after eliminating all of Allied units.

- In the case that the number of Allied units does not add up to 10 units and the Axis player wins this scenario, he will receive the maximum number of Victory Points - 10.


http://cdn.daysofwonder.com/uploads/userpages/713928/_5567.p df

3. What you are stating again is a (HOUSERULE); The surprise for the Germans is that the Allies actually show up at all. They were unexpected. If you choose to ALLOW the Allies to attack upon hitting the ground that is again your perogative, but it is not according to the rules as they are written.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2071
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Paradrop scenarios in CB2 Sun, 01 July 2012 21:09
As to the paradrop rules in this scenario I think it is significant that the drops occur BEFORE
the Allied first turn. Then the Allies are also listed as the FIRST PLAYER in this scenario.

If the paras were not allowed to be moved or attack in the Allied first turn (in essence - not be ordered), would not the drops occur on the Allied first turn (instead of before)? Or have the drops occur before the first German turn?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Memoir '44 Online Betatester

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3013
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Paradrop scenarios in CB2 Sun, 01 July 2012 22:22
After rereading the Rules:

Airdrop occurs in these three scenarios BEFORE the Allies first turn.

Quote:


ALLIED PLAYER:

You move first;
Before your first turn, airdrop 9 units then play as normal.



Therefore the limitation on battling is irrelevant. When the Allies actually begin their first turn, the already paradropped units will be in place and ready to be issued orders. Any Allied units that paradrop in later will have to refrain from battling on the turn that they enter the field.

Sorry I did not read this more carefully earlier.

Embarassed

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 01 July 2012 22:28]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2071
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Paradrop scenarios in CB2 Mon, 02 July 2012 01:25
stevens wrote on Sun, 01 July 2012 16:22

After rereading the Rules:

Airdrop occurs in these three scenarios BEFORE the Allies first turn.

Quote:


ALLIED PLAYER:

You move first;
Before your first turn, airdrop 9 units then play as normal.



Therefore the limitation on battling is irrelevant. When the Allies actually begin their first turn, the already paradropped units will be in place and ready to be issued orders. Any Allied units that paradrop in later will have to refrain from battling on the turn that they enter the field.

Sorry I did not read this more carefully earlier.

Embarassed



Heck, we all do that - lol.

As a matter of fact I did not read a passage from a pre-registration form correctly before sending an e-mail which managed to confuse a convention director. My bad there Embarassed
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1063
Registriert:
December 2007
Re:Paradrop scenarios in CB2 Mon, 02 July 2012 19:48
Thanks for all the comments and signposting.

I think the point about the paradrop being before the Allied first turn clears up the scenario intention for a surprise Allied attack i.e. the units are active and ready to move / battle. I also think we will now roll for daylight before the first turn to represent the time previously taken for the paras to re-group and close in on their objectives.

Thanks for the CB2 errata - I didn't think of looking there as my question wasn't about a typo error. Embarassed

We forgot about applying the "can't move or battle when dropped" rule for the reenforcements drop - the heat of battle I guess! Embarassed

Interesting that I was playing with a friend who likes Memoir but doesn't own it - so I'm expected to know all the rules (general and campaign / scenario specific) before hand. If this applies to you, how much have you missed?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Memoir '44 Online Betatester

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3013
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Paradrop scenarios in CB2 Mon, 02 July 2012 21:53
I reviewed all the scenarios etc. in the Campaign Book #2 when I receved it. However, unless I am actually playing a particular scenario, my knowledge as to the specific rules may be a bit vague.

Hence, my ignorance of the qustion about the troops arriving before their first turn. However, I helped compile the questions for the Errata guide so I am up to snuff on a lot. Just not always patient to do the review where I am unsure. Sorry for my mistep. Embarassed
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1063
Registriert:
December 2007
Re:Paradrop scenarios in CB2 Mon, 02 July 2012 22:34
stevens wrote on Mon, 02 July 2012 20:53

I reviewed all the scenarios etc. in the Campaign Book #2 when I receved it. However, unless I am actually playing a particular scenario, my knowledge as to the specific rules may be a bit vague.

Hence, my ignorance of the qustion about the troops arriving before their first turn. However, I helped compile the questions for the Errata guide so I am up to snuff on a lot. Just not always patient to do the review where I am unsure. Sorry for my mistep. Embarassed


No apology needed! Your clarification comments on rules are always welcome Wink
      
deemao
Senior Member
Captain

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 170
Registriert:
March 2011
Re:Paradrop scenarios in CB2 Wed, 04 July 2012 21:45
Quote:


Thanks for the CB2 errata - I didn't think of looking there as my question wasn't about a typo error. Embarassed


In errata document is everything that people were unsure (to date) + typo erros. Smile
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Combat Cards - French/English trade
Nächstes Thema:Will Summary Cards Ever Be Printed?
Gehen Sie zum Forum: