Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Questions for the Official FAQ
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 603
Registriert:
October 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 05 December 2012 18:54
I've been putting together a reference page for Overlord (including Marines, Air Rules, and Commissar).

*I think a sentence for how 2 BELs work (under Marines) needs adjustment.
Quote:

1. Play a Command card - Allied player uses the Behind Enemy Lines card
2. Order - Announce the two Marine Infantry units that are being ordered.
3. Move - Move the ordered units, one at a time.
4. Battle - Battle with the ordered units, one at a time.
Because the Behind Enemy Lines allows ordered units to move again, the two ordered units may move again, one at a time.
5. Draw a new Command card.


It sounds like one battles, then the other, then one moves, then the other. My understanding (and how the Online game plays) is that one unit starts its battle then Armor Overruns (if ordering tanks), Takes Ground, plays Combat Cards (e.g. Fortify, Heat of Battle, Reposition artillery, etc.). Once finished, then the next unit battles. So with Overlord if one FG plays BEL, then its battle and second movement should be finished before the next unit battles.

I would phrase #4: Battle with one ordered unit, then finish its 2nd movement before the next unit battles.

**It seems you can Counter-Attack a Recon-as-Air Sortie Equivalent (if Air Rules + Blitz/Air Strikes) to get an Air Sortie? A Counter in the standard game just gives a Recon.

***I know a FG cannot receive an Air Power (as Air Sortie) along with a Section card because it's a Tactic card. I don't see any rule regarding a Field General who receives a Recon and another Section card. So in this case, the FG cannot play the Recon as Air Sortie?

Thanks for your attention.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 06 December 2012 05:16]

      
GoboGobo
Member
Major

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 48
Registriert:
April 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 12 December 2012 10:59
I tried searching for this, but I can't seem to find it:

When exactly is an Air Check roll required?


The rules state that it must be done after an airplane is ordered.
They also state that an additional air check is required for planes taking off from carriers.

An airplane which is not ordered is removed from the board. But, is the air check still required?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7133
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 12 December 2012 11:08
GoboGobo wrote on Wed, 12 December 2012 13:59

I tried searching for this, but I can't seem to find it:

When exactly is an Air Check roll required?


The rules state that it must be done after an airplane is ordered.
They also state that an additional air check is required for planes taking off from carriers.

An airplane which is not ordered is removed from the board. But, is the air check still required?


If a player decides not to order their plane, the unit is simply removed from the board; no Air Check required.

If a player decides to order the plane, an Air Check roll is made adding all the elements in effect. The additional Air Check from the Carrier is (if I remember right) simply an extra die that you roll, to show the danger of taking off or landing on a Carrier.

I hope this helps! Smile
      
GoboGobo
Member
Major

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 48
Registriert:
April 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 12 December 2012 11:25
Could this be added to the FAQ? I checked the rules and they're not exactly clear on this.
      
Frostberg
Member
Major

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 37
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 21 December 2012 00:14
Scenario: Operation Crusader from Breakthrough Expansion
Oasis Recovery Rules are also in effect for the HQ.
Do the movement and battle restrictions of the HQ work like the normal HQ restrictions or like the Oasis restrictions? Does the capture-HQ-rules work like normal?

Thanks.

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3069
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 06 January 2013 00:48
stevens wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 18:46

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_nation_6.jpg

Another thing that would help to be clarified in the Italian Rules is:
Does the player with the Italian units CHOOSE which card to discard or does his opponent?
      
gheintze
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 955
Registriert:
August 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 06 January 2013 01:14
I don't know if this question has ever come up. If it has, I can't find it in the forums...

Can you move from on hex adjacent to a hedgerow to another adjacent hex, attack a unit in the hedgerow and still take ground?

The rules just say from an adjacent hex, not that the unit cannot have moved.

Geoff
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3069
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 06 January 2013 03:50
gheintze wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 19:14

I don't know if this question has ever come up. If it has, I can't find it in the forums...

Can you move from on hex adjacent to a hedgerow to another adjacent hex, attack a unit in the hedgerow and still take ground?

The rules just say from an adjacent hex, not that the unit cannot have moved.

Geoff



You cannot TG into a hedgerow if you have moved prior to battling a unit in a hedgerow. So the answer would be NO!

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 06 January 2013 03:54]

      
gheintze
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 955
Registriert:
August 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 06 January 2013 03:55
stevens wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 21:50

gheintze wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 19:14

I don't know if this question has ever come up. If it has, I can't find it in the forums...

Can you move from on hex adjacent to a hedgerow to another adjacent hex, attack a unit in the hedgerow and still take ground?

The rules just say from an adjacent hex, not that the unit cannot have moved.

Geoff



You cannot TG into a hedgerow if you have moved prior to battling a unit in a hedgerow. So the answer would be NO!


I agree that this is the correct ruling, but the rules are worded a little strangely. Do you know if this question has arisen before?

Geoff
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3069
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 06 January 2013 04:00
gheintze wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 21:55

stevens wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 21:50

gheintze wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 19:14

I don't know if this question has ever come up. If it has, I can't find it in the forums...

Can you move from on hex adjacent to a hedgerow to another adjacent hex, attack a unit in the hedgerow and still take ground?

The rules just say from an adjacent hex, not that the unit cannot have moved.

Geoff



You cannot TG into a hedgerow if you have moved prior to battling a unit in a hedgerow. So the answer would be NO!


I agree that this is the correct ruling, but the rules are worded a little strangely. Do you know if this question has arisen before?

Geoff



I can see how you might focus on the word ADJACENT in the text of the rules on p. 14

Quote:

MM44 Base Rules p.14:

Movement: To move onto a Hedgerow hex, a unit must be adjacent to the Hedgerow.


But what you really need to focus on is the accompanying diagrams. The diagrams clearly show that any movement has to occur on the preceding turn. And that you cannot both move and TG on the same turn. Focus on the pictures and not the words. Laughing
Turn #1: move and
stop next to the
Hedgerow hex
Turn #2: you may
now enter the
Hedgerow hex

P7 FAQ quotes directly from the Hedgerow card:
Quote:


To enter or take ground, unit must start its move from adjacent hex

The starting the move not finishing it's move is the important factor.

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 06 January 2013 21:44]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 786
Registriert:
September 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 06 January 2013 09:06
stevens wrote on Sun, 06 January 2013 00:48

stevens wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 18:46

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_nation_6.jpg

Another thing that would help to be clarified in the Italian Rules is:
Does the player with the Italian units CHOOSE which card to discard or does his opponent?


From the Equipment Pack rulebook:

When the Italian High Command rules are in effect its army starts the
battle with 6 Command cards in hand. Each time a unit is lost, one Italian
player’s Command card is selected at random by his opponent and
discarded.
However the number of Command cards held by the Italian
player cannot be reduced below three.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7133
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 06 January 2013 09:47
ad79 wrote on Sun, 06 January 2013 12:06

stevens wrote on Sun, 06 January 2013 00:48

stevens wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 18:46

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_nation_6.jpg

Another thing that would help to be clarified in the Italian Rules is:
Does the player with the Italian units CHOOSE which card to discard or does his opponent?


From the Equipment Pack rulebook:

When the Italian High Command rules are in effect its army starts the
battle with 6 Command cards in hand. Each time a unit is lost, one Italian
player’s Command card is selected at random by his opponent and
discarded.
However the number of Command cards held by the Italian
player cannot be reduced below three.


I love seeing the rules used to answer a question!!! Cool
      
deemao
Senior Member
Captain

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 170
Registriert:
March 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 06 January 2013 19:39
stevens wrote on Sun, 06 January 2013 04:00

gheintze wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 21:55

stevens wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 21:50

gheintze wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 19:14

I don't know if this question has ever come up. If it has, I can't find it in the forums...

Can you move from on hex adjacent to a hedgerow to another adjacent hex, attack a unit in the hedgerow and still take ground?

The rules just say from an adjacent hex, not that the unit cannot have moved.

Geoff



You cannot TG into a hedgerow if you have moved prior to battling a unit in a hedgerow. So the answer would be NO!


I agree that this is the correct ruling, but the rules are worded a little strangely. Do you know if this question has arisen before?

Geoff



I can see how you might focus on the word ADJACENT in the text of the rules on p. 14

Quote:

MM44 Base Rules p.14:

Movement: To move onto a Hedgerow hex, a unit must be adjacent to the Hedgerow.


But what you really need to focus on is the accompanying diagrams. The diagrams clearly show that any movement has to occur on the preceding turn. And that you cannot both move and TG on the same turn. Focus on the pictures and not the words. Laughing

P7 FAQ quotes directly from the Hedgerow card:
Quote:


To enter or take ground, unit must start its move from adjacent hex

The starting the move not finishing it's move is the important factor.


I remember similar was discussed not so long ago, cant remember the topic, but it was something with jungles, snipers etc. In the end answer to your question in no. I will try to find the topic later. The truth is that words are't choose well. I think its a long run problem in rulebooks - that's reason why M'44 has so big FAQ.

Here is the topic: http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=245461#msg_245461

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 06 January 2013 19:43]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3069
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 06 January 2013 21:40
ad79 wrote on Sun, 06 January 2013 03:06

stevens wrote on Sun, 06 January 2013 00:48

stevens wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 18:46

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_nation_6.jpg

Another thing that would help to be clarified in the Italian Rules is:
Does the player with the Italian units CHOOSE which card to discard or does his opponent?


From the Equipment Pack rulebook:

When the Italian High Command rules are in effect its army starts the
battle with 6 Command cards in hand. Each time a unit is lost, one Italian
player’s Command card is selected at random by his opponent and
discarded.
However the number of Command cards held by the Italian
player cannot be reduced below three.


Bravo sir!! I also love an answer from the rules. How silly of me not to look at the source text for the card. You are to be commended for doing so.

Embarassed Shocked Embarassed Smile
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2162
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 07 January 2013 00:29
gheintze wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 21:55

stevens wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 21:50

gheintze wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 19:14

I don't know if this question has ever come up. If it has, I can't find it in the forums...

Can you move from on hex adjacent to a hedgerow to another adjacent hex, attack a unit in the hedgerow and still take ground?

The rules just say from an adjacent hex, not that the unit cannot have moved.

Geoff



You cannot TG into a hedgerow if you have moved prior to battling a unit in a hedgerow. So the answer would be NO!


I agree that this is the correct ruling, but the rules are worded a little strangely. Do you know if this question has arisen before?

Geoff



As a matter of fact, yes. An official ruling came down that answered this very question. The move so described still prevented the unit from taking ground into a hedgerow (as any move before combat would do).
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7133
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 07 January 2013 14:22
Tank Commander, do you have the reference for this? I haven't had time to check, but is it already in the FAQ? Rolling Eyes
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2162
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 07 January 2013 14:53
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 07 January 2013 08:22

Tank Commander, do you have the reference for this? I haven't had time to check, but is it already in the FAQ? Rolling Eyes


I do not believe it made it to the FAQ. I shall check and see if I can find it though.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7133
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 07 January 2013 15:37
tank commander wrote on Mon, 07 January 2013 17:53

rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 07 January 2013 08:22

Tank Commander, do you have the reference for this? I haven't had time to check, but is it already in the FAQ? Rolling Eyes


I do not believe it made it to the FAQ. I shall check and see if I can find it though.


Thanks! I don't remember it specifically, and it would be good to add to this FAQ thread. Cool
      
Sayburr
Junior Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 6
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 10 January 2013 20:36
A question was raised on BGG: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/910873/reinforcements-ca rdwhere-do-the-spare-figures-come


For the Reinforcment cards from Winter Wars, where do the figures come from?

Are they only available from figures removed during battle?
Can they be take from unused figures from the box?
If a person owns a second copy of the game, can the figures come from there?
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2162
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 10 January 2013 23:27
Sayburr wrote on Thu, 10 January 2013 14:36

A question was raised on BGG: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/910873/reinforcements-ca rdwhere-do-the-spare-figures-come


For the Reinforcment cards from Winter Wars, where do the figures come from?

Are they only available from figures removed during battle?
Can they be take from unused figures from the box?
If a person owns a second copy of the game, can the figures come from there?


The precedent from what is meant by "spare figures" was set by CB 1.

Pg 4 "Deployment directly onto the battlefield" / 1st Para

"..you must have enough spare figures of the matching unit type available immediately after game set-up (owners of multiple copies of the game are free to use figures from their second game box, if need be).

So , yes, they can come from the box (or even a 2nd if you own two).

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 10 January 2013 23:28]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3069
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 10 January 2013 23:54
TC you are speaking about RESERVES, not Reinforcements. I know it is a fine distinction but not specifically the question the guys want to know about regarding the Winter Combat Card : REINFORCEMENTS.


[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 10 January 2013 23:59]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2162
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 11 January 2013 02:57
stevens wrote on Thu, 10 January 2013 17:54

TC you are speaking about RESERVES, not Reinforcements. I know it is a fine distinction but not specifically the question the guys want to know about regarding the Winter Combat Card : REINFORCEMENTS.






Right.

But the point I was trying to make is that that card refers to "spare figures".

As the Campaign book does define what is meant by "spare figures" (even though it is contained under the Reserves section) I think it should follow that the Reinforcments card should follow that definition too.

If not then we have two meanings of "spare figures".
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3069
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 11 January 2013 05:01
Yes, I think your interpretation of "spare figures" is probably correct. However, these guys want an official ruling. That is why on the BGG I told them that they would have to wait for one. But it is just a game after all and if you are in a tournament the Game Manager can make that call. Don't really feel like this is FAQ worthy.
Laughing Laughing Laughing
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3069
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 11 January 2013 21:07
tank commander wrote on Thu, 10 January 2013 20:57



But the point I was trying to make is that that card refers to "spare figures".

As the Campaign book does define what is meant by "spare figures" (even though it is contained under the Reserves section) I think it should follow that the Reinforcments card should follow that definition too.

If not then we have two meanings of "spare figures".



I found the answer in the COMBAT CARDS flyer sent out with the "Sword of Stalingrad:

http://cdn1.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_op3_rules_en .pdf

Quote:

When a Combat card refers to Spare Figures, these figures must come either from figures that were not initially deployed at the start of battle or from figures lost in fighting.


So no need to put this in the FAQ as it is clearly defined in the existing rules.
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1778
Registriert:
December 2008
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 11 January 2013 21:14
stevens wrote on Sat, 12 January 2013 09:07



So no need to put this in the FAQ as it is clearly defined in the existing rules.


As the discussion above demonstrates, may be a good idea to include a reference to this in the FAQ so that everyone - new and existing players - can easily find the answer.

I have downloaded all rule PDF files so could have searched to find the answer, but not all players have done his.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3069
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 11 January 2013 21:34
I apologize Phread, it really isn't my call about what goes into the FAQ. And you are probably right about it being an obscure rule and the need to help, so I will cast my vote with you on this one. Thanks for speaking up. Smile
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 895
Registriert:
November 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 12 January 2013 13:34
Phread,

I think you are right. Since not everybody may own a copy of that battlemap, that rule should be included somewhere else.

Cheers,
Jaime
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7133
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 12 January 2013 14:17
Good news, everyone. Smile

This issue is already included in the FAQ Supplement and will be folded into the large FAQ update that I'm working on. You can find it on page 11 of the FAQ Supplement on the Combat Cards page. Cool
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2162
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 12 January 2013 14:36
rasmussen81 wrote on Sat, 12 January 2013 08:17

Good news, everyone. Smile

This issue is already included in the FAQ Supplement and will be folded into the large FAQ update that I'm working on. You can find it on page 11 of the FAQ Supplement on the Combat Cards page. Cool



I see that the "Return to Duty" is the only one which is limited to figures lost during the battle.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7133
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 12 January 2013 16:48
tank commander wrote on Sat, 12 January 2013 17:36

rasmussen81 wrote on Sat, 12 January 2013 08:17

Good news, everyone. Smile

This issue is already included in the FAQ Supplement and will be folded into the large FAQ update that I'm working on. You can find it on page 11 of the FAQ Supplement on the Combat Cards page. Cool



I see that the "Return to Duty" is the only one which is limited to figures lost during the battle.


It looks that way. Cool
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1407
Registriert:
October 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 12 January 2013 21:28
Almilcar wrote on Sat, 12 January 2013 06:34

Phread,

I think you are right. Since not everybody may own a copy of that battlemap, that rule should be included somewhere else.

Cheers,
Jaime



The rules sheet for Combat cards from the Sword of Stalingrad battlemap is available for download in the Rules and Goodies section of the Days of Wonder Memoir 44 site!

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/rules/

This way, everyone can have a copy of the rules!

      
Eaqlesight88
Junior Member
Cadet

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
October 2012
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 21 January 2013 08:57
I have a question about temporary medal objectives while playing in a campaign. The campaign special rules for this scenario state that if the Allied army holds this temporary objective at the end of the scenario then he forces the Axis army to lose his Artillery in the next battle.

I am the Allies with a unit sitting on this Allied temporary medal objective. My Axis opponent is one medal away from victory and it is his turn. If he kills my unit to achieve victory, does game play stop instantly and I still have the temporary objective? Or do I lose that objective and then the game ends (therefore losing the special campaign rule as well)?
      
GoboGobo
Member
Major

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 48
Registriert:
April 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 21 January 2013 09:42
Eaqlesight88 wrote on Mon, 21 January 2013 08:57

I have a question about temporary medal objectives while playing in a campaign. The campaign special rules for this scenario state that if the Allied army holds this temporary objective at the end of the scenario then he forces the Axis army to lose his Artillery in the next battle.

I am the Allies with a unit sitting on this Allied temporary medal objective. My Axis opponent is one medal away from victory and it is his turn. If he kills my unit to achieve victory, does game play stop instantly and I still have the temporary objective? Or do I lose that objective and then the game ends (therefore losing the special campaign rule as well)?


The requirement for a temporary medal objective is that you have to occupy the hex or area. If that requirement is no longer met, you lose the medal, no matter when that happens.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3069
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 20 February 2013 22:07
Q: Which units are considered Vehicles in Memoir '44?
A: Vehicles are Armor units (including Hobart's Funnies, Tigers, and Tank Destroyers), Patrol Cars, Command Cars, Half-Tracks, and Supply Trucks. The following are not considered Vehicles: Artillery (including Mobile Artillery), Trains, Landing Craft, Aircraft Carriers, Destroyers, Airplanes, and Cavalry.

So COMMAND CARS are vehicles and as such will not be able to enter a Hedgehog.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 21 February 2013 00:41]

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 603
Registriert:
October 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 21 February 2013 06:00
We just finished playing "Crossing the Volturno" as part of a campaign. The Germans got to play any card as a Barrage (once light is 6). What happens if the Allies Counter-Attack that play?

We didn't see any answer for that, so we determined that the closest thing was like a Recon as Air Strike. If your side can Air Strike then you can Counter it and use it as either Recon or Air Strike. If you can't, then Countering just gives you a Recon card.

So today Germans played Artillery Bombard as Barrage, and Allies Countered, allowing them to move artillery 3 or attack twice only, since they didn't have the special ability to turn it into a Barrage.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7133
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 21 February 2013 11:50
JFKoski wrote on Thu, 21 February 2013 09:00

We just finished playing "Crossing the Volturno" as part of a campaign. The Germans got to play any card as a Barrage (once light is 6). What happens if the Allies Counter-Attack that play?

We didn't see any answer for that, so we determined that the closest thing was like a Recon as Air Strike. If your side can Air Strike then you can Counter it and use it as either Recon or Air Strike. If you can't, then Countering just gives you a Recon card.

So today Germans played Artillery Bombard as Barrage, and Allies Countered, allowing them to move artillery 3 or attack twice only, since they didn't have the special ability to turn it into a Barrage.


Yep, you played it correctly. Cool
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2162
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 04 March 2013 16:38
gheintze wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 21:55

stevens wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 21:50

gheintze wrote on Sat, 05 January 2013 19:14

I don't know if this question has ever come up. If it has, I can't find it in the forums...

Can you move from on hex adjacent to a hedgerow to another adjacent hex, attack a unit in the hedgerow and still take ground?

The rules just say from an adjacent hex, not that the unit cannot have moved.

Geoff



You cannot TG into a hedgerow if you have moved prior to battling a unit in a hedgerow. So the answer would be NO!


I agree that this is the correct ruling, but the rules are worded a little strangely. Do you know if this question has arisen before?

Geoff


I knew this came up in a thread not too long ago but could not find it.

However, after looking through the FAQ, I located this.

On Pg 4 of the FAQ under "Take Ground" - the Note at the end of the fourth Q & A entry:

"Note: Hedgerows can only be entered with Take
Ground or Armor Overrun if the unit started the turn adjacent to the Hedgerow hex."
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1407
Registriert:
October 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 25 March 2013 13:47
I could not find this anywhere, can you use a reposition combat card to move artillery farther on a "on the move" order in breakthrough? It didn't fire, but my friend used it to move his artillery closer.

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3069
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 25 March 2013 13:57
50th wrote on Mon, 25 March 2013 08:47

I could not find this anywhere, can you use a reposition combat card to move artillery farther on a "on the move" order in breakthrough? It didn't fire, but my friend used it to move his artillery closer.




http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compen dium/?id=winter-11

My general feeling about this is: No, the card has a proviso for movement. It specifically states "After battling" and units ordered on the move may not battle and so would not have fulfilled the requirement of the card for repositioning.

Granted you opponent will state that the "after battling" only refers to generally battling and not to Artillery battling, but it is Artillery which is the subject of the card. So good try and you are a good sport to let him have that advantage.

He may also argue that it was an ORDERED UNIT and this is we're it gets a little more tricky. He will then say, yes it was ordered to go on the move.
Laughing
However, it is usually understood that ordered units may move and battle and "on the move" units may only move.
However, I could be wrong.
I think you are right to ask this question in the FAQ forum and I know Jesse will consider it in the future.

[Aktualisiert am: Mon, 25 March 2013 14:24]

      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1407
Registriert:
October 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 25 March 2013 14:01
Thanks, didn't see that one in the game. Oops, well, my friend lost the battle anyway. Thanks for the quick reply.
      
Seiten (9): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  >  » ]     
Vorheriges Thema:Let's Play OVERLORD -- Saturday, May 4, on Vassal!
Nächstes Thema:Countryside "City Ruins" Tile
Gehen Sie zum Forum: