Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Deploying fixed obstacles
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 891
Registriert:
November 2011
Deploying fixed obstacles Wed, 09 January 2013 08:44
Hello,

my team-group is running several "The Fall of Poland" campaigns at the same time.

One of the players got in the "What if" the "Fortifications" event for the Polish. This event allows the allied player to deploy an extra 3 wire and 1 bunker for 2 scenarios.

He asked whether he can deploy a fixed obstacle in an hex where already there is an enemy unit.

My answer was that he can only deploy obstacles in unoccupied hexes or in own units hexes.

Am I right?

Thanks

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 09 January 2013 19:01]

      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1069
Registriert:
December 2007
Re:Deploying fixed obstacles Wed, 09 January 2013 09:43
My view would be for non enemy occupied hexes only as you say.
      
deemao
Senior Member
Captain

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 170
Registriert:
March 2011
Re:Deploying fixed obstacles Wed, 09 January 2013 12:07
I checked CB vol. 1 errata document..citation:
Quote:

You are allowed to place an obstacle on the hex with enemy unit if this unit is adjacent to your unit and you get this
choice in Special Reserve Roll. However, you can't place a roadblock or a hedgehog on the hex with tanks.


I know this is for Special Reserve Roll. Dont have CB here with me, so I can't see exact words in the "What if" part. But here you can place wires on hexes with enemy units if they are adjancent to your unit. Nothing indicates or contra-indicates if you can do it in this campaign and place it to non-adjancent hexes.. So until (if) it will be cleared by someone higher I will stick with this citation.

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 09 January 2013 12:09]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 891
Registriert:
November 2011
Re:Deploying fixed obstacles Wed, 09 January 2013 12:50
Hello deemao,

the thing is that the What If Event states:

CB 2 Fall of Poland - What If Event @ Page 70


Fortifications: The Polish player may deploy an extra 3 wire and 1 bunker for both the Hel and Kepa scenarios. These defensive elements can be placed anywhere on the board but not in contiguous adjacent hexes.



That is the reason why we are asking if they can be deployed or not in hexes where already there are enemy units.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2258
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:Deploying fixed obstacles Wed, 09 January 2013 12:59
If it says "anywhere on the board," it means "anywhere on the board." I'd interpret that to include hexes that enemy units are on.
      
deemao
Senior Member
Captain

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 170
Registriert:
March 2011
Re:Deploying fixed obstacles Wed, 09 January 2013 13:20
I'm with Sam and think it's pretty clear. So yeah, you can put it anywhere even at hexes with Wehrmacht. Smile
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 891
Registriert:
November 2011
Re:Deploying fixed obstacles Wed, 09 January 2013 13:42
sam1812 wrote on Wed, 09 January 2013 12:59

If it says "anywhere on the board," it means "anywhere on the board." I'd interpret that to include hexes that enemy units are on.


Even if he wants to deploy a bunker in an artillery hex? Confused
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7099
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Deploying fixed obstacles Wed, 09 January 2013 15:08
Almilcar wrote on Wed, 09 January 2013 16:42

sam1812 wrote on Wed, 09 January 2013 12:59

If it says "anywhere on the board," it means "anywhere on the board." I'd interpret that to include hexes that enemy units are on.


Even if he wants to deploy a bunker in an artillery hex? Confused


Ah, now the real question comes out!! Laughing
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 891
Registriert:
November 2011
Re:Deploying fixed obstacles Wed, 09 January 2013 15:14
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 09 January 2013 15:08

Almilcar wrote on Wed, 09 January 2013 16:42

sam1812 wrote on Wed, 09 January 2013 12:59

If it says "anywhere on the board," it means "anywhere on the board." I'd interpret that to include hexes that enemy units are on.


Even if he wants to deploy a bunker in an artillery hex? Confused


Ah, now the real question comes out!! Laughing


And the answer is.... Rolling Eyes
      
deemao
Senior Member
Captain

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 170
Registriert:
March 2011
Re:Deploying fixed obstacles Wed, 09 January 2013 15:57
Well..only Richard can give you a final answer, but even it's not much logical, I say - yes, he can place a bunker on artillery. Why? Because it's in rules.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2111
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Deploying fixed obstacles Mon, 28 January 2013 11:22
Almilcar wrote on Wed, 09 January 2013 07:42

sam1812 wrote on Wed, 09 January 2013 12:59

If it says "anywhere on the board," it means "anywhere on the board." I'd interpret that to include hexes that enemy units are on.


Even if he wants to deploy a bunker in an artillery hex? Confused


So what you are saying is that he wants to place a "Polish" bunker on a German artillery unit? I am guessing that he wishes to do this so that that arty now has to remain in place?

That raises a few questions. As it is indeed a Polish bunker, does this mean that the German arty does not recieve any defensive benefits from that bunker (as that is usually the case with bunkers). Or does the bunker automatically become a German one after being placed there. Nice thinking outside the box, but a bit too illogical for me.

I can go along with the wire being placed in enemy hexes but the bunker is Polish and meant to directly benefit the Polish side (to provide cover for a Polish unit) and I would say that it should be placed in an empty hex or one with a Polish unit.

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 891
Registriert:
November 2011
Re:Deploying fixed obstacles Mon, 28 January 2013 13:17
tank commander wrote on Mon, 28 January 2013 11:22

Almilcar wrote on Wed, 09 January 2013 07:42

sam1812 wrote on Wed, 09 January 2013 12:59

If it says "anywhere on the board," it means "anywhere on the board." I'd interpret that to include hexes that enemy units are on.


Even if he wants to deploy a bunker in an artillery hex? Confused


So what you are saying is that he wants to place a "Polish" bunker on a German artillery unit? I am guessing that he wishes to do this so that that arty now has to remain in place?

That raises a few questions. As it is indeed a Polish bunker, does this mean that the German arty does not recieve any defensive benefits from that bunker (as that is usually the case with bunkers). Or does the bunker automatically become a German one after being placed there. Nice thinking outside the box, but a bit too illogical for me.

I can go along with the wire being placed in enemy hexes but the bunker is Polish and meant to directly benefit the Polish side (to provide cover for a Polish unit) and I would say that it should be placed in an empty hex or one with a Polish unit.




Yes, those were some of the questions that came up to my mind when I read some of the answers from some of the fellow members.

[Aktualisiert am: Mon, 28 January 2013 13:18]

      
    
Vorheriges Thema:what m44 surprise for 2013?
Nächstes Thema:House Air Rules (latest version)
Gehen Sie zum Forum: