Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Combat Card Rules Confusion
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
marcosten
Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 64
Registriert:
April 2009
Combat Card Rules Confusion Fri, 11 January 2013 17:42
Pardon my confusion. The rules says to use the card in 'combination' with ...

Does this mean you play the extra winter combat card after the first one and therefore can activate the same unit
2 times?
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 895
Registriert:
November 2011
Re:Combat Card Rules Confusion Fri, 11 January 2013 18:17
marcosten wrote on Fri, 11 January 2013 17:42

Pardon my confusion. The rules says to use the card in 'combination' with ...

Does this mean you play the extra winter combat card after the first one and therefore can activate the same unit
2 times?


Hello Marco,

When it says "in combination" means along with the Command Cards.

As a rule of thumb, the only cards used to ORDER units are the Command Cards. Usually the Combat Cards add a bonus to those units ordered by a Command Card. Also, some of the Combat Cards may give you a bonus while defending.

But, to sum up:

Command Cards --> Order units
Combat Cards --> Additional features/bonus, either offensive or defensive.

Most of the Combat Cards give additional actions to the ordered units.

Hope this helps,

Regards




[Aktualisiert am: Fri, 11 January 2013 18:18]

      
marcosten
Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 64
Registriert:
April 2009
Re:Combat Card Rules Confusion Fri, 11 January 2013 18:20
helps a lot...tx...now everything makes sense

1 q - you never get a new combat card UNLESS you play it with a recon 1 card..right
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3070
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Combat Card Rules Confusion Fri, 11 January 2013 18:33
marcosten wrote on Fri, 11 January 2013 12:20

helps a lot...tx...now everything makes sense

1 q - you never get a new combat card UNLESS you play it with a recon 1 card..right


Actually, you may draw another Combat Card after the turn in which you play a RECON -1 card. You don't have to play a Combat Card to draw one.
      
marcosten
Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 64
Registriert:
April 2009
Re:Combat Card Rules Confusion Fri, 11 January 2013 18:50
wow WOW so you can accumulate them as you go on to play when you want. can you play more than one on a single turn

btw - i'm sorry to bother you so much with these q's
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1078
Registriert:
December 2007
Re:Combat Card Rules Confusion Fri, 11 January 2013 19:27
marcosten wrote on Fri, 11 January 2013 17:50

Can you play more than one on a single turn


Yes, subject to any restriction text on the card. Urban and Winter combat cards are more flexible to play than Command Cards.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3070
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Combat Card Rules Confusion Fri, 11 January 2013 20:58
http://cdn1.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_op3_rules_en .pdf



Quote:

Combat Rules
Combat cards may be played during any turn, in addition to the play of a Command card, but must respect the following rules:
x Combat cards are usually played in con- junction with unit(s) ordered with a Command card, to enhance these units' actions. When that is not the case, a sentence at the bottom of the card spells out when the card is played.
< Play this card before ordering any units.
Play this card in reaction to your
opponent's action. >
x Combat cards that increase the number of Battle dice rolled are cumulative in effect, when played on the same ordered unit(s).
x There is no limit to the number of Combat cards a player may hold or the number of Combat cards he may play during his, or an opponent's, turn.
x A player may only draw a new Combat card from the deck at the end of a turn in which he has played a Recon Command card - but not a Recon in Force or any other Command card!
x Once played, Combat cards are discarded next to the Combat card deck.
x If the Combat deck ever gets depleted, shuffle the Combat cards discarded to form a new draw pile.
x When a Their Finest Hour Command card is played, reshuffle the Combat card discards and draw pile together to form a new draw pile.
When a Combat card refers to Buildings, this is meant to include all towns, villages and any other man-made landmarks or urban constructs (train station, city ruins, etc).
When a Combat card refers to Spare Figures, these figures must come either from figures that were not initially deployed at the start of battle or from figures lost in fighting.
If a card refers to a Full Strength unit, then this card may not be played that way unless there are enough spare figures available to deploy the unit at full strength (ie with the same number of fig- ures the unit would have had if deployed at the start of battle).
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7134
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Combat Card Rules Confusion Sat, 12 January 2013 05:36
marcosten wrote on Fri, 11 January 2013 21:50


btw - i'm sorry to bother you so much with these q's


Don't worry about asking questions!!! That's one of the wonderful things about this community...we're always happy to answer questions and usually very polite about it!

One note: You can also get more Combat Cards if you use the Recon feature of an Airplane when Air Rules are in effect. And yes, you can play as many Combat cards as you want in a turn. Cool

Have fun, and keep the questions coming!!! Very Happy
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 603
Registriert:
October 2005
Re:Combat Card Rules Confusion Sat, 12 January 2013 06:27
rasmussen81 wrote on Fri, 11 January 2013 23:36

One note: You can also get more Combat Cards if you use the Recon feature of an Airplane when Air Rules are in effect.


I thought there was a thread a year or so ago, where the answer was that the Storch could NOT give you a combat card by Recon.

I'd prefer it if you could, but haven't played it since, partly for that reason.

[Aktualisiert am: Sat, 12 January 2013 06:39]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7134
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Combat Card Rules Confusion Sat, 12 January 2013 09:41
JFKoski wrote on Sat, 12 January 2013 09:27

rasmussen81 wrote on Fri, 11 January 2013 23:36

One note: You can also get more Combat Cards if you use the Recon feature of an Airplane when Air Rules are in effect.


I thought there was a thread a year or so ago, where the answer was that the Storch could NOT give you a combat card by Recon.

I'd prefer it if you could, but haven't played it since, partly for that reason.


You'll notice that in that thread there was no official answer provided. Because of that, I checked with Richard on this question (and I tried to get all of the questions in that thread figured out if it needed clarification) and his answer can be found in the Official FAQ thread.

Here's what Richard's answer was:

Q. If a plane does the Recon action, does the player get to draw a Combat Card?
A. Yes.


I hope this helps clear things up. Cool
      
marcosten
Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 64
Registriert:
April 2009
Re:Combat Card Rules Confusion Sat, 12 January 2013 16:34
The out of ammo card seems way out of balance...could really change an entire scenario with one card while the other cards are less powerful. Thoughts? Also - could the out of ammo card be played on artillery?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3070
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Combat Card Rules Confusion Sat, 12 January 2013 18:51
You don't have to use the cards if you don't want to. And yes, the OUT OF AMMO maybe used against artillery.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compen dium/?id=winter-8
      
marcosten
Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 64
Registriert:
April 2009
Re:Combat Card Rules Confusion Sat, 12 January 2013 19:40
tx - of course I don' have to play them, was just wondering what the rationale was for a single card that is so remarkably powerful than the others in the combat deck
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3070
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Combat Card Rules Confusion Sat, 12 January 2013 20:27
I believe that the concept of "FUN" would be at the root of it.
      
marcosten
Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 64
Registriert:
April 2009
Re:Combat Card Rules Confusion Sat, 12 January 2013 20:39
Laughing good one....
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 603
Registriert:
October 2005
Re:Combat Card Rules Confusion Sat, 12 January 2013 21:58
marcosten wrote on Sat, 12 January 2013 10:34

The out of ammo card seems way out of balance...could really change an entire scenario with one card while the other cards are less powerful. Thoughts?


You're unit's still alive after Out of Ammo; maybe not with Ambuscade. Count blessings.

I've never killed a unit with Out of Ammo, but I have set it up for a baseline attack with Barrage/Air Power.

Frustrating to have your unit sent back, but you need to take that possibility into account when advancing or playing Baraque de Fraiture.

[Aktualisiert am: Sat, 12 January 2013 21:59]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7134
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Combat Card Rules Confusion Sun, 13 January 2013 04:11
I believe that the hope with all of the Combat Cards is that they will add to the excitement, anticipation, and suspense of the battles they are included in. Knowing that there are cards that can affect the game in these new ways (or save your bacon at a key moment), adds to my enjoyment of the game! I imagine that was the hope.

Of course, if it doesn't add to the enjoyment you can always modify things so that it's more fun for you! Smile
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2164
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Combat Card Rules Confusion Mon, 14 January 2013 02:04
marcosten wrote on Sat, 12 January 2013 10:34

The out of ammo card seems way out of balance...could really change an entire scenario with one card while the other cards are less powerful. Thoughts? Also - could the out of ammo card be played on artillery?



This card prevents the unit that declared an attack from firing and also forces that unit back to that side's baseline. I agree having a forward arty pushed all the way back several hexes can certainly be a pain and may in effect take that unit right out of the action. While this certainly may put a crimp in one's plans, it may not be the most powerful play of a CC.

I used Out of Fuel against a tank which was ordered by Armor Assault. That unit was stuck where it was (on a bridge) which blocked the movement the 3 other ordered tank units on the other side of the bridge Very Happy
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Organized Play Kit - Some information
Nächstes Thema:Unclassified Official Scenarios - Order of Appearance (List)
Gehen Sie zum Forum: