Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Ambush card question
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
player1264832
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
February 2013
Ambush card question Wed, 13 February 2013 02:37
New player here. Was just playing with my wife and ran into a few questions on Sainte Mere-Eglise:

- I was the Allies, so I had the hill with the sandbags in the left section of the board. As I understand it, since both the sandbags and the hill cause attacking infantry to roll -1 dice, my wife should have been rolling -2 dice for any attack on the hill, correct?

- My wife had two two infantry units in close assault to the hill, so I played an Ambush card. This brought up a couple questions:
1. Do I get to roll against each attacking unit, or only one of the two?
2. Would I get to roll 3 dice, or would I have to roll the same amount as my wife, since she could only roll with 1 (due to the -2 from the hill/sandbags)?

- Toward the end of the game, my wife was not able to play any of her cards. I didn't see anything about that in the rules - is there a way to take a turn to draw new cards?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7080
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Ambush card question Wed, 13 February 2013 04:20
Welcome to the game!! We're glad you found your way here to the forums. Smile

player1264832 wrote on Wed, 13 February 2013 05:37

New player here. Was just playing with my wife and ran into a few questions on Sainte Mere-Eglise:

- I was the Allies, so I had the hill with the sandbags in the left section of the board. As I understand it, since both the sandbags and the hill cause attacking infantry to roll -1 dice, my wife should have been rolling -2 dice for any attack on the hill, correct?


Dice protections (like -1 for hill, -1 for sandbag) don't stack. You just take the higher protection and use that. So Sandbags on the Hill are actually only adding the ability to ignore the first Flag rolled against the soldiers.

Quote:

- My wife had two two infantry units in close assault to the hill, so I played an Ambush card. This brought up a couple questions:
1. Do I get to roll against each attacking unit, or only one of the two?


You can only Ambush one attack. Basically you wait until the unit that you want to Ambush is about to attack and play your card. You'll roll against her unit and then if you didn't destroy them or force them to retreat, that unit can attack you.

Quote:

2. Would I get to roll 3 dice, or would I have to roll the same amount as my wife, since she could only roll with 1 (due to the -2 from the hill/sandbags)?


You get to roll the full number of dice (so three in this case) She gets to roll 2 dice because it would be 3 (since you are next to each other) subtract 1 because of the hill/sandbag. And you could ignore the first Flag she rolled.

Quote:

- Toward the end of the game, my wife was not able to play any of her cards. I didn't see anything about that in the rules - is there a way to take a turn to draw new cards?


She would have to play one of her useless cards, not order anything, and draw a replacement card. If she could, playing Recon 1 at that time is a good idea because she gets to pick two cards and keep the more useful one.

I know of some people who play with a house rule where they allow a player with useless cards to exchange a certain number of cards for new ones. If that seems more fun, you and your wife could do that same. The goal is to have fun, so whatever that means for you is fine!

I hope that helps. Let us know if you have any other questions and we'll all do our best to help you out! Welcome to this great game and to the forums!! Cool
      
player1264832
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
February 2013
Re:Ambush card question Wed, 13 February 2013 14:34
Perfect, thanks!
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7080
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Ambush card question Wed, 13 February 2013 15:07
player1264832 wrote on Wed, 13 February 2013 17:34

Perfect, thanks!


My pleasure! I hope you continue to enjoy the game and maybe we'll see you back here again in the future.

Some of your future questions might be answered in the Official FAQ, if you want to look through that. You can find it here: http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/faq/

My advice would be to not try reading through the whole thing (50+ pages) but instead look up what you need when a question comes up. Have fun and take care!
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:House rules for the 88mm?
Nächstes Thema:Memoir'44 chits - Track the ordered units!
Gehen Sie zum Forum: