Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Questions for the Official FAQ
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3047
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 04 April 2013 03:41
JFKoski wrote on Wed, 03 April 2013 15:21

3rd Question came up with regard to Air Rules with Urban Combat Cards:
SHOULD AIR BOMBARDMENT COUNT AS AN AIR SORTIE EQUIVALENT? Or just played as written?

Thanks.


http://cdn1.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_op3_rules_en .pdf

This details the use of COMBAT CARDS. They are not Air Sortie Equivalents, just play as written.
Quote:

Combat cards are usually played in con- junction with unit(s) ordered with a Com- mand card, to enhance these units' actions. When that is not the case, a sentence at the bottom of the card spells out when the card is played.

The AIR BOMBARDMENT card has very specific directions at the bottom of the card.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 04 April 2013 03:46]

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 603
Registriert:
October 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 04 April 2013 04:47
stevens wrote on Wed, 03 April 2013 21:29

JFKoski wrote on Wed, 03 April 2013 15:21

Paradrop...in the normal FAQ, CAN WE GET A BRIEF SUMMARY THAT COVERS ALL SITUATIONS...?


I believe that all of these questions are answered adequately in the FAQ and are specific to each scenario. As far as those questions related to the Campaign Book scenarios they have been answered in the past in former posts and in the CAMPAIGN BOOK SUPPLEMENTALS found in the Campaign Books sections online.

I disagree. I still didn't play Manado Landings correctly after reading the paradrop rules in 3 places. Also, the last time I played Massacre at Vassieux-en-Vercors I dropped 4 figures. Since then I read your post where you suggested the bonus is just to drop 1 figure. I would like to know if it's 1 or 4 before I play it again this month. Presumably it can't battle the turn it lands (unlike those other scenarios). So I think the rules for Paradrop are only clear for the scenario in the Basic game, Sainte-Mère-Eglise.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 04 April 2013 04:52]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3047
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 04 April 2013 15:44
JFKoski wrote on Wed, 03 April 2013 22:47

stevens wrote on Wed, 03 April 2013 21:29

JFKoski wrote on Wed, 03 April 2013 15:21

Paradrop...in the normal FAQ, CAN WE GET A BRIEF SUMMARY THAT COVERS ALL SITUATIONS...?


I believe that all of these questions are answered adequately in the FAQ and are specific to each scenario. As far as those questions related to the Campaign Book scenarios they have been answered in the past in former posts and in the CAMPAIGN BOOK SUPPLEMENTALS found in the Campaign Books sections online.

I disagree. I still didn't play Manado Landings correctly after reading the paradrop rules in 3 places. Also, the last time I played Massacre at Vassieux-en-Vercors I dropped 4 figures. Since then I read your post where you suggested the bonus is just to drop 1 figure. I would like to know if it's 1 or 4 before I play it again this month. Presumably it can't battle the turn it lands (unlike those other scenarios). So I think the rules for Paradrop are only clear for the scenario in the Basic game, Sainte-Mère-Eglise


I think you do a bit of a disservice to ALL those who have taken the time to discuss, formulate and publish the Rules and FAQs to make such a blanket statement. I believe if you take the time to read the material diligently you will find the answers to your PARADROP questions and quite readily too.

In response to MY POST regarding the Vercors Campaign, I will reference a quote from JDRommel who designed these scenarios.

I sent him this question via PM:
If you have time to respond, I have a question arising on the English Forum related to the Vercors Campaign.
If the Germans win the battle of Saint-Nizier, they are allowed ONE Paradrop in the next battle (Massacre at Vassieux-en-Vercors). Does this mean they are allowed to attempt to drop in ONE singular Infantry Unit or that they are allowed to drop in multiple infantry units ,but all at ONE time?l
Quote:

Ok, I have a look on this campaign and the answer is one singular unit to be dropped on the game (my sentence as 1 Axis unit dropped had been changed by DoW in one paradrop, which is less clear). Sorry for that, I haven't seen this (little) change.

So ONE unit only.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 04 April 2013 15:55]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7102
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 05 April 2013 04:16
JFKoski wrote on Wed, 03 April 2013 23:21

Hope I'm not too late, 3 issues came up for games lately.

A dispute came up with regard to the score for games that have what I call Required Medals (or condition).
Q1: IN SCENARIOS WITH A REQUIREMENT, DO YOU STILL COUNT AN EXTRA KILL AS A POINT?

Examples follow:

1. The Surrender of Elster's Column has the rule that the Germans must exit 3 units to win. My understanding is that kills don't generate medals for the Germans. So his score should be 0,1,2, or 8 (which is what the Allies' victory condition is). Right?

2. In the Audie Murphy scenario, Quarry at Cleury, the Allies must score 5 victory points (V.P.s) to win, including the medal site. My understanding is that once the Allies kill 4 units (not counting snipers) further kills don't give points. However, in the tournament I played, where medal count of the match counted as tie-breaker on split games, he counted kills made above 4.

3. In the Vercors campaign, the Germans win Battle of Valchevrière with 7 V.P.s including the medal site and win Battle for the Passes with 6 V.P.s including the medal site. My understanding is that after the 6th or 5th kill, respectively, they no longer score points for further kills. Since it's a campaign, some people may be counting these for their total campaign score.

4. Breakthrough at Mortain: Axis must score 5/7 objective medals, with no medals for kills. Since the Allies need 12, should the Axis score be 0-4 for loss, and 12 for victory?


Like Tank Commander said, these should be covered in the FAQ. Basically, kills will count for points as long as the conditions allow. So if you still need medals and the victory conditions say you can get them through kills, each eliminated unit will count. But you can never get more medals than required, so even if you destroyed 10 units and captured 3 medals, your score will only be the required number of medals. The only benefit to killing more units before ending the game with a medal objective would be to increase the number of figures you eliminated in the battle.

I hope that makes it clear.

Quote:

My 2nd question refers to Paradrops, but maybe should be in Campaign Books or CB FAQ. In the normal FAQ, CAN WE GET A BRIEF SUMMARY THAT COVERS ALL SITUATIONS? (Something like this?)

1. Before start (after seeing cards) make X drops of handful of Y figures, which becomes a full unit on successful landing. (Sainte-Mère-Eglise X=1, Y=4; Operation Amherst X=3, Y=3). Units can battle on turn.
2. At start of turn 2, make a drop (Massacre at Vassieux-en-Vercors campaign bonus X=1, Y=1?). Unit can battle on turn 2?
(I'm likely playing this one again next week.)
3. Make initial drops over a star. (Drop in the Night: 82nd and Drop in the Night 101st, X=3, Y=3)
4. After daylight, use an order to drop figures above a star (Manado Landing X=orders, Y=1). On successful landing, star is removed. Unit can't battle this turn.
5. After daylight, use an order to drop figures above a target (Drop in the Night: 82nd and Drop in the Night 101st X=1, Y=up to 3 orders). Units can't battle this turn. One time drop?


I'm afraid I'm lost in this section. All of the letters and numbers are jumbled in my mind and I can't tell what's going on with these examples. Embarassed Sorry. What's the question?

Quote:

3rd Question came up with regard to Air Rules with Urban Combat Cards:
SHOULD AIR BOMBARDMENT COUNT AS AN AIR SORTIE EQUIVALENT? Or just played as written?

Thanks.


stevens did a good job explaining this one.
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 603
Registriert:
October 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 06 April 2013 02:20
rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 04 April 2013 22:16

JFKoski wrote on Wed, 03 April 2013 23:21

CAN WE GET A BRIEF SUMMARY THAT COVERS ALL SITUATIONS? (Something like this?)

1. Before start (after seeing cards) make X drops of handful of Y figures, which becomes a full unit on successful landing. (Sainte-Mère-Eglise X=1, Y=4; Operation Amherst X=3, Y=3). Units can battle on turn.



I'm afraid I'm lost in this section. All of the letters and numbers are jumbled in my mind and I can't tell what's going on with these examples. Embarassed Sorry. What's the question?



Just using letters to represent numbers, like algebra.

When looking up threads involving scenarios with Airdrops/Paradrops, I see I'm not the only one confused. A reference card was presented for Paradrops, but each scenario seems to do it a different way. For example some people thought Operation Amherst meant you hold 3 figures in hand and do 1 drop, then they become 3-figure units.

I thought that (like Sainte-Mère-Eglise) in Massacre-en-Vercors the reward was to drop four figures once.
But it's just 1 figure, right?
And that unit can't attack the turn it's dropped, right?
So can we get an explanation that covers the other scenarios involving Paradrops?

Even if I play them correctly from here-on, another pair of players might not.

[Aktualisiert am: Sat, 06 April 2013 02:40]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7102
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 06 April 2013 03:59
JFKoski wrote on Sat, 06 April 2013 04:20

rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 04 April 2013 22:16

JFKoski wrote on Wed, 03 April 2013 23:21

CAN WE GET A BRIEF SUMMARY THAT COVERS ALL SITUATIONS? (Something like this?)

1. Before start (after seeing cards) make X drops of handful of Y figures, which becomes a full unit on successful landing. (Sainte-Mère-Eglise X=1, Y=4; Operation Amherst X=3, Y=3). Units can battle on turn.



I'm afraid I'm lost in this section. All of the letters and numbers are jumbled in my mind and I can't tell what's going on with these examples. Embarassed Sorry. What's the question?



Just using letters to represent numbers, like algebra.

When looking up threads involving scenarios with Airdrops/Paradrops, I see I'm not the only one confused. A reference card was presented for Paradrops, but each scenario seems to do it a different way. For example some people thought Operation Amherst meant you hold 3 figures in hand and do 1 drop, then they become 3-figure units.

I thought that (like Sainte-Mère-Eglise) in Massacre-en-Vercors the reward was to drop four figures once.
But it's just 1 figure, right?
And that unit can't attack the turn it's dropped, right?
So can we get an explanation that covers the other scenarios involving Paradrops?

Even if I play them correctly from here-on, another pair of players might not.


OK, so you're wanting a breakdown of how paradrop rules work for each scenario they are used in. To help that happen, and see if we need an FAQ entry for each of them, let's create a list of the scenarios where paradrops happen and take a look at the rules.

JFKoski, since this is your question, can you list all of the scenarios and then what your understanding of the rule is? For example:

Sainte-Mere-Eglise - Take 4 figures and drop them onto the board one time. Figures that land successfully become a full 4-figure unit.

Try to make it as simple as you can (no Algebra is you can help it Laughing ) so that everyone is clear what the rule is. Cool

[Aktualisiert am: Sat, 06 April 2013 04:00]

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 603
Registriert:
October 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 06 April 2013 06:48
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_action_20.jpg

Note: The 4th Bullet point above does not seem to apply in certain cases.

Sainte-Mère-Eglise / Sainte-Mère-Église - After drawing cards, but before the Allies' first turn, make 1 drop of 4 figures together. Successful units can move and battle on the first turn.

Massacre at Vassieux-en-Vercors
bonus for Germans winning Battle of Saint Nizier

During the next scenario, you may
attempt one paradrop action
(Actions 20 - Paradrop), at the start
of your second turn of play.

Germans drop 1 figure at start of 2nd turn before playing a card. If sucessful, unit (can/cannot?) move and battle that turn.
Would this be like a before-the-start drop, or like a card-ordered drop?

Operation Amherst
After drawing cards, but before the Axis' first turn, Allies make 3 drops of 3 figures each (9 units total). Successful units can move and battle on the first turn.

Manado Landings
Axis player may attempt a paradrop as follows:(these should be bullet points but I can't seem to get it to work)
...It must be full daylight (6).
...Any command card which could be used to order an Infantry unit in the section where the Paradrop Battle Stars reside can be used for the Paradrop.
...Limit 1 order per Battle Star per turn (Assault Center can order 5 paradrops, max).
...The Japanese must have enough spare figures to form a full unit per order (8 figures were not used in setup, so if they've taken no losses, they could order 2 paradrops).
...For each unit ordered, a single Infantry figure (paratrooper) must be dropped from directly above a hex with a Battle Star.
...If the drop is successful and that unit lands safely, regardless of where it lands on the board, then the Battle Star over which it was originally dropped is removed and the successful figure is given 3 other figures to create a full unit and an elite - special forces badge.
...If the fall was unsuccessful, the Battle Star remains and the unsuccessful figure is removed from the board to try again later.
...Then the next ordered paratrooper is dropped over another Battle Star. This continues until all orders for the paradrop are complete.
...Successful units cannot move or battle the turn they drop.
...This means that the Axis player can eventually gain a unit for each Battle Star, though it may take a while.

I haven't played the following:
Drop in the Night: 82nd and Drop in the Night: The 101st, and The Coup de Main
Quote:

Before his first turn, the Allied player drops 3 elite Infantry units over each hex marked with a Battle Star (9 units total). You must aim at these hexes, but you do not lose your units if they land outside of the hex.

Successful units are able to move and battle the first turn?

Drop in the Night: 82nd and Drop in the Night: The 101st
Quote:


Once in full daylight, the Allied player can drop up to 3 additional Infantry units (using previously lost figures) over the hex at [Les Forges/Hiesville] by playing an appropriate Command card (so a probe in the Center allows 2 units to attempt an airdrop over [Les Forges/Hiesville]).

Is this a 1-time drop?

Baltic Islands
Quote:

Before his first turn, the Axis player may airdrop (Actions 20 - Paradrop) 3 units of commandos (Troops 2 - Specialized Units) in the left section of the map. Units that fall out of the left section or in the ocean are lost but do not count as Victory Medals for the opponent.

Successful units are able to move and battle the first turn?

The Rescue of Mussolini
Quote:

Use Paradrop rules (Actions 20 - Paradrop) for the Axis player. Before his first turn, the Axis player drops 3 elite Infantry units over each hex marked with a Battle Star (6 units total). You must aim at these hexes, but you do not lose your units if they land outside of the hex. Place a Battle Star on one of the airdropped units: that unit is led by Otto Skorzeny (Actions 8 - Heroic Leader).

Successful units are able to move and battle the first turn?

This is all I could find by searching official scenarios. I don't know if there's another paradrop reward for winning a campaign scenario, since I don't have CB1 & CB2.

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 07 May 2013 06:24]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2258
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 06 April 2013 07:02
I think the distinction is that in Ste-Mere Eglise the paradrop is being treated as part of the setup, not part of the turn. And similarly for Operation Amherst.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7102
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 06 April 2013 08:19
sam1812 wrote on Sat, 06 April 2013 09:02

I think the distinction is that in Ste-Mere Eglise the paradrop is being treated as part of the setup, not part of the turn. And similarly for Operation Amherst.


Exactly right. The units can battle in those scenarios because the troops are dropped before the game begins. Cool
      
tinsoldier
Senior Member
FFM44 Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 488
Registriert:
December 2010
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 06 April 2013 23:02
I know it must have been answered already, but can't find it in the FAQ:

When you play the BEL card with an INF unit with a Machine Gun (SWA >42), do you hit INF with the star ?

Same question with the bazzoka against Armor. I think that you do hit Armor with the star when you play On-line.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3047
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 07 April 2013 01:26
Quote:

Infantry unit with Machine Guns
Each time you run across a Machine Gun symbol when setting up a scenario, place a Machine Gun badge on the Infantry unit.
- Movement: An ordered Infantry unit with a Machine Gun may move 1 hex and battle or move 2 hexes and not battle.
- Battle: When it moves, an ordered Infantry unit with a Machine Gun may battle any enemy ground unit three or fewer hexes away, rolling the same number of dice a standard Infantry would.
If it did not move this turn, the Infantry with a Machine Gun will also score a hit for each Star rolled against any enemy Infantry target.
- Line of Sight: An Infantry unit with a Machine Gun must have line of sight to its target, like a standard Infantry unit.


The new updated FAQ is not out yet, but I think it is clear that if a LATE WAR SWA unit moves (even with a BEL card or Infantry Assault) it may not gain the non movement capabilities.

So I would says stars would not be hits for a moving machine gun unit.

tinsoldier wrote on Sat, 06 April 2013 17:02

Same question with the bazzoka against Armor. I think that you do hit Armor with the star when you play On-line.

Yes, the ONLINE program operates inconsistently with the current rules.

The basic rules for the EARLY WAR SWA state that if they move, they may not battle. Before the ONLINE game came into full usage, there was a ruling in the old FAQ that allowed the Units to move and battle with a BEL card.

FAQ v1.3 p.42
Quote:

Q. Can a Special Weapon Asset (SWA) unit be ordered with Behind Enemy Lines to move up to three hexes and still attack?
A. Yes. In this case, the card overrules the SWA movement limitation and allows a Special Weapon Asset unit to move three hexes, attack and then move three more hexes. The unit could also move six hexes without attacking.

Q. Can a Special Weapon Asset unit be ordered with Infantry Assault and move three hexes?
A. Yes. The normal SWA unit rules apply though, so it cannot attack, even if it just moves one hex.

This ruling was in play when the ONLINE game was designed so it was incorporated into the operating system. Later, the ruling was changed, however, the ONLINE game has not been reprogrammed to deal with this change in ruling so it still operates outside the bounds of the current ruling.

See this thread:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=253589#msg_253589
Look for August 31, 2012 posts

When the new LATE WAR SWA came into usage, this ruling was enacted to stay in step with the basic premise of any movement limits battle for Early War SWA. And the Late war units,although they may actually move and battle give up any special benefits when they move. Infantry with Late War SWA become regular Infantry when they move and battle as such.

Here are some current BEL questions in the upcoming FAQ for SWA units:
Quote:

Q. If I order a Late War Mortar unit with Behind Enemy Lines, do I need Line of Sight on my enemy and do I only battle at [3-2-1], since I moved?
A. Yes. If the Late War Mortar unit moves at all (including with Behind Enemy Lines) it will battle at [3-2-1] +1 die for the card and needs Line of Sight. If the Late War Mortar unit does not move it will battle at [3-2-1-1] +1 die for
the card and does not need Line of Sight
.
Q. Can an Early War Special Weapon Asset (SWA) unit be ordered with Behind Enemy Lines to move up to three hexes and still attack?
A. No. If Early War SWA units move in any way, they may not battle. This limitation includes when they are ordered by the Behind Enemy Lines card or Infantry Assault card.

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 07 April 2013 04:36]

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 603
Registriert:
October 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 02 May 2013 06:32
Since December I've worked on a Overlord Sequence Summary. I had someone proof it and he hit me with this sentence again:
From FAQ 2.0, page 62

"The Air Sortie card will be visible on the table, and the Counter-Attack card is played directly from the Soviet Commander-in-Chiefs hand, but only if playing these card(s) AND the Command cards already placed under the Commissar chip during the prior turn do not exceed the maximum of three Command cards played during a turn!"

This is difficult to read, so I hope some of the Overlord rules and clarifications in the FAQ will be cleaned up.
Two paragraphs down it shows the 2nd option.

The two options for Soviet CiC under Commissar are:
1. Play all the cards under the Commissar Chip, while putting 1-3 cards under the Chip, or
2. Play 1-3 Counter-Attacks, and ignore the Chip this turn (like in the standard game).

When playing Counter-Attack, the Soviet CiC under Commissar can:
A. Play Counter-Attack(s) as described in #2, above.
B. Play Counter-Attack(s) with all cards under the Chip (#1) as follows.
If there were 2 cards under the Chip then CiC can also play 1 Counter-Attack from hand; if there was 1 card under the Chip then CiC can also play 1 or 2 Counter-Attacks from hand.
C. Put Counter-Attack(s) under the Chip.
If there's another card under the Chip then it can only go to a FG(Field General). Why? I don't know.
If it's the only card under the Chip then it can go to FG or CiC.

For those interested I have my OL Sequence Summary on Boardgamegeek which I updated today, plus as a Word file under my user pages which I'm trying to keep down to 2 pages.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 02 May 2013 06:36]

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 893
Registriert:
December 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 02 May 2013 18:19
JFKoski wrote on Thu, 02 May 2013 00:32


If there's another card under the Chip then it can only go to a FG(Field General). Why? I don't know.
If it's the only card under the Chip then it can go to FG or CiC.



<deleted my original response>

You are right, the rules for single CA card or CA and others under the card make little sense. I tried to rationalize it, but did not succeed.

I like to think the act of putting cards under the chip is the CinC committing orders to the FGs. Normally they'd be played immediately, but for Russian they are delayed. I don't like the idea the CA card under the chip can then be taken back by the CinC and used to counter a CinC order.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 02 May 2013 18:29]

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 603
Registriert:
October 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 07 May 2013 06:14
I hope was hoping this wouldn't come up, but did in my 3rd game of Kiev today. I thought I hadn't seen an official answer in the forums or FAQs, but we took a break to look for it, and this thread was the closest I found.

Russians played Artillery Bombard, and wanted to attack twice with his Armored Train (artillery in wagon).

I like the idea that an Armored Train is like a Destroyer and could only be activated by this card for 1 attack if there were no artillery on the board, similar to what ColtsFan76 wrote below the question here.

But the card says "Artillery on Wagon fires as regular Artillery," so we did it like a Mobile Artillery that can't move and attack when ordered by Artillery Bombard, but can still fire twice.
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_troop_7.jpg
Do we have an official ruling? I've got one more rematch to play.

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 07 May 2013 06:19]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7102
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 07 May 2013 07:45
JFKoski wrote on Tue, 07 May 2013 08:14

I hope was hoping this wouldn't come up, but did in my 3rd game of Kiev today. I thought I hadn't seen an official answer in the forums or FAQs, but we took a break to look for it, and this thread was the closest I found.

Russians played Artillery Bombard, and wanted to attack twice with his Armored Train (artillery in wagon).

I like the idea that an Armored Train is like a Destroyer and could only be activated by this card for 1 attack if there were no artillery on the board, similar to what ColtsFan76 wrote below the question here.

But the card says "Artillery on Wagon fires as regular Artillery," so we did it like a Mobile Artillery that can't move and attack when ordered by Artillery Bombard, but can still fire twice.
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_troop_7.jpg
Do we have an official ruling? I've got one more rematch to play.


As far as I know, we don't have an official ruling on Armored Trains but we do have a very clear ruling on Battleships. I believe that the two units would be treated the same, but I can ask for an official answer. I doubt we'll get a reply by the time you play your rematch, but eventually it can be added to the FAQ.

Thanks for bringing this back into the light. Very Happy
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3047
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 07 May 2013 12:48
rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 07 May 2013 01:45

JFKoski wrote on Tue, 07 May 2013 08:14

I hope was hoping this wouldn't come up, but did in my 3rd game of Kiev today. I thought I hadn't seen an official answer in the forums or FAQs, but we took a break to look for it, and this thread was the closest I found.

Russians played Artillery Bombard, and wanted to attack twice with his Armored Train (artillery in wagon).

I like the idea that an Armored Train is like a Destroyer and could only be activated by this card for 1 attack if there were no artillery on the board, similar to what ColtsFan76 wrote below the question here.

But the card says "Artillery on Wagon fires as regular Artillery," so we did it like a Mobile Artillery that can't move and attack when ordered by Artillery Bombard, but can still fire twice.
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_troop_7.jpg



Do we have an official ruling? I've got one more rematch to play.


As far as I know, we don't have an official ruling on Armored Trains but we do have a very clear ruling on Battleships. I believe that the two units would be treated the same, but I can ask for an official answer. I doubt we'll get a reply by the time you play your rematch, but eventually it can be added to the FAQ.

Thanks for bringing this back into the light. Very Happy


A follow up question, if an artillery on an armored train is AMBUSHED when firing at an adjacent unit and the AMBUSHING UNIT rolls 2 flags what happens? Is the Artillery unit forced to take a hit (is it treated like artillery in a bunker) or does the entire train retreat 2 hexes? If the train does retreat, I am guessing the Artillery Unit loses its ability to battle.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7102
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 07 May 2013 13:02
stevens wrote on Tue, 07 May 2013 14:48

rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 07 May 2013 01:45

JFKoski wrote on Tue, 07 May 2013 08:14

I hope was hoping this wouldn't come up, but did in my 3rd game of Kiev today. I thought I hadn't seen an official answer in the forums or FAQs, but we took a break to look for it, and this thread was the closest I found.

Russians played Artillery Bombard, and wanted to attack twice with his Armored Train (artillery in wagon).

I like the idea that an Armored Train is like a Destroyer and could only be activated by this card for 1 attack if there were no artillery on the board, similar to what ColtsFan76 wrote below the question here.

But the card says "Artillery on Wagon fires as regular Artillery," so we did it like a Mobile Artillery that can't move and attack when ordered by Artillery Bombard, but can still fire twice.
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_troop_7.jpg



Do we have an official ruling? I've got one more rematch to play.


As far as I know, we don't have an official ruling on Armored Trains but we do have a very clear ruling on Battleships. I believe that the two units would be treated the same, but I can ask for an official answer. I doubt we'll get a reply by the time you play your rematch, but eventually it can be added to the FAQ.

Thanks for bringing this back into the light. Very Happy


A follow up question, if an artillery on an armored train is AMBUSHED when firing at an adjacent unit and the AMBUSHING UNIT rolls 2 flags what happens? Is the Artillery unit forced to take a hit (is it treated like artillery in a bunker) or does the entire train retreat 2 hexes? If the train does retreat, I am guessing the Artillery Unit loses its ability to battle.



We have enough information to answer your follow-up question. The Artillery is not treated separately from the train car so if someone attacks my Armored Train, they are attacking the train, not the Artillery on the train. The train would retreat normally, if it can. Hits are calculated for the train, not for the Artillery and like every unit in Memoir '44, if it must retreat the unit cannot battle.

This indicates to me that an Armored train cannot be ordered with Artillery Bombard, just like a Destroyer, but I'll ask Richard to make sure.

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 07 May 2013 13:03]

      
5 star general
Senior Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 210
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 07 May 2013 23:25
If The train must retreat, what happens if the track runs left flank to right flank, or vis versa? And the train cannot retreat toward it's baseline. Embarassed
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7102
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 08 May 2013 08:09
5 star general wrote on Wed, 08 May 2013 01:25

If The train must retreat, what happens if the track runs left flank to right flank, or vis versa? And the train cannot retreat toward it's baseline. Embarassed


No, trains don't retreat the same as normal units. If you look at their Summary card or the rules in the TP rule book, you'll see that it says,

Quote:

Retreat in opposite direction to locomotive's travel.


So you'll just move the train "back" the right number of spaces on the train track. Cool
      
Seiten (9): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ]     
Vorheriges Thema:Let's Play OVERLORD -- Saturday, May 4, on Vassal!
Nächstes Thema:Countryside "City Ruins" Tile
Gehen Sie zum Forum: