Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Moving an artillery unit out of a fortress
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 891
Registriert:
November 2011
Moving an artillery unit out of a fortress Thu, 01 August 2013 15:30
Hello,

one situation that came up in one of our latest games:

May a player move out an artillery unit of a fortress? Since this landmark is impassable for this type of units we are not sure.

Regards.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7093
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Moving an artillery unit out of a fortress Thu, 01 August 2013 15:38
Almilcar wrote on Thu, 01 August 2013 17:30

Hello,

one situation that came up in one of our latest games:

May a player move out an artillery unit of a fortress? Since this landmark is impassable for this type of units we are not sure.

Regards.


Is there an official scenario where Artillery are in a Fortress?
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 891
Registriert:
November 2011
Re:Moving an artillery unit out of a fortress Thu, 01 August 2013 15:54
rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 01 August 2013 15:38



Is there an official scenario where Artillery are in a Fortress?


Yes, there is. "Take Falaise" from CB2 "Break through Normandy" campaign. (Scenario 42)

Regards
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 652
Registriert:
March 2005
Re:Moving an artillery unit out of a fortress Thu, 01 August 2013 20:37
Quote:

Same effect as a Bunker (M44 p.16).
In addition, either side may claim it as a defensive
position. Units on a Fortress hex may ignore all flags
rolled against the unit. Also see the optional Freeing
Prisoners rules in the Battle Star Tokens section.


This is what the terrain pack rules has to say about it.
"same effect as a bunker" seems to mean no retreat for a Artillery in a Fortress

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_terrain_2.jpg

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 01 August 2013 20:39]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 891
Registriert:
November 2011
Re:Moving an artillery unit out of a fortress Thu, 01 August 2013 22:39
Hello,

yes, it looks like an artillery unit placed on a Fortress can't retreat or move.

It makes sense.

Thanks for pointing this out. We only read the summary card and there it doesn't mention nothing related to a bunker.

Regards

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 01 August 2013 22:40]

      
boersma8
Senior Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 182
Registriert:
February 2005
Re:Moving an artillery unit out of a fortress Sat, 03 August 2013 16:45
Might be me, but I don't see any indication that one wouldn't be able to move an artillery unit out of a fortress hex normally (other than a retreat, that is).
      
deemao
Senior Member
Captain

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 170
Registriert:
March 2011
Re:Moving an artillery unit out of a fortress Sat, 03 August 2013 18:16
Guys, it's actually pretty simple. Base game rules, p. 16 - Bunkers:
Quote:

Artillery units that start on a Bunker hex may not move from the hex.


So if is said in Terrain Pack that fortress has same effect as a bunker then arti can't move out from fortress.

[Aktualisiert am: Sat, 03 August 2013 18:19]

      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 652
Registriert:
March 2005
Re:Moving an artillery unit out of a fortress Sat, 03 August 2013 19:37
deemao wrote on Sat, 03 August 2013 18:16

Guys, it's actually pretty simple. Base game rules, p. 16 - Bunkers:
Quote:

Artillery units that start on a Bunker hex may not move from the hex.


So if is said in Terrain Pack that fortress has same effect as a bunker then arti can't move out from fortress.


that's even easier Laughing
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 603
Registriert:
October 2005
Re:Moving an artillery unit out of a fortress Mon, 05 August 2013 02:50
Here's what it says in TP:
TP p.10

Same effect as a Bunker (M44 p.16).
In addition, either side may claim it as a defensive
position. Units on a Fortress hex may ignore all flags
rolled against the unit. Also see the optional Freeing
Prisoners rules in the Battle Star Tokens section.


I thought it would be like tanks in bunkers in River Bug scenario
FAQ p71

Q. Can the Russian Armor in the Bunkers in the River Bug scenario move out of them, or are they
treated like Artillery in Bunker?
A. The Russian Armor in the Field Bunkers may not move out of the Bunker. The Armor units in the Bunkers may ignore the first Flag. If forced to retreat, it cannot, and the unit must lose a figure for each retreat it cannot complete.


I assume a tank in a fortress would not be able to move out either.

However, I think an artillery on the mountain can move to or retreat to a hill (but not another mountain).

[Aktualisiert am: Mon, 05 August 2013 03:04]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 891
Registriert:
November 2011
Re:Moving an artillery unit out of a fortress Mon, 05 August 2013 16:29
OK,

then it seems it's quite clear and there is no need of more clarification.

Cheers,
Almilcar
      
van Voort
Senior Member
General Mayor

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 655
Registriert:
August 2011
Re:Moving an artillery unit out of a fortress Wed, 07 August 2013 23:40
boersma8 wrote on Sat, 03 August 2013 15:45

Might be me, but I don't see any indication that one wouldn't be able to move an artillery unit out of a fortress hex normally (other than a retreat, that is).


That's not there for that, the wording of the rule is to convert airstrike flags into hits.

They cannot be ignored, you cannot retreat, therefore the flag is a hit
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 614
Registriert:
May 2008
Re:Moving an artillery unit out of a fortress Thu, 08 August 2013 08:50
Think of this with Artillery in Bunkers Fortresses on Mountains etc...
Not being able to take flags is that technically they where assembled inside those places and could not be moved through narrow doors.
So taking a retreat is not possible!

      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Road block question
Nächstes Thema:2013 World Boardgaming Championships -- Memoir '44 tournament -- August 1-2
Gehen Sie zum Forum: