Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Designation of artillery
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Fred the Obscure
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 166
Registriert:
April 2006
Designation of artillery Thu, 12 September 2013 16:18
Greetings All,

I think I'm getting myself confused here around artillery.

I have been treating them as an "Infantry" unit for order purposes.
I think I have been skewed by Mobile Artillery being treated as infantry for defence purposes, not armour.

If artillery are as designation of their own, they can only ever be ordered with a section card, never a tactics card - which are often for infantry or armour.(exception - Direct from HQ)

Please help sort out my scrambled brain,

Ta,

Fred the Obscure,
Durban, South Africa.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7083
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Designation of artillery Thu, 12 September 2013 17:02
Fred the Obscure wrote on Thu, 12 September 2013 18:18

Greetings All,

I think I'm getting myself confused here around artillery.

I have been treating them as an "Infantry" unit for order purposes.
I think I have been skewed by Mobile Artillery being treated as infantry for defence purposes, not armour.

If artillery are as designation of their own, they can only ever be ordered with a section card, never a tactics card - which are often for infantry or armour.(exception - Direct from HQ)

Please help sort out my scrambled brain,

Ta,

Fred the Obscure,
Durban, South Africa.


It must be too early for me because I'm afraid my brain is a little scrambled as well. Very Happy What do you mean when you say, "I have been treating them as an "Infantry" unit for order purposes.
I think I have been skewed by Mobile Artillery being treated as infantry for defence purposes, not armour."

Are you ordering Artillery with cards like Infantry Assault? And I'm not sure what you mean about Mobile Artillery. Maybe you could explain how you're playing the units right now and we can figure out where the confusion is. Smile
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 603
Registriert:
October 2005
Re:Designation of artillery Thu, 12 September 2013 17:14
Memoir '44 has 3 main types of units, all of which are hit by a grenade roll, or a flag roll if they cannot ignore it or perform a retreat. Rolling stars from Air Power hit all units too.

Artillery (including Big Guns, Mobile Artillery, 88's=Heavy Anti-Tank Guns, Screaming Meemies) are hit by a grenade roll.

Armor/Tanks (including Tigers, Half-Tracks, Tank Destroyers and Churchill/Funnies) are hit by a grenade or tank symbol on the roll. (Tigers get a special defense roll against all hits.)

Infantry (including French Resistance, Special Forces, Engineers, Cavalry, Ski Units, Patrol Cars, Command Cars, and SWAs: Mortar/Anti-Tank/Machine Gun) are hit by a grenade or infantry symbol on the roll. (Patrol Cars get a special defense roll against all hits.)

There's a few oddball units like ships, planes and trains that don't fall into these categories and have special rules.

The only other special rule I can think of regarding Mobile Artillery is they cannot move AND attack under Artillery Bombard.
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 881
Registriert:
December 2006
Re:Designation of artillery Thu, 12 September 2013 17:40
Artillery, Infantry and Armor are the three types for ordering purposes. You can't order any type of Artillery unit, including mobile artillery, with a card that stipulates that only infantry or only armor are ordered. Thus, Infantry Assault, Dig-In, BEL, Armor Assault, etc. can't be used to order any type of artillery.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3021
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Designation of artillery Thu, 12 September 2013 18:22
Fred the Obscure wrote on Thu, 12 September 2013 10:18

Greetings All,

I think I'm getting myself confused here around artillery.

I have been treating them as an "Infantry" unit for order purposes.
I think I have been skewed by Mobile Artillery being treated as infantry for defence purposes, not armour.

If artillery are as designation of their own, they can only ever be ordered with a section card, never a tactics card - which are often for infantry or armour.(exception - Direct from HQ)

Please help sort out my scrambled brain,

Ta,

Fred the Obscure,
Durban, South Africa.



HUH!!!!!
Maybe too many brews.
Not sure if there is really a question here that couldn't be straightened out by a slow and steady reading of the rules.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 12 September 2013 20:37]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3021
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Designation of artillery Thu, 12 September 2013 18:33
stevens wrote on Thu, 12 September 2013 12:22

Sgt Storm wrote on Thu, 12 September 2013 11:40

Artillery, Infantry and Armor are the three types for ordering purposes. You can't order any type of Artillery unit, including mobile artillery, with a card that stipulates that only infantry or only armor are ordered. Thus, Infantry Assault, Dig-In, BEL, Armor Assault, etc. can't be used to order any type of artillery.




SAY IT AIN'T SO!
I am sorry friend, but you are not thinking ahead as the designers did. Every card you mentioned MAY be used to order an Artillery unit with the proviso that you have no units of the type for which the card was intended.

"If you do not command any __________ units, issue an order to one unit of your choice."

This choice could be your Artillery or Mobile Artillery should you have them.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 12 September 2013 18:37]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3021
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Designation of artillery Thu, 12 September 2013 21:28
All kidding aside, it seems Fred that you may be confused as to when to ORDER your artillery. You are correct in stating that you may use any SECTION card to order an Artillery unit as long as that unit is in that section.

So lets look at the section cards:
General Advance
Pincer Move
Recon In Force
Recon
Probe
Attack
Assault


All of these cards may be used to order an Artillery (or Mobile Artillery).

You were bang on in saying that the DIRECT FROM HEADQUARTERS card can also be used. Here are some other Tactic Cards that can be used.

Artillery Bombard
Firefight
Medics & Mechanics

and Their Finest Hour as long as a STAR is rolled as this will allow you to order any unit.

In my previous and more sardonic post to Sgt Storms comments I pointed out that if you have no assigned units you may use these following cards to order an Artillery:
Armor Assault
Infantry Assault
Move Out
Dig-in
Behind Enemy Lines


The only other card would be Ambush
But this is actually a reaction move and not an ordered move, but you get my point.

Finally a Counter-Attack card that counters any of your opponents play of the previous cards with the exact conditions mentioned will give the same result.

The following cards do not order Artillery:
Barrage
Close Assault
Air Power / Air Sortie


I hope this is helpful.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 12 September 2013 21:30]

      
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 212
Registriert:
March 2010
Re:Designation of artillery Thu, 12 September 2013 21:33
Fred the Obscure wrote on Thu, 12 September 2013 23:48

Greetings All,

I think I'm getting myself confused here around artillery.

I have been treating them as an "Infantry" unit for order purposes.
I think I have been skewed by Mobile Artillery being treated as infantry for defence purposes, not armour.

If artillery are as designation of their own, they can only ever be ordered with a section card, never a tactics card - which are often for infantry or armour.(exception - Direct from HQ)

Please help sort out my scrambled brain,

Ta,

Fred the Obscure,
Durban, South Africa.


As others have said Artillery is its own class of unit, just refer back to the core rule book.

As for tactic cards that can order Artillery, well for one it has its own tactic card "artillery bombard" (either move 3 hexes or battle twice with artilery units) it can also be ordered with the close assult, firefight, direct from HQ, medics and mechanics, counter attack (depending on the card countered) and the ambush tactics cards.
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 603
Registriert:
October 2005
Re:Designation of artillery Fri, 13 September 2013 04:28
Aussie_Digger wrote on Thu, 12 September 2013 15:33


As for tactic cards that can order Artillery, well for one it has its own tactic card "artillery bombard" (either move 3 hexes or battle twice with artilery units) it can also be ordered with the close assult [sic], firefight, direct from HQ, medics and mechanics, counter attack (depending on the card countered) and the ambush tactics cards.


Sorry, Close Assault cannot order Artillery as my buddy found out to his dismay (and quick loss) when he played Online.
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_command_17.jpg
      
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 212
Registriert:
March 2010
Re:Designation of artillery Fri, 13 September 2013 13:16
JFKoski wrote on Fri, 13 September 2013 11:58

Aussie_Digger wrote on Thu, 12 September 2013 15:33


As for tactic cards that can order Artillery, well for one it has its own tactic card "artillery bombard" (either move 3 hexes or battle twice with artilery units) it can also be ordered with the close assult [sic], firefight, direct from HQ, medics and mechanics, counter attack (depending on the card countered) and the ambush tactics cards.


Sorry, Close Assault cannot order Artillery as my buddy found out to his dismay (and quick loss) when he played Online.
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_command_17.jpg


Ah yes sorry didn't have the cards in front of me
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 881
Registriert:
December 2006
Re:Designation of artillery Fri, 13 September 2013 17:51
stevens wrote on Thu, 12 September 2013 12:33

stevens wrote on Thu, 12 September 2013 12:22

Sgt Storm wrote on Thu, 12 September 2013 11:40

Artillery, Infantry and Armor are the three types for ordering purposes. You can't order any type of Artillery unit, including mobile artillery, with a card that stipulates that only infantry or only armor are ordered. Thus, Infantry Assault, Dig-In, BEL, Armor Assault, etc. can't be used to order any type of artillery.




SAY IT AIN'T SO!
I am sorry friend, but you are not thinking ahead as the designers did. Every card you mentioned MAY be used to order an Artillery unit with the proviso that you have no units of the type for which the card was intended.

"If you do not command any __________ units, issue an order to one unit of your choice."

This choice could be your Artillery or Mobile Artillery should you have them.


Yeah...whatever. Rolling Eyes I think except for those that can't or won't read the cards when playing, its pretty clear what the gist of my response was.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2083
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Designation of artillery Sun, 15 September 2013 19:24
Sgt Storm wrote on Fri, 13 September 2013 11:51

stevens wrote on Thu, 12 September 2013 12:33

stevens wrote on Thu, 12 September 2013 12:22

Sgt Storm wrote on Thu, 12 September 2013 11:40

Artillery, Infantry and Armor are the three types for ordering purposes. You can't order any type of Artillery unit, including mobile artillery, with a card that stipulates that only infantry or only armor are ordered. Thus, Infantry Assault, Dig-In, BEL, Armor Assault, etc. can't be used to order any type of artillery.




SAY IT AIN'T SO!
I am sorry friend, but you are not thinking ahead as the designers did. Every card you mentioned MAY be used to order an Artillery unit with the proviso that you have no units of the type for which the card was intended.

"If you do not command any __________ units, issue an order to one unit of your choice."

This choice could be your Artillery or Mobile Artillery should you have them.


Yeah...whatever. Rolling Eyes I think except for those that can't or won't read the cards when playing, its pretty clear what the gist of my response was.



I am not sure what you mean by players who cannot (unable?) or will not read the cards when playing.

I do think it was important to mention the exception to your prior post though and your reply probably could have been done without the eyeroll.
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:paying the game
Nächstes Thema:SFTF BOOKLET
Gehen Sie zum Forum: