Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Kamikaze over powered?
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Dree
Member
First Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 61
Registriert:
February 2010
Kamikaze over powered? Thu, 10 October 2013 00:31
We introduced the airpack a few weeks ago, and played 2 pacific theater scenarios with it. The Kamikaze action really does feel overpowered. I used it 2 times with great success, its easy to devastate a flank with it and reel in a VP at once.

It feels overpowered, but NICE Twisted Evil , and don't want to ruin our pacific "campaign". On the other hand we haven't much experience with it to make a good judgment.
What's your experience with this?

Kamikazzing ground troops does also feel a utile out of place, as we believe the Japanese never used this strategy.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 10 October 2013 19:07]

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 603
Registriert:
October 2005
Re:Kamikaze over powered? Thu, 10 October 2013 05:15
sir Tanksalot wrote on Wed, 09 October 2013 18:31


We introduced the airpack a few weeks ago, and played 2 pacific theater scenarios with it. The Kamikaze action really does feel overpowered. I used it 2 times with great success, its easy to devastate a flank with it, or reel in 2 VP at once.


You didn't explain how you used it. You cannot get 2 VPs in one Kamikaze attack. You can get 1 VP against infantry if you roll an infantry or grenade, and your opponent will get either 0 VP or 1 VP if the roll had a grenade.

In my games of Mabatang, the Japanese tried Strafing to take out artillery or reduce infantry. In one game my opponent, who I believe was leading, used Kamikaze to take out a full infantry, and extended his lead (so didn't roll a grenade-medal).

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_air_rule_7.jpg

Kamikaze is a risk. But if your patient (and winning) you can use it to try to get a last medal. You can also save Air Sortie for Strafing in case there's a lone-fig unit you otherwise can't reach late in the game.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 10 October 2013 05:16]

      
Dree
Member
First Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 61
Registriert:
February 2010
Re:Kamikaze over powered? Thu, 10 October 2013 19:23
Thanks for your answer! You are right.


Edited my question.

I must have been tired when I wrote up my question.

What I meant
It's not 2 vp, but the advantage of erasing a (strategical placed) infantry unit and getting and getting a vp too. Both times it felt extremely strong. And maybe unbalancing...

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2102
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Kamikaze over powered? Thu, 10 October 2013 23:26
I do not know if it is too strong. I guess if you can get in more than 1 attack over the course of a scenario, it may be depending on the results.

You can miss and lose the plane.

You can hit and award a medal to your opponent too.

You can hit and lose the plane but you only get a medal (best case scenario).

I do remember one OL game where I used this atack and took out two flame tanks and two Combat Eng infantry over the course of the battle (which I won). I did not roll any grenades in these attacks so I was very lucky taking out 4 full strength units for no loss to myself other than the 4 planes.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2257
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:Kamikaze over powered? Fri, 11 October 2013 03:38
tank commander wrote on Thu, 10 October 2013 17:26

I do remember one OL game where I used this atack and took out two flame tanks and two Combat Eng infantry over the course of the battle (which I won). I did not roll any grenades in these attacks so I was very lucky taking out 4 full strength units for no loss to myself other than the 4 planes.

In that particular game, the kamikazes were too strong for my personal taste. L'Enfer Sur la Plage (Hell on the Beach) lived up to its name. Wink

But in most scenarios, where the number of Zeros is more normal, I haven't been troubled by the Kamikaze rules.

[Aktualisiert am: Fri, 11 October 2013 03:38]

      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1382
Registriert:
October 2006
Re:Kamikaze over powered? Sun, 13 October 2013 12:46
That's why in my own air rules, ships get to fire first at a kamikaze and then if it survives the attack, the kamikaze does one hit to the ship. Ships in WWII sometimes took numerous kamikaze attacks and survived. The Enterprise is a great example.

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg214/ronh51/WWII/USS_EnterpriseKamikaze_zps31914987.jpg

In this attack, a bomb laden kamikaze blew the forward airplane elevator 400 feet into the sky.
My air rules are available here; http://cdn.daysofwonder.com/uploads/userpages/272628/_6025.p df
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2102
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Kamikaze over powered? Sun, 13 October 2013 23:24
50th wrote on Sun, 13 October 2013 06:46

That's why in my own air rules, ships get to fire first at a kamikaze and then if it survives the attack, the kamikaze does one hit to the ship. Ships in WWII sometimes took numerous kamikaze attacks and survived. The Enterprise is a great example.


I think the Kamikaze attacks on ships in Mem '44 represent the extensive damage (rather than being sunk) which would probably take the ship out of action for that scenario.

In your Enterprise example, that ship had to go back to port for repairs and that is where it finished the war.
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:General Rules: Armor Strength
Nächstes Thema:How to run a Tournament?
Gehen Sie zum Forum: