Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Small World - English » Trolls Lairs etc how do they work?
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
player589212
Junior Member
Cadet

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
December 2009
Trolls Lairs etc how do they work? Wed, 23 December 2009 01:01
Hi I have just bought Smallworld and have read the rules several times and have got the gist of the game but how or when can you use the Troll Lairs,Fortresses etc and how does the Dragon, Heros, and Holes-in-ground come in come into play and what are the benefits. I cant find a reference to them in the rules, or am I being a bit dim. Confused Thanks Embarassed
      
xbeaker
Junior Member
Cadet

Nachrichten: 26
Registriert:
August 2005
Re:Trolls Lairs etc how do they work? Sat, 26 December 2009 19:12
Troll lairs are place on every territory that contains a troll. Granting them 1 effective bonus unit for defence. So if you take a farmland using 2 trolls, immediately deploy a troll lair under them. Assuming you don't redeploy those trolls, an opponent would need 5 units to kill off the trolls. If this should occur, then one troll is returnd to the tray, one is returned to you for redeployment at the end of that players turn, and the troll lair is returned to you stack to be used on future conquest. Then makes trolls very good at defence, even while in decline (trolls in the mountains would still require 5 units to remove, even while in decline!) It also makes the entire troll race effectively immune to sorcerers as every troll controlled territory will always have 2 units.

Fortresses work just like troll lairs except that you can only play them once a turn while the race is active (so it would take 6 active turns to deploy them all) unlike the troll lairs which get placed as soon as the territory is conquored.

Dragons have 2 benefits. First, once per turn you can conquor any territory with just 1 unit and the dragon. This would include the above mentioned troll in the mountain. Also, the territory that was taken is immune to aany kind of attack while the dragon is there.

Holes in the ground have 2 benefits also. A halfling hole cannot begin on an area occupied by a dragon, but any other location is fair game (assuming you have the force to take it.) Allowing halflings to ignore the rule that they must start at a boarder territory. Also they gein the same imunity the dragon confers making them immune to to any kind of attack. A halfling hole cannot start on a dragon (or hero) occupied territory, but once established a dragon cannot be used to attack the halfling hole.


Hope that helps.

[Aktualisiert am: Sat, 26 December 2009 19:16]

      
player577453
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 5
Registriert:
October 2009
Re:Trolls Lairs etc how do they work? Sat, 26 December 2009 21:23
Actually troll's lair, fortress and mountain do not help against sorcerers (as stated in the sorcerers power)
      
SnipedintheHead
Member

Nachrichten: 32
Registriert:
January 2009
Re:Trolls Lairs etc how do they work? Sat, 26 December 2009 21:36
Quote:

It also makes the entire troll race effectively immune to sorcerers as every troll controlled territory will always have 2 units.


Actually, this is not true. The lairs do add an additional defense & do stay while in decline, but they are not considered units. The ability that does this is called Bivouacking and is a special power, not a racial power. Thus any Troll, on any land, by himself, with a troll lair is susceptible to a sorcerer's special.

Quote:

Fortresses work just like troll lairs except that you can only play them once a turn while the race is active (so it would take 6 active turns to deploy them all) unlike the troll lairs which get placed as soon as the territory is conquored


And the other major difference is that Fortresses give you victory points while active, while troll lairs do not. And just like troll lairs any fortresses stay on the map while in decline, adding 1 defense to each land they are on, but not a victory point.

Quote:

Holes in the ground have 2 benefits also. A halfling hole cannot begin on an area occupied by a dragon, but any other location is fair game (assuming you have the force to take it.) Allowing halflings to ignore the rule that they must start at a boarder territory. Also they gein the same imunity the dragon confers making them immune to to any kind of attack. A halfling hole cannot start on a dragon (or hero) occupied territory, but once established a dragon cannot be used to attack the halfling hole.


For a bit more clarification, the halflings have the ability to enter the board on any legal land (thus no dragons or heroes & no water). The 1st 2 locations that they capture they place a Halfling hole on. These 2 locations are immune to all conquests, racial & special powers as long as you keep 1 halfling on each land. If you leave those lands or go in decline, the halfling holes are removed from the board.
      
xbeaker
Junior Member
Cadet

Nachrichten: 26
Registriert:
August 2005
Re:Trolls Lairs etc how do they work? Sun, 27 December 2009 06:04
Thanks to the correction. I was just playing tonight and the troll/sorcerer combo came up of course. It occured to me that no where does it say that lairs prevent the the sorcerers control. We compared the rules and all came to the conclusion that they would still be suceptible. Sorry if I confused the issue.
      
player589212
Junior Member
Cadet

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
December 2009
Re:Trolls Lairs etc how do they work? Sun, 27 December 2009 13:10
Thanks Very Much it Is a help, I cant think why it was not better explained in the rules,or am I to inpatient to get going with the game to read the rules properly. cool I can now play the game and get the most out of it. I will let you know how we get on.

Evilc Cool
      
SnipedintheHead
Member

Nachrichten: 32
Registriert:
January 2009
Re:Trolls Lairs etc how do they work? Tue, 29 December 2009 01:16
Quote:

Thanks to the correction. I was just playing tonight and the troll/sorcerer combo came up of course. It occured to me that no where does it say that lairs prevent the the sorcerers control. We compared the rules and all came to the conclusion that they would still be suceptible. Sorry if I confused the issue.


No biggie, the sorcerer's ability, while awesome, certainly interacts with everything oddly (can you say flying?)
      
builder_chris
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
October 2013
Re:Trolls Lairs etc how do they work? Fri, 18 October 2013 19:04
so, after reading this topic, I believe I already know the answer to this question but I thought I would ask it anyway just to make certain.

This is what the rule book says about trolls.

Trolls
Place a Troll's Lair in each Region your Trolls occupy. The Troll's Lair augments your region's defense by 1 (just as if you had an additional Troll token stationed there), and stays in the Region even after your Trolls go into Decline. Remove the Troll's Lair if you abandon the Region or when an enemy conquers it.

so, here is my question(s)

Trolls lairs augment your regions defense by 1 (JUST AS IF YOU HAD AN ADDITIONAL TROLL TOEKN STATIONED THERE)....so, when attacked, normally,
"... that (attacked) player must immediately take all of these
Race tokens back in hand and:
 Permanently discard one Race token back into the Storage
tray;
 Keep the other Race tokens in hand, and redeploy them
in any other Region(s) still occupied by his race (if any) as
the final action of the current player's turn."

SO...does the attacked player controlling the trolls put all tokens, including the lair token, from a region back into his hand and than discard only the trolls lair and put the other race tokens back on the map (since the trolls lair "...augments your region's defense by 1 (just as if you had an additional Troll token stationed there)..."

is that question clear?

in other words, do the trolls never loose race tokens when attacked, since each time they get attacked they could drop the trolls lair token that is "augmenting their race tokens as if they had an additional troll token", back in the box and keep the other tokens in hand and redeploy them that turn and then next turn they would get to set a new trolls lair?

my gut tells me they loose both the trolls lair and one token because rules say "... Permanently discard one Race token back into the Storage tray..." and a trolls lair is not a race token, even if it augments as if it was a race token.

get what i'm asking?
      
Mavado
Member
Designer's Oath

Nachrichten: 45
Registriert:
April 2013
Re:Trolls Lairs etc how do they work? Fri, 18 October 2013 19:32
No trolls lose their race tokens, not their lairs when they are conquered.
      
philippos42
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 16
Registriert:
January 2014
Re:Trolls Lairs etc how do they work? Sun, 09 March 2014 01:32
So can Trolls ever have more than one Lair on a region?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7105
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Trolls Lairs etc how do they work? Sun, 09 March 2014 01:56
philippos42 wrote on Sat, 08 March 2014 16:32

So can Trolls ever have more than one Lair on a region?


No. Only Encampments (for Bivouacking) can have more than one of a protective piece.
      
    
Nächstes Thema:Delete
Gehen Sie zum Forum: