Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Dday Landings Questions
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
questioneer
Member
Major

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 47
Registriert:
July 2012
Dday Landings Questions Wed, 28 May 2014 15:48
Thought I'd put this on a separate thread...

1. In the rules, under the explanation of Supported Armor, there is a picture of the unit with a 3-1-1 shooting range. Is this a mistake???... it doesn't make sense.

2. If the Allied player plays a Recon 1 card as a Barrage (via the off-map artillery support rule), does he still get to roll 2 extra dice for his reinforcement roll?

3. Allies have air superiority throughout these scenarios and so playing and Air Power card yields only 1 dice for Axis and 2 dice for Allies all game long. Also, when the Allied player plays the Air Power card, the Axis player cannot roll for reinforcements on the next turn, correct? Just making sure I understand this right.

4. On the American Airborne map, the Allies do not have the Off-Map Artillery Support rule, also, they mention that there are a couple of exit markers as well- these do not count towards medals right? It doesn't say so.

5. If an order is given to a unit and he moves that unit onto another map he can still battle and overrun as needed right? But on his next turn his neighbor would control that unit, correct?

6. On the reinforcement roll, dice cannot be "double-dipped" (ex. one die counting for 2 different combos) to count for extra reinforcements, correct?

7. With exit and entry markers, if enemy or friendly units occupy the hex or range of hexes then units cannot enter or exit there, correct?

Thanks in advance Smile

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7127
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Dday Landings Questions Wed, 28 May 2014 16:11
questioneer wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 06:48

Thought I'd put this on a separate thread...

1. In the rules, under the explanation of Supported Armor, there is a picture of the unit with a 3-1-1 shooting range. Is this a mistake???... it doesn't make sense.


No mistake. It'll be more clear in the rule book, but the unit is sitting on a Town hex. A normal Armor unit would battle out with 1-1-1, but because it's a Supported Armor unit it battles like Infantry for adjacent hexes.

questioneer wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 06:48

2. If the Allied player plays a Recon 1 card as a Barrage (via the off-map artillery support rule), does he still get to roll 2 extra dice for his reinforcement roll?


Good question. I'll have to look back through the FAQ to be sure (to see what similar situations we have), but if I remember right, you sacrifice the one ability when you use the card for anything other than Recon. Look for the rules on Air Sortie equivalents...

questioneer wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 06:48

3. Allies have air superiority throughout these scenarios and so playing and Air Power card yields only 1 dice for Axis and 2 dice for Allies all game long. Also, when the Allied player plays the Air Power card, the Axis player cannot roll for reinforcements on the next turn, correct? Just making sure I understand this right.


Correct.

questioneer wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 06:48

4. On the American Airborne map, the Allies do not have the Off-Map Artillery Support rule, also, they mention that there are a couple of exit markers as well- these do not count towards medals right? It doesn't say so.


It does say so...It says the Exit hexes are for the Allies, so you look up the Exit rules and see that by exiting a unit off the board you earn a medal.

questioneer wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 06:48

5. If an order is given to a unit and he moves that unit onto another map he can still battle and overrun as needed right? But on his next turn his neighbor would control that unit, correct?


Correct.

questioneer wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 06:48

6. On the reinforcement roll, dice cannot be "double-dipped" (ex. one die counting for 2 different combos) to count for extra reinforcements, correct?


Correct. Often you'll only get to call in one reinforcement because you don't have enough die to get two. Other times you'll get an amazing roll but not have an open spot to bring in two reinforcements.

questioneer wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 06:48

7. With exit and entry markers, if enemy or friendly units occupy the hex or range of hexes then units cannot enter or exit there, correct?


Since units can't move through each other, you can't do anything if the exit or entry hexes are full. However, re-read the section on bringing in reinforcements to see how you could move units out of the way.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 786
Registriert:
September 2007
Re:Dday Landings Questions Wed, 28 May 2014 21:50
If you play Recon 1 as a Barrage card you lose the ability to draw two and chose one. That ability only comes into play if you play Recon 1 as Recon 1.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7127
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Dday Landings Questions Wed, 28 May 2014 22:12
ad79 wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 12:50

If you play Recon 1 as a Barrage card you lose the ability to draw two and chose one. That ability only comes into play if you play Recon 1 as Recon 1.


That's what I thought as well. Thanks for the confirmation, and welcome back to the forums! Cool
      
questioneer
Member
Major

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 47
Registriert:
July 2012
Re:Dday Landings Questions Thu, 29 May 2014 04:12
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 16:12

ad79 wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 12:50

If you play Recon 1 as a Barrage card you lose the ability to draw two and chose one. That ability only comes into play if you play Recon 1 as Recon 1.


That's what I thought as well. Thanks for the confirmation, and welcome back to the forums! Cool


So is there an official word on this issue?

If Recon 1 is played as a Barrage card then I forfeit my right to roll two extra dice during the reinforcement roll correct???

So its important to watch this here...turn goes like this if I'm Allies...

I choose a card...Recon 1...I have to declare if I'm going to use it as a Barrage or not right then and there bc if I don't plan to use the card as a Barrage then I will be allowed to add 2 dice to my reinforcement roll which comes right before the movement phase of my turn, correct???

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 29 May 2014 04:13]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7127
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Dday Landings Questions Thu, 29 May 2014 04:33
questioneer wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 19:12

rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 16:12

ad79 wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 12:50

If you play Recon 1 as a Barrage card you lose the ability to draw two and chose one. That ability only comes into play if you play Recon 1 as Recon 1.


That's what I thought as well. Thanks for the confirmation, and welcome back to the forums! Cool


So is there an official word on this issue?

If Recon 1 is played as a Barrage card then I forfeit my right to roll two extra dice during the reinforcement roll correct???

So its important to watch this here...turn goes like this if I'm Allies...

I choose a card...Recon 1...I have to declare if I'm going to use it as a Barrage or not right then and there bc if I don't plan to use the card as a Barrage then I will be allowed to add 2 dice to my reinforcement roll which comes right before the movement phase of my turn, correct???



Correct.
      
Antoine
-= Crew =-
Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1668
Registriert:
April 2007
Re:Dday Landings Questions Mon, 02 June 2014 13:54
Confirmed.
(that's official Smug )
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Breakthrough Cards and Airpower
Nächstes Thema:Sword, Juno and gold beaches
Gehen Sie zum Forum: