Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Engineers and minefields
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
docsteve
Member
Major

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 34
Registriert:
September 2007
Engineers and minefields Thu, 03 July 2014 03:29
Just Played [Normandy] Bretel Wood and had my engineer enter the minefield on left flank. Instead of getting chance to clear mine field, which was a level 3, 3 dice were thrown and I lost 2 pieces from the unit. Next turn my opponent rolls 2 dice and misses, minefield is still there. Then following turn , he wipes out my unit.

Whats'up with that? I thought engineers got chance to clear out minefield before getting their bloody heads blown off. there were no adjacent units. Any input?

BTW, Bretel Wood Battle was one of the battles my dad was in with 29th Inf division, I won playing 29th which was good, but when I played German side it felt bad to be shooting at my dad's unit !

Thanks, Steve
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3019
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Engineers and minefields Thu, 03 July 2014 03:48
I guess the real question is how many hexes did you move when you moved into the minefield. If your ENGINEER was qualified to battle on entering the minefield, then the bot should have just removed the mine. However, had you moved 2 hexes and not been qualified to battle, then the ENGINEER suffers the same fate as all other troops and must endure a round of battle dice from the minefield.

P. 13 TERRAIN PACK RULES:
Quote:

An Engineer unit that moves onto a Minefield hex and that is eligible to battle must clear the Minefield hex instead of battling. If the Engineer unit cannot clear the Minefield, it detonates.


After review of of your particular move:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44-online/en/battle/?id=42 135379#replay:turn=1

It appears that you moved two hexes which means instead of removing the mine you suffer the consequences. Had you used an INFANTRY ASSAULT card this type of move would have still allowed you to battle and hence, remove the mine instead.

Since you were not eligible to battle on entering the minefield you suffered the consequences. No bug.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 03 July 2014 04:03]

      
docsteve
Member
Major

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 34
Registriert:
September 2007
Re:Engineers and minefields Thu, 03 July 2014 04:48
Thanks for clearing things up ! Wished it cleared the minefield too! LOL ! But now I get it!
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3019
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Engineers and minefields Thu, 03 July 2014 12:03
The good thing about Memoir is that if you suffer enough from a mistake, you will probably not repeat it and hence your gameplay will improve. So even losing a battle, if studied a bit, can provide a positive outcome.
I can thank Sam1812 for this broader perspective.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 03 July 2014 12:04]

      
    
Vorheriges Thema:objective track
Nächstes Thema:Call for Reinforcements - Memoir '44 D-Day Landings maps are here!
Gehen Sie zum Forum: