Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1203
Registriert:
July 2007
D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Sat, 26 July 2014 13:44
When playing multiple maps, are the casualties for half tracks and supply trucks added together over different maps to count 3 figures for one medal. Or do you count per board.
      
--JP
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 289
Registriert:
December 2004
Re:D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Sat, 26 July 2014 13:53
Since VP are combined, in essence making a multiple map scenario into 1 game, I'd combine the truck and half track counts as well.
Others mileage and opinions may differ.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7170
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Sat, 26 July 2014 14:59
I would agree with JP. The maps combine to make one battle, so the Half-Tracks and Supply Trucks add up to help supply the needed medals.

It'll be rare that someone gets 3 of those reinforcements anyway, let alone that they are all 3 eliminated to give a medal, but if it happens they could come from all over the different boards. Smile
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2293
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Sat, 26 July 2014 16:03
Also, in Overlord the different field generals would be combined.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7170
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Sat, 26 July 2014 16:23
sam1812 wrote on Sat, 26 July 2014 07:03

Also, in Overlord the different field generals would be combined.


There you go; that's the most convincing reason of all! Cool
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 678
Registriert:
March 2005
Re:D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Sun, 27 July 2014 08:09
Another One came up the yesterday.
A supply truck has to be placed on a empty controlled town or a shoreline( so no LC....?) But do you have to controll two beaches befor the truck can land?
These two rules seem to contradict each other.

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 27 July 2014 08:10]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7170
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Sun, 27 July 2014 09:13
Antoi wrote on Sat, 26 July 2014 23:09

Another One came up the yesterday.
A supply truck has to be placed on a empty controlled town or a shoreline( so no LC....?) But do you have to controll two beaches befor the truck can land?
These two rules seem to contradict each other.


No contradiction, just two different rules about landing troops. Supply Trucks can only be placed on the shoreline or in controlled Towns; that is their special rule, similar to how Airborne troops enter the board. Normal troops have to be placed on an LC, unless you control beach sections.

The Supply Truck isn't landing on the shoreline because you control it.

I hope this helps. Smile
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1203
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Sun, 27 July 2014 11:55
That how we played it. I managed to convince Anton that it were two different rules, and not contradicting each other.
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1414
Registriert:
October 2006
Re:D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Sun, 27 July 2014 13:26
Antoi wrote on Sun, 27 July 2014 01:09

Another One came up the yesterday.
A supply truck has to be placed on a empty controlled town or a shoreline( so no LC....?) But do you have to controll two beaches befor the truck can land?
These two rules seem to contradict each other.


I missed the paragraph about reinforcements placement on the beach if you control two adjacent beach sections. Thanks guys!
When I played the Sword Beach map, I think I always put the reinforcements in landing craft, but I still won!


      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 678
Registriert:
March 2005
Re:D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Sun, 27 July 2014 13:29
Ok, it just doesnt seems logic, thats all Razz

I put a truck next to an 88 on Omaha beach(so no beach control for allies) so it blocked his line of side.
In reality thats something you won't do.

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 27 July 2014 16:25]

      
--JP
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 289
Registriert:
December 2004
Re:D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Sun, 27 July 2014 16:05
How does LOS enter into Beach Control?
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 678
Registriert:
March 2005
Re:D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Sun, 27 July 2014 16:26
edit my post, I wasn't really clear Laughing
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3099
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Sun, 27 July 2014 20:24
Antoi wrote on Sun, 27 July 2014 07:29

Ok, it just doesnt seems logic, thats all Razz

I put a truck next to an 88 on Omaha beach(so no beach control for allies) so it blocked his line of side.
In reality thats something you won't do.

LOS is not really an issue. The fact that the 88 must battle the truck since it is adjacent is the limiting factor for the gun.
      
--JP
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 289
Registriert:
December 2004
Re:D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Sun, 27 July 2014 20:55
but not for anything related to Beach Control, right?
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 678
Registriert:
March 2005
Re:D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Sun, 27 July 2014 22:36
--JP wrote on Sun, 27 July 2014 20:55

but not for anything related to Beach Control, right?


No that was a poor translation into English from me Embarassed
The problem which is no problem (because of the answer of Rasmussen) was about two rules who seemed to contradict:

Quote:


Rulebook page 5
When the Allies control two adjacent sections of beach (Actions
30 - Beach Control), an Allied reinforcement unit may be placed
on any empty Coastline hex in these sections, instead of on a
Landing Craft.


and:
Quote:


Rulebook page 4
1 Supply Truck figure
(place Truck on empty Coastline hex
or on empty controlled Town hex)


As I read it, you must have beach control before you can land anything on the beach. So you can not place supply trucks before you get two connected beaches since you cannot place them on LC's
But according to Rasmussen and Quit2 you can place Supply trucks on the beach even if the German forces control them.

(ok I admin, I'm not completely confinced, that truck can land if german has beach control Rolling Eyes Very Happy )

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 27 July 2014 22:37]

      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 678
Registriert:
March 2005
Re:D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Sun, 27 July 2014 22:39
stevens wrote on Sun, 27 July 2014 20:24

Antoi wrote on Sun, 27 July 2014 07:29

Ok, it just doesnt seems logic, thats all Razz

I put a truck next to an 88 on Omaha beach(so no beach control for allies) so it blocked his line of side.
In reality thats something you won't do.

LOS is not really an issue. The fact that the 88 must battle the truck since it is adjacent is the limiting factor for the gun.


Indeed Stevens, again a good correction of one of my posts Smile
Due to the close assault my tanks could stay out of harm
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1203
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Sun, 27 July 2014 23:26
Antoi wrote on Sun, 27 July 2014 22:36


Quote:


Rulebook page 5
When the Allies control two adjacent sections of beach (Actions
30 - Beach Control), an Allied reinforcement unit may be placed
on any empty Coastline hex in these sections, instead of on a
Landing Craft.


and:
Quote:


Rulebook page 4
1 Supply Truck figure
(place Truck on empty Coastline hex
or on empty controlled Town hex)


As I read it, you must have beach control before you can land anything on the beach. So you can not place supply trucks before you get two connected beaches since you cannot place them on LC's
But according to Rasmussen and Quit2 you can place Supply trucks on the beach even if the German forces control them.

(ok I admin, I'm not completely confinced, that truck can land if german has beach control Rolling Eyes Very Happy )


Anton, the rules don't say nothing can land on the coastline if you don't control it.
the rules say that units that would normally land on a LC can land on the beach instead if you control 2 adjacent of them. (there is a difference)
However, certain troops land in other places, like paras, resistance, supply trucks, … Those troops MUST land in those particular places. You cannot choose to put paras on a landing craft (they must land on an empty hex adjacent to friendly troops, and a hex with a LC is not empty).

Don't interpret rules. Read them exactly as they are written.

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 27 July 2014 23:27]

      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 678
Registriert:
March 2005
Re:D-day landings halftrack and supply trucks question Mon, 28 July 2014 07:34
Ok Cool
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Several Questions about Supported Units
Nächstes Thema:master historian
Gehen Sie zum Forum: