Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forum

Suche
Forum » Ticket to Ride - the Board Game - English » Rules clarification
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
ainslie
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
September 2005
  Rules clarification Fri, 09 September 2005 02:06
Hi Folks. Look, we just bought TTR and love it. But, as with every game, we've hit a snag. Four players in a game last night. On the map, no player had built trains on the line connecting Vilno to Petrograd. Players A and B in their last turn wanted to deploy a station (player A in Wilno, Player B in Petrograd) and claim a continuation of their lines so they could win the European Express (Players A and B had laid down trains conecting other cities between Moscow and western Europe). Note that no player (neither A, B, C or D) had claimed the Wilno to Petrograd line and actually laid down trains. The four train slots between Wilno and Petrograd were empty.
Players C and D felt that to be eligible to use another players trains to continue your own line (by putting a station in an unoccupied city) there still had to be trains laid down from Wilno to Petrograd by one of the players in the game. Players C and D felt you just can't claim a line by placing a station in an unoccupied city if there are no trains laid between the cities by a player. Players A and B disagreed.
Under the rule titled 'Building a Station' all players agree that at the end of each of their turns any player can put one station in an unoccupied city, even one to which there are no trains built.
The issue is, at the end of the game when calculating points, must there be a line of trains laid down (by any player) for there to be a valid line between two cities from which players can claim points (either because the trains laid down are their colour, or because they have put a station in either city at the end of the line)? Players C and D feel there do need to be trains. Players A and B disagree. Who is right?

[Aktualisiert am: Fri, 09 September 2005 02:06]

      
thekid
Senior Member
T2R European Map Championship 2010 Winner

Nachrichten: 1076
Registriert:
December 2004
Re:Rules clarification Fri, 09 September 2005 02:52
The people who play the U.S. map are right. Smile
      
travisjhall
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 358
Registriert:
November 2004
Re:Rules clarification Fri, 09 September 2005 03:04
Players C and D are correct, as far as their position goes. A station will only let you use a connection that has been built by another player. It will not allow you to use an empty section of track.

However, you have all made an error in another respect. Stations do not help for the purpose for winning the European Express. A connection claimed using a station only counts for purposes of completing destination tickets.
      
euklid
Member

Nachrichten: 35
Registriert:
September 2005
Re:Rules clarification Fri, 09 September 2005 03:12
Players C and D are right. With a station in a city you can only claim ONE SINGLE line that emanates from this city and this line HAS TO belong to an opponent, it might not be an empty line. This is clearly stated in the rules.

Two more details which you might have got wrong, according to your description:

You cannot simply place a station at the end of your turn, but placing a station is a complete turn in itself. So you can either
*) draw cards
*) draw tickets
*) use one line
*) build one station
Of course you have to pay for building a station, as well as for using a line.

Furthermore a station does not help you at all at getting the European Express card since you can use your opponents line (through a station) ONLY for fulfilling tickets, but the opponents line does NOT count for your longest continuous line (European Express card).

Hope I could help,
euklid

P.S.: Since I am german spoken, I do not know the exact technical terms of this game in english, as used in the rule book.

P.P.S.: Are there any very strong players (Top 50 or at least Top 100) playing mostly TTR Europe? I would like to play with them. Smile
      
travisjhall
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 358
Registriert:
November 2004
Re:Rules clarification Fri, 09 September 2005 04:47
euklid wrote on Fri, 09 September 2005 11:12

You cannot simply place a station at the end of your turn, but placing a station is a complete turn in itself. So you can either
*) draw cards
*) draw tickets
*) use one line
*) build one station

Good point. I missed that in ainslie's post. Euklid is quite correct.
      
ainslie
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
September 2005
Re:Rules clarification Fri, 09 September 2005 06:10
Hi Folks,

Thanks so much for the replies. I now know the rule vis a vis placing stations and trains. But more importantly, we have been playing the game wrong: each player in turn has taken two train car cards, then claimed a route, then drawn destination tickets, then had the opportunity to place a station before the next player had their turn. So all the dynamics of play to date have been wrong for us. Nevertheless, we've had fun. But from tonight we'll play the game as the rules are written. All the best to those of you who took the time to reply. Cheers.
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:strategie against blocking ?
Nächstes Thema:startegie aganst blocking ???
Gehen Sie zum Forum: