Forum

Suche
Forum » BattleLore - English » attack a target in the woods
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Boogy
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 5
Registriert:
June 2007
attack a target in the woods Tue, 12 June 2007 21:49
Is it possible to make long range attack with archers if a target is in the wood but there are no other obstacles?

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 12 June 2007 23:34] vom Moderator

      
DarkPadawan
Senior Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 599
Registriert:
November 2006
Re:atack a target in the woods Tue, 12 June 2007 22:02
Determination of LOS is not influenced by the source and target hexes.

So yes, you may fire a volley of arrows at an enemy in a wood hex, if there is nothing else between.

Dark.
      
GunterVS
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 7
Registriert:
May 2007
Re:attack a target in the woods Fri, 15 June 2007 08:11
Really? I though the forests blocked the line of sight so archers in the woods can't attack ranged and target in the woods can't be attacked ranged.
And what about hills? Can your archers attack when they are on the hill shooting down? And what about shooting up?
I think DoW leaves room for discussion here, 'cause I don't think it is specified in the rule book. It only says these landscapes block line of sight.
      
Wilmov
Member

Nachrichten: 91
Registriert:
April 2007
Re:attack a target in the woods Fri, 15 June 2007 11:43
Our group played all the games not being able to shoot at targets in woods or on hills too!
I looked it up and indeed there is a (small) line in the rulebook that says the target terrain doesn't influence LOS.
This will make things interesting, but it doesn't make sense to me.
But we'll follow the rules.
      
DarkPadawan
Senior Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 599
Registriert:
November 2006
Re:attack a target in the woods Fri, 15 June 2007 13:18
First of all, please check the following examples from the official scenarios, its all about LOS and elevated terrain:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/battlelore/de/battlelore_editor/ view/?id=1064&returnto=app&game=

This should clarify many open questions.

Firing out of a wood hex is ok for me, just consider the units standing at the edge of the woods, or just behind the first tree- line. This is accounted for in the "2d in /2d out" restriction for battle.

So bring your green archers into the woods and they can fire into the open or into another wood hex without penalty (2d), while being protected from the big hitters like red cavalry or infantry.

Dark.
      
GunterVS
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 7
Registriert:
May 2007
Re:attack a target in the woods Fri, 15 June 2007 13:56
Wilmov, can you give the page where it says that target terrain doesn't influence line of sight? It makes more sense to me that attacker's terrain doesn't influence line of sight.
Thx Padawan, this answers a few of my questions but only those that have to do with LoS and hills. What about forests?

Edit: Wilmov, no need, it's on page 21 italic left on top in left column, but it just doesn't make sence. It should be source hex. But then it's impossible to flee in the woods?

[Aktualisiert am: Fri, 15 June 2007 14:04]

      
sdafilli
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 206
Registriert:
April 2007
Re:attack a target in the woods Fri, 15 June 2007 14:10
Rulebook (and summary cards)specifies, thats units can fire into and out of, forests, without blocking LOS. Forests block LOS only if you are attacking a unit BEHIND the forest
      
mvettemagred
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 266
Registriert:
August 2005
Re:attack a target in the woods Fri, 15 June 2007 14:56
Consider the first forest hex as the partially lit, sparsely wooded edge of the forest. You can still see the enemy and target them, but you can't hit them with anything greater than a 2-dice attack, due to the constraining nature/partial cover of the trees.

Trying to look through this first hex into a second or subsequent forest hex is like trying to see something that's fled deep into the gloom of the woods. They've passed beyond the partially lit edge of the woods, and are now too deep to target.

Hopefully this helps visualize why you can target a unit in a forest hex, so long as there isn't another forest hex between you and the target hex.
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:move and atack phases
Nächstes Thema:The sounds of music (part 2)
Gehen Sie zum Forum: