Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Snipers moving onto Barbwire
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3070
Registriert:
February 2007
Snipers moving onto Barbwire Mon, 27 October 2008 13:44
Hey folks,
I'm certain this has been covered before, but thought it would be better to be redundant than ignorant. A sniper can usually move two and battle on terrain that limits battle (i.e. forests, towns). So I was wondering what happens when he moves onto wire. Normally an infantry that could battle has the choice of battling out at -1 die or removing wire. But can the sniper even battle at all since -1 from 1 equals zero or does he have the ability to ignore the wire battle restriction? Your thoughts are appreciated.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2278
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:Snipers moving onto Barbwire Mon, 27 October 2008 13:58
The rule book says, "A sniper's battle dice are not reduced when targeting an enemy unit in terrain." It doesn't say anything about a similar exception for being in wire, so while it may seem logical, it would seem to take a "ruling from above" to state that.

I haven't searched on the subject to see whether there has been one.

The Sniper Troop Card doesn't say anything about wire, but it also didn't have enough room to say anything about dice not being reduced when targeting a unit in terrain ... or scoring a hit when it rolls a star.
      
gheintze
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 955
Registriert:
August 2004
Re:Snipers moving onto Barbwire Mon, 27 October 2008 14:06
I agree with Sam. It appears that according to the rules, snipers cannot attack out of wire. There is absolutely nothing in the rulebook or the cards to contradict that.

Geoff
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1078
Registriert:
December 2007
Re:Snipers moving onto Barbwire Mon, 27 October 2008 15:45
I would use a house rule to say that snipers could fire from wire. They only have one die for battle and they don't earn a medal if lost. Pushing snipers forward into any kind of cover should be allowed / rewarded.

[Aktualisiert am: Mon, 27 October 2008 15:45]

      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1842
Registriert:
July 2005
Re:Snipers moving onto Barbwire Mon, 27 October 2008 16:50
Yes this came up in our Stalingrad tournament game also. Snipers must observe movement effects of terrain, but ignore combat effects. For simplicity and consistency I'd say 'terrain' in this case should include 'obstacles', and I think should include both the sniper's and target's hex when the sniper is firing - the sniper gets the usual benefits of terrain when being fired at.

Following this idea, snipers must stop on entry to wire hex but may fire at no penalty. The disadvantage is they're effectively a sitting duck for return fire!

I agree though, this one probably needs official clarification and an FAQ entry.

[Aktualisiert am: Mon, 27 October 2008 17:23]

      
gheintze
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 955
Registriert:
August 2004
Re:Snipers moving onto Barbwire Mon, 27 October 2008 17:00
I'll add it onto the list of questions I have for the card compendium update.

Geoff
      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 477
Registriert:
October 2011
Re:Snipers moving onto Barbwire Fri, 23 November 2012 23:55
Faq suplement says

snipers can NOT fire from wire
      
5 star general
Senior Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 211
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Snipers moving onto Barbwire Sat, 24 November 2012 03:41
Question: why would a sniper go into wire? He has no cover, the fact of having a sniper is to fire from a well concealed position, and then move to another position.
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1778
Registriert:
December 2008
Re:Snipers moving onto Barbwire Sat, 24 November 2012 05:03
5 star general wrote on Sat, 24 November 2012 15:41

Question: why would a sniper go into wire? He has no cover, the fact of having a sniper is to fire from a well concealed position, and then move to another position.


In real life a sniper is unlikely to move onto wire.
In M44 a player might be after a shot on a weakened target and - after all - the death of a sniper doesn't effect the medal count.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3070
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Snipers moving onto Barbwire Sat, 24 November 2012 13:31
5 star general wrote on Fri, 23 November 2012 21:41

Question: why would a sniper go into wire? He has no cover, the fact of having a sniper is to fire from a well concealed position, and then move to another position.


If I have TFH and the game will end if I attack a single figure unit on a hill 6 hexes away, I might consider moving my sniper into a wire hex 5 hexes away from the single figure unit. The extra die I receive from TFH will enable me to take a single shot at that infantry and with a 4/6 possibility end the game with a victory. I would probably do it.
      
5 star general
Senior Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 211
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Snipers moving onto Barbwire Sun, 25 November 2012 03:00
Thanks guys, I would do the same thing to get that final metal.
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:How long to play an Overlord?
Nächstes Thema:Artillery Bombard rules question
Gehen Sie zum Forum: