Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forum

Suche
Forum » Shadows over Camelot - English » Strange Ending. Who wins?
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
player611696
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
February 2010
  Strange Ending. Who wins? Sat, 13 February 2010 21:24
Me and my friends played a game, it turned out there was no traitor involved. By the end of the game there were 6 black swords and 6 white swords on the table. Every quest was filled up to the maximum black cards/pics and saxons/seiges (meaning 1 more of anything would end the quests with a black sword or fill up the seiges... So as my evil phase (me being the last person left alive with only 1hp) cannot draw a black card without losing the game, and I cannot place a seige engine.
I only needed to place 1 more card to complete the quest I was on. So I took my last hit point, leaving me with the ability to do one last good action. I placed my card, and won the game for all of us. The only problem is we were all dead? What happens? Technically, we did win before we lost. Also, In my mind It'd be like winning a war for the sake of good would still be winning a war even if all the heroes were to have died. Opinions would be helpful.

Thanks in advance =]
      
travisjhall
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 358
Registriert:
November 2004
Re:Strange Ending. Who wins? Sun, 14 February 2010 00:06
player611696 wrote on Sun, 14 February 2010 06:24

Me and my friends played a game, it turned out there was no traitor involved. By the end of the game there were 6 black swords and 6 white swords on the table.

And at that point you have lost. The game ends when you have 12 swords on the Round Table. Everything else you write is irrelevant.

However, you are the second person in recent times who has presented some apparently complex situation that has started with a position that should immediately end the game, and when I said that the other guy had lost before going any further, he changed his story and said that the initial position that he gave was incorrect, so just in case you've done the same thing.

Quote:

So I took my last hit point, leaving me with the ability to do one last good action.

No, it doesn't. From your description, it seems you lost your life in the Progression of Evil phase. If you die in the Progression of Evil phase, your turn ends there and you don't get to do a Heroic Action.

Giving your last life to take one final Heroic Action can be done by paying a life for a second Heroic Action in your turn. If you die then, you still get to take the action. However, the action you take cannot be the same action as the one you have already taken, which means you can't do two quest actions in the one turn (even on different quests).

Even if you give your last life to take a Heroic Action, you still can't win the game that way, because the game end conditions are checked in the order they are listed. If all the knights are dead, the game immediately ends in a loss, no matter what swords are on the Round Table. This is confirmed by the FAQ.

So, in summary, you lost at least twice over.

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 14 February 2010 01:20]

      
AK_Aramis
Senior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 399
Registriert:
January 2006
Re:Strange Ending. Who wins? Sun, 14 February 2010 04:02
Travis:

He never should have gotten to progression of evil. 12 swords were upon the table. Game over AT THAT POINT.
      
player611696
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
February 2010
Re:Strange Ending. Who wins? Sun, 14 February 2010 04:17
Thank you! both of you! I suppose we've been playing wrong the entire time, we've always played to 13. I beleive... but yeah I've informed my friends, thanks again!
      
travisjhall
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 358
Registriert:
November 2004
Re:Strange Ending. Who wins? Sun, 14 February 2010 07:37
AK_Aramis wrote on Sun, 14 February 2010 13:02

Travis:

He never should have gotten to progression of evil. 12 swords were upon the table. Game over AT THAT POINT.

Yes, that's right. Did you read the very first thing I wrote?
      
AK_Aramis
Senior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 399
Registriert:
January 2006
Re:Strange Ending. Who wins? Sun, 21 February 2010 03:38
travisjhall wrote on Sat, 13 February 2010 21:37

AK_Aramis wrote on Sun, 14 February 2010 13:02

Travis:

He never should have gotten to progression of evil. 12 swords were upon the table. Game over AT THAT POINT.

Yes, that's right. Did you read the very first thing I wrote?

Yes; you then proceeded to occlude the issue with irrelevant (to his situation) analysis implying otherwise.
      
travisjhall
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 358
Registriert:
November 2004
Re:Strange Ending. Who wins? Sun, 21 February 2010 05:19
AK_Aramis wrote on Sun, 21 February 2010 12:38

Yes; you then proceeded to occlude the issue with irrelevant (to his situation) analysis implying otherwise.

So it's the second thing I wrote that you didn't read? You know, where I stated that what came after was relevant only if the original poster had described the situation erroneously? Hard to get the implication you see out of that.

Anyway, it is best to help people understand all the rules. If I just pointed out the error that was made, the questioner would have no indication that he had done anything else wrong. He'd correctly end the game when 12 swords were on the Round Table, but would still make a mistake the next time a knight loses his last life during Progression of Evil, and yet another mistake when a knight loses his last life while putting the twelfth sword on the Round Table. I'm trying to be helpful, not merely answer the question.
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Questions
Nächstes Thema:Merlin's Company experiences?
Gehen Sie zum Forum: