Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Small World - English » A question about the barbarians
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Senseless
Member

Nachrichten: 43
Registriert:
February 2008
A question about the barbarians Thu, 14 October 2010 19:07
Can I conquer a region using more barbarian tokens than strictly necessary? Ie, use 3 tokens to conquer an empty region so they have better defense.
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3194
Registriert:
October 2002
Re:A question about the barbarians Thu, 14 October 2010 21:17
No, you cannot.
      
reverendvader
Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 94
Registriert:
November 2005
Re:A question about the barbarians Sun, 17 October 2010 05:47
But remember that at the end of your turn you can redeploy all your troops and beef up your defenses where ever you want to.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7070
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:A question about the barbarians Sun, 17 October 2010 07:33
reverendvader wrote on Sat, 16 October 2010 20:47

But remember that at the end of your turn you can redeploy all your troops and beef up your defenses where ever you want to.


Are you sure you can do that with the Barbarian Race? Rolling Eyes Check the new rules for Barbarians, because a normal race could do this but the Barbarians are stuck the way they end the turn.

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 17 October 2010 09:20]

      
reverendvader
Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 94
Registriert:
November 2005
Re:A question about the barbarians Wed, 20 October 2010 19:35
Oops. You are correct!

I assumed (incorrectly) that the original question was regarding a power we already have access to...

My bad. Razz
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7070
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:A question about the barbarians Thu, 21 October 2010 05:10
reverendvader wrote on Wed, 20 October 2010 10:35

Oops. You are correct!

I assumed (incorrectly) that the original question was regarding a power we already have access to...

My bad. Razz


No worries! Cool
      
Booly
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
July 2010
Re:A question about the barbarians Thu, 03 February 2011 23:05
So do I understand Barbarian race correctly?

You place them down and then....Can NEVER redeploy them? It is a one time deal?

Why on Earth would anyone choose that race?

I don't see the strategy in ever using that race unless it was turn 10 and even then...Any of the races would be just as good at that task on the last turn.

My friend said that the rule is you can redeploy them but you have to pick them all up when doing so and cannot leave one tile behind. Are they right? Hopefully so.

That is the only race that had me scratching my head.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 03 February 2011 23:19]

      
DannyMack
Senior Member
KS Backer - Triton

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 155
Registriert:
June 2010
Re:A question about the barbarians Fri, 04 February 2011 00:09
Not to get in Eric's way here, but I think I have the answer to this...but I also have a question of my own.

Normally races can pick up the extra tokens at the end of their own turn, to be shifted around within regions they already own (from previous/current conquests) for the purpose of defense. This is called "Redeployment." It occurs at the same time as placing/moving any defensive tiles (such as the Heroes or the Encampments, etc.) and just before scoring.

So, application...The Barbarians may conquer, but may NEVER shift their extra RTs for defense. They may move defensive tiles if they have them, but not their RTs. (Exception: the Barbarian Leader token may be ransomed and used at any time during the game, so if you still have your leader held hostage by another player, this would be a good time to ransom him/her.)

On their next turn the Barbarians may gather (or "muster" as we call it) ANY of their RTs for use in conquering on that turn. When any race removes all their RTs from any region at the beginning of their turn this is called "Abandoning."

So, Barbarians must make optimal use of (1) defensive tiles, (2) mustering, and (3) abandoning to achieve a defensible position by the end of their turn. Unfortunately this doesn't always leave Barbarians a lot of RTs to conquer with at the beginning of their turn, because they may leave some regions "as is" (not mustering any RTs from certain regions during the conquering phase of their turn) thereby diminishing the Barbarians' offensive ability after their 1st turn.

As to why you would want to play them? Well, IMO, they're a nice challenge if you are a journeyman Smallworld player. Also (as with all other races) with the right special power combo, and some good planning ahead you can really do well with them--they do post quite a few RTs after all!

- - - - - - - - - -
All that said, I do have a question of my own. Maybe I'm just reading into the rules here, but is it right to say that Barbarians cannot redeploy their troops at the end of anyone's turn? Or just their own? I'm thinking of those scenarios when a Barbarian region with 2+ RTs is conquered on another player's turn--do the extra RTs come back to the board at the end of the turn along with everyone else's? Or does the Barbarian player have to keep them "in-hand" until the start of his own turn?
My reading of the rules sheet says "each turn" so I interpreted that as "anyone's turn."
      
Booly
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
July 2010
Re:A question about the barbarians Fri, 04 February 2011 02:00
Wow I appreciate that answer...Course now I feel stupid since I NEVER played the game that way and feel dumb for not knowing that before the score you could shift your tiles. I always thought redeployment meant picking up all your extra tiles at the beginning of the next turn and conquering new lands before scoring on the next turn.

I had no clue you could conquer then collect and evenly put out the tiles to defend....Even though I look stupid...I'm glad I posted cause now I can't wait for the next game night!!!

Thank You sir
      
DannyMack
Senior Member
KS Backer - Triton

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 155
Registriert:
June 2010
Re:A question about the barbarians Sat, 05 February 2011 00:44
You're not stupid.
You just missed something somewhere...that's why we are all here on the forums asking questions.
Besides, Grateful beats Stupid any day of the week. You're good.
Cheers,
DannyMack

P.S.> If you think you will have trouble convincing your fellow-gamers that you've been playing it a bit wrong, maybe you should print out this cheat sheet:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/filepage/63442/smallworld-cheat -sheets-x3
People tend to believe it more easily when they see it in print, plus this will be a handy reference for anybody you're introducing to the game.

[Aktualisiert am: Sat, 05 February 2011 01:05]

      
panamafever
Junior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 18
Registriert:
February 2011
Re:A question about the barbarians Thu, 17 February 2011 08:35
DannyMack wrote on Thu, 03 February 2011 18:09

Unfortunately this doesn't always leave Barbarians a lot of RTs to conquer with at the beginning of their turn, because they may leave some regions "as is" (not mustering any RTs from certain regions during the conquering phase of their turn) thereby diminishing the Barbarians' offensive ability after their 1st turn.



I'm not sure I understand. Barbarians can perform the typical muster of taking into hand all but one token from each region at the beginning of their turn--so how is offensive capability after the first turn diminished by the barbarian limitation? Unless you're referring to Marauding Barbarians....?
      
DannyMack
Senior Member
KS Backer - Triton

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 155
Registriert:
June 2010
Re:A question about the barbarians Tue, 22 February 2011 22:33
Yes, they can perform the muster at the beginning of their turn. But knowing they will be unable to shift defensive tokens back into place at the end of their turn, often it may be better (defensively) to NOT muster from certain regions (which will remain on the Barbarians' "front" in the following turn.) Consequently, each token they decide to leave in place diminishes their offensive capacity.

Anybody got an idea/answer on my previous question?
Quote:

Is it right to say that Barbarians cannot redeploy their troops at the end of anyone's turn? Or just their own? I'm thinking of those scenarios when a Barbarian region with 2+ RTs is conquered on another player's turn--do the extra RTs come back to the board at the end of the turn along with everyone else's? Or does the Barbarian player have to keep them "in-hand" until the start of his own turn?
My reading of the rules sheet says "each turn" so I interpreted that as "anyone's turn."

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 22 February 2011 22:46]

      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3194
Registriert:
October 2002
Re:A question about the barbarians Wed, 23 February 2011 07:39
Each turn means "each of your turns". The barbarians' limitation on redeployment does not apply to troops redeploying as a result of their regions being conquered by another player during that player's turn.
      
DannyMack
Senior Member
KS Backer - Triton

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 155
Registriert:
June 2010
Re:A question about the barbarians Wed, 23 February 2011 17:42
This will change the way many of us have been playing the Barbarians, but I can get over it. I'm just glad to know for sure what to do.
Thanks again, Eric.
This same question has been getting a lot of debate over on the Geek, so I have just posted a link over there to your answer here. Hopefully that will help everybody out.

So the Barbarians are more powerful than I thought...Danny likes!
      
philippos42
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 16
Registriert:
January 2014
Re:A question about the barbarians Sun, 16 February 2014 22:54
Thanks for the clarification. I was playing them as never redeploying on any turn.

What about Barbarians in the river (Small World Underground)?

Do they clear out and go to your hand, or stay in the river? If they stay in, can they score for the river like Kraken?
      
Dan42hitchikers
Member

Nachrichten: 87
Registriert:
August 2012
Re:A question about the barbarians Sun, 16 February 2014 23:32
See my very long answer on your original post
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 269
Registriert:
January 2013
Re:A question about the barbarians Sun, 16 February 2014 23:36
DannyMack wrote on Wed, 23 February 2011 17:42

This will change the way many of us have been playing the Barbarians, but I can get over it. I'm just glad to know for sure what to do.
Thanks again, Eric.
This same question has been getting a lot of debate over on the Geek, so I have just posted a link over there to your answer here. Hopefully that will help everybody out.

So the Barbarians are more powerful than I thought...Danny likes!


Only Kraken can stay in a river, there is no way a Barbarian can do the same. And as Barbarians can't redeploy, you lose as many Barbarians for defence as river regions you conquered.
      
    
Nächstes Thema:Be Not Afraid Expansion in October
Gehen Sie zum Forum: