Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Small World - English » Conquering a region
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
player692538
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 5
Registriert:
January 2011
Conquering a region Mon, 30 May 2011 03:07
Must I use the exact number of my race tokens to conquer a region or could I "overkill"? If, for example, a region required 3 of my tokens to conquer, could I place 4 or more there?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7102
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Conquering a region Mon, 30 May 2011 04:00
player692538 wrote on Mon, 30 May 2011 05:07

Must I use the exact number of my race tokens to conquer a region or could I "overkill"? If, for example, a region required 3 of my tokens to conquer, could I place 4 or more there?


You must use the exact number to conquer. Cool

Out of curiosity, why would you want to use extra tokens? You can redeploy them at the end of your turn anyway.
      
player692538
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 5
Registriert:
January 2011
Re:Conquering a region Mon, 30 May 2011 15:48
Barbarians do not redeploy.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7102
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Conquering a region Mon, 30 May 2011 16:09
player692538 wrote on Mon, 30 May 2011 17:48

Barbarians do not redeploy.


Ah, yes, I forgot about them. You can only conquer with the minimum required number of tokens... Confused
      
*player811156
Junior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 5
Registriert:
September 2011
Re:Conquering a region Thu, 22 September 2011 03:09
rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 29 May 2011 19:00

player692538 wrote on Mon, 30 May 2011 05:07

Must I use the exact number of my race tokens to conquer a region or could I "overkill"? If, for example, a region required 3 of my tokens to conquer, could I place 4 or more there?


You must use the exact number to conquer. Cool

Out of curiosity, why would you want to use extra tokens? You can redeploy them at the end of your turn anyway.


My understanding of the rules is you cannot place tokens from your hand onto the board in redeploy, only shift around the tokens on the board at the end of your turn, so a failed attack with 1 token depending on a die roll for reinforcements, means that token stays in your hand.

It's part of the strategy.

So overkill would be a way to ensure all your tokens are on the board for maximum defense... but in my group we don't play that way.
      
Brf123
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 18
Registriert:
August 2011
Re:Conquering a region Thu, 22 September 2011 20:42
[quote title=Dearmad wrote on Wed, 21 September 2011 20:09]
rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 29 May 2011 19:00

so a failed attack with 1 token depending on a die roll for reinforcements, means that token stays in your hand.


Actually, the rules specifically state that that token would be deployed to a region you already control.

Under "Final Conquest Attempt/Reinforcement Die Roll":

If the sum of the die rolled, combined with the Race token(s)
left in his possession, is high enough to conquer the Region, the
player deploys his remaining Race token(s) there. Otherwise, he
deploys his remaining token(s) in one of the Regions he already
occupied prior.
      
*player38092
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 771
Registriert:
November 2004
Re:Conquering a region Tue, 27 September 2011 11:54
Brf123 écrit le Thu, 22 September 2011 20:42

Actually, the rules specifically state that that token would be deployed to a region you already control.
But Barbarians don't redeploy, so I would not allow that in their specific case.
      
Cenarius
Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 43
Registriert:
January 2011
Re:Conquering a region Tue, 27 September 2011 20:26
I think in the rules there is even a paragraph, which says, that barbarians must not redeploy if their last attack fails. But I don't have the rules with me and don't know it for sure.
      
Brf123
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 18
Registriert:
August 2011
Re:Conquering a region Tue, 27 September 2011 23:29
Cenarius wrote on Tue, 27 September 2011 13:26

I don't have the rules with me and don't know it for sure.

http://cdn1.daysofwonder.com/smallworld/en/img/sw_bna_en.pdf

Yes. The rules specifically say if the final conquest fails, the unused Barbarians are left off the board.


[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 27 September 2011 23:29]

      
draziL
Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 47
Registriert:
July 2012
Re:Conquering a region Mon, 13 August 2012 07:01
Quote:

Ah, yes, I forgot about them. You can only conquer with the minimum required number of tokens...



Dear rasmussen81

Sorry for posting the same question again. I would like to know if this is an officially confirmed rule. If possible, please clarify what is oficially allowed in the following scenario:

I have 10 Wizards and this is my first conquest. I would like to enter an empty swamp area, which means that I only need 2 tokens. Which of the following is allowed based on the offcial rules:
1. Conquer the swamp area using all 10 tokens.
2. Conquer the swamp area using 2 tokens. Stop conquering and redeploy the remaining 8 tokens in the swamp.
3. Conquer the swamp area using two tokens. The remaining 8 tokens stay in my hand until my next turn.

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7102
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Conquering a region Mon, 13 August 2012 08:17
draziL wrote on Mon, 13 August 2012 09:01

Quote:

Ah, yes, I forgot about them. You can only conquer with the minimum required number of tokens...



Dear rasmussen81

Sorry for posting the same question again. I would like to know if this is an officially confirmed rule. If possible, please clarify what is oficially allowed in the following scenario:

I have 10 Wizards and this is my first conquest. I would like to enter an empty swamp area, which means that I only need 2 tokens. Which of the following is allowed based on the offcial rules:
1. Conquer the swamp area using all 10 tokens.
2. Conquer the swamp area using 2 tokens. Stop conquering and redeploy the remaining 8 tokens in the swamp.
3. Conquer the swamp area using two tokens. The remaining 8 tokens stay in my hand until my next turn.




No problem...check this thread:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=24891&start=0
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:World Record with Small World!!
Nächstes Thema:Balance
Gehen Sie zum Forum: