Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Small World - English » Official Small World Underground FAQ
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
*player38092
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 771
Registriert:
November 2004
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sun, 02 October 2011 22:14
JoeLastname écrit le Sun, 02 October 2011 21:44

Immortal Iron Dwarves appeared on turn 3 of our game, had all hammers by turn 6. The player in question kept them until the end, proceeded to be unable to score more than 10 points on any turn, and came in third place.
If facing competent players, Iron Dwarves are not guaranteed to win at all.
Your example underlines the fact.
I personally don't approve of home rules to weaken them.
Better learn how to resist powerfull races rather than compensate the lack of competent tactics with "balancing" house rules.
It seems your example of play shows that good tactics are better than any tweaking of the rule - and, of course, luck does have its place (not only with the last conquest die roll, but also with the type of combos available).
      
Deio
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 178
Registriert:
January 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 03 October 2011 08:59
JoeLastname écrit le Sun, 02 October 2011 20:42

Does the Shiny Orb cause immortal tokens it is used on to be discarded in the same manner as the Vampire power?

Yes it does! ^^
      
player650695
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
August 2010
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Fri, 14 October 2011 12:39
Can I use Shiny Orb once per turn per opponent or just once per turn?

      
Deio
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 178
Registriert:
January 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Fri, 14 October 2011 14:13
Each Relic can only be used once per turn! So you can only convert one enemy token per turn with the Shiny Orb, no matter how many opponents you have.
      
elcoderdude
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 4
Registriert:
January 2008
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 31 October 2011 01:33
Does the Keep protect against Flames linked to a Volcano?

This question was asked on this thread, and someone replied Yes, it does. I would like an official reply, because my guess would be No it doesn't. I take "as if [the region] were empty" to mean empty of the Keep as well.

[Edit] This is answered in the FAQ. The answer is Yes. Flames need three tokens to conquer a (non-mountain) region containing the Keep, even if connected to their volcano.

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 02 November 2011 01:20]

      
elcoderdude
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 4
Registriert:
January 2008
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 31 October 2011 01:38
Once Spiderines have crawled out of different chasms and deployed, do they still earn a Flocking bonus (if their special power is Flocking)? Once Spiderines have crawled out of different chasms and deployed, do they still earn a Quarrelling bonus (if their special power is Quarrelling)?

We play that both answers are Yes. That doesn't seem right. The same question goes for regions connected by the Brass Pipe.

I would argue Yes for Quarrelling and No for Flocking.

[Edit] The Brass Pipe/Quarrelling question is answered in the FAQ. The answer is Yes, you can use Brass Pipes to gain a Quarrelling bonus.

The Spiderines/Flocking question is answered in the Rules. The answer is Yes, Spiderines occupying regions adjacent to different chasms do earn the Flocking bonus.

The description of the Quarrelling power in the rules is written in such a way that it seems the Spiderines can also earn the Quarreling bonus when occupying regions adjacent to different chasms.

So the remaining question is: if I deploy around the board using the Brass Pipe, can I earn the Flocking bonus? The answer would appear to be Yes, as the single region for Flocking purposes is a set of adjacent regions, and the Brass Pipe makes all regions of a given terrain type adjacent.

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 02 November 2011 01:40]

      
elcoderdude
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 4
Registriert:
January 2008
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 31 October 2011 01:41
Does the Scepter of Avarice double the coins received from a region if the race occupying the region is in decline? Similarly, can Froggy's Ring be used to steal from bordering races if the race occupying the region with Froggy's Ring is in decline?

I am guessing the answer is No on both counts, because Popular Places only work in decline if such an aspect is specified, and the rules do not specify that the Scepter and the Ring work in decline.

[Edit] This is clear in the rules. Unless specified otherwise, "Relics cannot be used by Races that are In Decline."

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 02 November 2011 01:41]

      
iNano78
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
January 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Tue, 01 November 2011 19:12
The following situation came up in our last game: A Tomb race (Tomb Gnomes, in this case) obtained the Fountain of Youth, and later went into decline. Does this in-decline Tomb race continue to benefit from the Fountain? I guess the same situation could come up for Ghouls.

The "Fountain of Youth" rules don't specify whether or not it applies to "in decline" races, but it seems obvious that it wouldn't work with non-Tomb, non-Ghoul races. Since lost in-decline Tomb tokens are redistributed (as with Ghoul tokens), it leads me to think that the fountain continues to work.

*edit*
Answer found: "Popular Places' powers cannot be used by Races that are In Decline"

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 01 November 2011 19:14]

      
elcoderdude
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 4
Registriert:
January 2008
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sat, 12 November 2011 03:46
player791677 wrote on Mon, 08 August 2011 15:41



Do Will-o'-wisps get a final conquest attempt after they used their ability but were not able to conquer the region?




Two-edge answered this question with Yes. My group today insisted the answer is No. Could we have an official ruling on this please?
      
grig
Junior Member
Cadet

Nachrichten: 5
Registriert:
April 2011
Relics Combo Sun, 04 December 2011 12:58
Can I use the Stinky Troll's Socks to conquer an occupied region as if it were empty and then use the Sword of the Killer Rabbit for the same region (let's say it's a mountain) to conquer it with a single race token?
      
Deio
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 178
Registriert:
January 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 05 December 2011 12:12
I would say yes: I think it is possible to use multiple relics in a single region.
      
grig
Junior Member
Cadet

Nachrichten: 5
Registriert:
April 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 05 December 2011 18:39
Thought so. Thank you! :b
      
*player230787
Junior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
April 2006
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Thu, 15 December 2011 04:57
I've been wondering if I should allow people to enter adjacent to chasms that are themselves on the edge of the board when starting a new race. I can see saying "no" since the regions you'd conquer are not themselves on the edge of the board. But I could also see the argument that the chasms extends the effective edge of the board.

For the meanwhile, we've been playing with "no." But I wondered if what everyone else has thought.
      
*player38092
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 771
Registriert:
November 2004
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Thu, 15 December 2011 08:23
Chasms are regions and don't extend the board edge.
The fact that they are impassable to most of the races does not make them "void".
      
PhRaCtaL
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
December 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Fri, 30 December 2011 02:27
Quote:

Iron Dwarves
Q. Is it possible to conquer a region with nothing but Silver Hammers?
A. Yes, but as you will be forced to remove them at turn's end, the region will be lost (unless you redeploy an Iron Dwarf in that region).



I agree with BStout, in that I think this ruling is wrong.

First, I also agree that one could argue FOR the requirement of having at least one Dwarf token for each conquest given his comparison of the wording in the rules for Iron Dwarves versus the Amazons

Quote:

Amazons
... At the end of each of
your Troop Redeployments (see Troop Redeployment, p. 5), remove four tokens from the map, making sure to leave at least one Amazon token in each of your Regions if possible, and only take these four tokens back in hand to redeploy on the map once you Ready your Troops (see Ready your Troops, p. 6) at the start of your next turn.

Quote:

Iron Dwarves & their Silver Hammers
... At the end of the Troop Redeployments (see Troop Redeployments, p. 7) of each of your turns, remove all the Silver Hammers from the map, making sure to leave at least one Iron Dwarf token in each Region. Take your Silver Hammers back in hand and place them off the board, in front of you, where they will wait until the start of your next Conquest phase.


User Deio pointed out that apparently in the French version of the game, the words "if possible" are present, and mistakenly left out of the English version. I would suggest that the wording was mistakenly put INTO the French version (can we confirm in other languages?)

However, I think the final agrument for this ruling being wrong can be found in the rulebook itself:

Quote:

2. Conquering Regions

Important Note: Regardless of a Race and/or Special Power benefit, a player must always have at least one Race token available to initiate a new Conquest.


...the rulebook clearly states that at least one Race token must be available to initiate a conquest. I suppose one could argue that as long as the player HAD one token in hand, they need not deploy it for EVERY conquest (only the last one I guess). But I think that it's a stretch to suggest that, and a clear semantic argument.

There seems to be enough discussion in the forum regarding the Iron Dwarves being potentially over-powered...and yet we seem to be bending the rules already in place in order to make them even more powerful.

Honestly, I was surprised to even SEE this ruling in the FAQ. The first time I played with the ID, the use of the Racial Power seemed clear. It's only after reading the FAQ that I have additional questions.
      
ludd_gang
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 11
Registriert:
December 2010
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Fri, 30 December 2011 03:12
So sheilds don't ever go away? So if I hold the same 2 mushroom forests for 3 turns, I have 6 of them?

Thanks!
      
Enchained
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
December 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Fri, 30 December 2011 20:13
Wise - At the end of any turn your Wise tokens are In Decline (including the turn you send them in Decline), if they still occupy at least 1 region on the board, score 2 Victory coins.

My question is, Wise tokens I suppose you mean the monster tokens, and if that´s correct that means at the end of my turn they go into "Decline Position" and I win 2 VC´s for each region occupied by them, however if someone wants to conquer my region it counts has one token only since they are in "Decline Position" and even if i had 4 tokens there when they turn to Decline Position only one counts.

Probably I´m making a big mess in my mind, if i am please tell me what i wrong and the real meaning of Wise.
      
Brf123
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 18
Registriert:
August 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Fri, 30 December 2011 21:01
player963152 wrote on Fri, 30 December 2011 13:13

Wise - At the end of any turn your Wise tokens are In Decline (including the turn you send them in Decline), if they still occupy at least 1 region on the board, score 2 Victory coins.



If your race has "Wise" as its special power, that power stays with them when they go into decline. Each turn that in-decline race is still on the board, you would get 2 extra Victory coins.

[Aktualisiert am: Fri, 30 December 2011 21:02]

      
Enchained
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
December 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Fri, 30 December 2011 21:11
Brf123 wrote on Fri, 30 December 2011 20:01

player963152 wrote on Fri, 30 December 2011 13:13

Wise - At the end of any turn your Wise tokens are In Decline (including the turn you send them in Decline), if they still occupy at least 1 region on the board, score 2 Victory coins.



If your race has "Wise" as its special power, that power stays with them when they go into decline. Each turn that in-decline race is still on the board, you would get 2 extra Victory coins.



Thank you like i said, a big confusion was made in my head Very Happy
      
Rune_Wolf
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
January 2012
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Wed, 11 January 2012 06:22
Does Stonehedge's power effect just the space Stonehedge is in, or does it apply to every space occupied by the race occupying Stonehedge (that is, they'd effectively have 2 powers, theirs and Stonehedge's?)

In the particular game we played, Stonehedge had the "Thieving" power, and the question was: can the race in Stonehedge steal a coin from only races occupying a space next to Stonehedge, or from races adjacent to ANY of their spaces?
      
Enchained
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
December 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Wed, 11 January 2012 17:36
I´m still a noob about some of the rules but i play with the 2 powers however the effect only plays to that region. I was thinking of making the same question, so you better hear the answer from someone wiser Very Happy
      
Haren
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
December 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Fri, 13 January 2012 21:16
What happens to elves, when attacked by a skeleton? - Do they still get to flee, and if so would the loss still count towards a +1 skeleton for the skeleton player?

I assume the skeletons are supposed to be raised from the dead units on the battlefield

/ Smile
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7127
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sat, 14 January 2012 05:19
Haren wrote on Sat, 14 January 2012 00:16

What happens to elves, when attacked by a skeleton? - Do they still get to flee, and if so would the loss still count towards a +1 skeleton for the skeleton player?

I assume the skeletons are supposed to be raised from the dead units on the battlefield

/ Smile


The Elves still get their tokens back (they get them back from any attack except for the Sorcerers' Special Powers) but the Skeletons also get +1 token for every two non-empty regions they conquer. The Skeletons are getting tokens for defeating others, not for eliminating them. Don't think of it as converting 'dead' units to Skeletons, just think of it as a special ability they benefit from. Smile

This is a question from the Original Small World game, but this is the thread for the newer Small World Underground game...so future questions about the original game should probably be asked over in that thread. Smile Don't worry, you probably didn't even realize there was a difference! Razz
      
Spieler976549
Junior Member
Oberleutnant

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
January 2012
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Thu, 19 January 2012 00:19
what happens if a tomb race (in decline) is attacked by the (a) balrog or by the (b) stinky troll's socks?
is there a difference to active races?
do they loose (a) 2 tokens and can redeploy the rest?
do they loose (b) no tokens and can redeploy them?

for example, i have 4 tomb mummys (in decline) in a region that is attacked (a) by the balrog or (b) with the stinky troll's socks
can i redeploy (a) 2 or (b) 4 of them after the player´s turn?
      
smajor82
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
March 2012
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Thu, 15 March 2012 20:35
leere Nachricht

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 15 March 2012 20:36]

      
teejan
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
March 2012
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Tue, 27 March 2012 21:41
can the will-o-wisp use the reinforcement die every time they attack from/against a crystal region or simply once per turn?
      
image
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Tue, 27 March 2012 22:33
teejan wrote on Tue, 27 March 2012 15:41

can the will-o-wisp use the reinforcement die every time they attack from/against a crystal region or simply once per turn?


every time
      
alkamo
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
October 2010
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 02 April 2012 22:49
We had a dispute in the last game I played over the intent of the Troll's Stinky Socks relic. One interpretation was that it allowed you to conquer a region as if there were no race tokens, or power-created defensive tokens (i.e. shields), but that it did not counter mountains or immunity tokens (i.e. the Royal's Queen or the tomb raider's ghost). The other interpretation was that "as if the region contained no tokens" meant exactly that and it allowed the user to ignore anything represented by a token.

Which interpretation is correct?

------------------------------------------
Edit:

Okay, re-reading the rulebook, it clearly states that abilities that grant immunity also cover relics (it just doesn't say it where we were looking). That just leaves the question of whether or not Stinky Socks counteract mountains.

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 03 April 2012 22:37]

      
Deio
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 178
Registriert:
January 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Thu, 05 April 2012 14:32
Your first interpretation is perfectly right. The Socks do not counteract mountains.
      
Mellivex
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Wed, 11 April 2012 23:45
Quarreling Spiderines, Flocking Spiderines, and The Great Brass Pipe.

In the first game of Smallworld Underground my group played, Quarreling Spiderines floated to the top of the Race Menu and I eagerly snatched it up because it seemed to be an incredibly powerful combination.

As I had originally interpreted from the Spiderines and Quarreling descriptions, Spiderines may treat all regions adjacent to chasms as neighbors for conquest purposes, whereas Quarreling only cared if the regions were physically separated from each other, regardless of how they're treated during the conquering phase.

At least that's how we interpreted it until Flocking showed up... and then we got really confused. The rulebook specifically states that Spiderines next to chasms are still considered 'penned-in' as one big region so they would get the Flocking bonus.

We had to do a lot of mental math at that point and I had to watch many, many victory coins be sent back to the bin. We guessed that if they DO get the Flocking bonus (since it was officially in the rulebook), then they can't ALSO get the Quarreling bonus.

Ok fine.

But then I found the Official FAQ here and... well... the part about the Great Brass Pipe seems to throw this all for a seriously conflicting loop!

As stated in the FAQ:
Great Brass Pipe

Q. A Quarreling race conquers the Brass Pipe and using the Brass Pipe expands to 3 new separate regions in different locations, which are all of the same territory type as that under the Brass Pipe. Does the race get the Quarreling bonus +4?
A. Yes.

What the what? So Spiderines treat locales adjacent to chasms as one big region (and as per the rulebook get a Flocking bonus)... yet officially in the FAQ the Brass Pipe has a race treat the regions as seperate chunks (and receive a Quarreling bonus)? Since the Brass Pipe essentially bestows upon any race the same power that Spiderines naturally have (although limited to a specific terrain type rather than 'next to chasm') how can these two be treated differently in terms of Quarreling vs Flocking?

So, I guess what I'd appreciate is if the good folks at DoW could lay it out for us plain and simple:

1. How do you score Quarreling Spiderines which have used chasms to conquer regions all over the map?

2. How do you score Flocking Spiderines which have used chasms to conquer regions all over the map?

3. How do you score Quarreling Race XYZ which has used the Great Brass Pipe to conquer regions all over the map?

4. How do you score Flocking Race XYZ which has used the Great Brass Pipe to conquer regions all over the map?

Thanks guys Smile We SERIOUSLY love these games and would appreciate the clarification!
(Also... can't wait for Smallworld Realms Very Happy)
      
*player38092
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 771
Registriert:
November 2004
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 16 April 2012 16:15
The logics that seem to be expressed by the FAQ are that adjacency must be reciprocal to have an effect upon the Quarreling power.
The Great Brass Pipe only works "one way" : from owner to attacked enemy.
I would apply the same logics to the Spiderines : if a region is adjacent to them, but they are not adjacent to the region, they could apply the Quarreling bonus.

The only possible exception would be if the region (adjacent to a chasm) is occupied by an enemy who owns the Great Brass Pipe : adjacency would be established both ways.
      
Taxis
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
October 2010
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Fri, 20 April 2012 18:16
A Berserk race can attack the Gnomes? The Gnomes are invincible to every power that help to conquer a region, so I understand that the Berserk power can't use the dice. But the problem is that the Berserk rules say: "may use the Reinforcement die before
each of your conquests, rather than just the last one of your turn" so... a Berserk race can't attack Gnomes or only need to ignore the dice?

Sorry for my english Sad

[Aktualisiert am: Fri, 20 April 2012 18:17]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7127
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sat, 21 April 2012 17:59
Taxis wrote on Fri, 20 April 2012 20:16

A Berserk race can attack the Gnomes? The Gnomes are invincible to every power that help to conquer a region, so I understand that the Berserk power can't use the dice. But the problem is that the Berserk rules say: "may use the Reinforcement die before
each of your conquests, rather than just the last one of your turn" so... a Berserk race can't attack Gnomes or only need to ignore the dice?

Sorry for my english Sad


Good question. I believe that a Berserk Race wanting to attack the Gnomes would simply not roll the dice since they can't use their Special Power. Notice that it says you 'may' use the die...not 'must' use the die. It's your choice and in this case it would be better for you not to roll.

I hope this makes sense. Smile
      
Taxis
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
October 2010
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Tue, 24 April 2012 23:45
Thanks! So my group and me were playing it right Very Happy
      
mcarnicella
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
April 2012
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Fri, 04 May 2012 15:44
Hello! Thank you for your hard work. We love the game.

My question is concerning the Special Power Martyr.

If the player with Martyr is attacked by the Balrog, do they still receive the bonus token? i.e. is the Balrog considered an opponent?

Thanks again.
      
Deio
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 178
Registriert:
January 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sun, 06 May 2012 09:31
I would consider that the Balrog is not an opponent, so you shouldn't receive any bonus token if attacked by it, in my opinion.
      
*player38092
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 771
Registriert:
November 2004
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sun, 06 May 2012 11:58
Deio écrit le Sun, 06 May 2012 09:31

I would consider that the Balrog is not an opponent, so you shouldn't receive any bonus token if attacked by it, in my opinion.
I would play it that way too.
      
Laslow
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
May 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sun, 06 May 2012 13:32
How many racial liches should there be? 5 or 7?

If you look in the rulebook there is a picture of a 7 but the little cardboard thing has a 5.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7127
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sun, 06 May 2012 14:24
Laslow wrote on Sun, 06 May 2012 15:32

How many racial liches should there be? 5 or 7?

If you look in the rulebook there is a picture of a 7 but the little cardboard thing has a 5.


Interesting...if there is a difference, go with whatever is on the cardboard piece. Cool What page is the difference found on? Smile
      
Laslow
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
May 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sun, 06 May 2012 14:30
Page 11 shows 7 racial liches but on the Race banner there is written only 5.

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 06 May 2012 14:30]

      
Seiten (6): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6  >  » ]     
Vorheriges Thema:Interesting Race Banners/Special Power combos
Nächstes Thema:Fan Creations - Races and Powers
Gehen Sie zum Forum: