Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Small World - English » Official Small World Underground FAQ
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
AernoutMJC
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 23
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Tue, 05 July 2011 21:04
Antoine wrote on Mon, 04 July 2011 10:58

player759311 wrote on Sat, 02 July 2011 10:32

player759311 wrote on Sat, 02 July 2011 10:29

Specifically stated in the rules, this. p.11

"And of course, any race hoping to pass through a river region occupied by kraken must conquer it first."



So yes. 1 token for the river, 1 for the kraken. Mind you, Lizardmen would have to pay 1 and Mummies would have to pay 3.

Lizardmen wouldn't have to pay: they may pass through River regions, whether these are occupied or not. IF they want to conquer the region (to prevent Kraken from scoring more points) they would have to conquer it with 2 tokens though.


Really? Ok, then I'll have to suffer some abuse from friends. But fair enough. Reread the rules, and indeed, this seems the most logical thing to do.
      
Cyan4973
Member

Nachrichten: 32
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Tue, 05 July 2011 22:47
player759311 écrit le Tue, 05 July 2011 21:02


But you can duplicate a relic you already own, right?



Yes, you just cannot apply the relic power on the same territory. You cannot "stack".

Coming back to original question :
Quote:

Bag of Many Things with Sword of Killer Rabbit: Can I use both in the same region reducing the number of needed token by 4?


No, but it's possible to duplicate the sword and use it twice, in 2 different attacks.
      
Thorjin
Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Nachrichten: 43
Registriert:
October 2010
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Wed, 06 July 2011 02:16
Quick pair of relic questions after our first game...

1. Can you use multiple relics in the conquest of a single region? In our case, use the Flying Doormat + Stinky Troll Socks to conquer a non-adjacent region as if it were empty, etc.

2. As far as the Magic powers Bag of Many Things token is concerned, what relics are "in play"? All relics that have been obtained from monsters, or just those that were used the previous turn and are on the board?
      
Zsu-Et-Am
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Wed, 06 July 2011 03:26
Quote:

But you can duplicate a relic you already own, right?

Still "no", as the Bag cannot be used in the same region with the original relic. No problem, though, would they be used separately in different regions.

It doesn't matter who owns the relic, and I don't see anything in the rules that would disallow e.g. using Bag to duplicate the Killer Bunny Sword in order to conquer a region with the original relic, just so you can take the newly acquired Sword and conquer some other region with its help. You just won't ever legally use the Sword and the Bag combined to gain neat 4-token bonus to conquering chosen region.

That is, unless in some future expansion we'll see more special and/or racial powers connected with RR & PP, e.g. new takes on Magic (relic-duplicator?) or Marauding (use any relic in your possesion twice per turn, but each time in a different region?). BTW, I know that it's pretty early for that, but SWU expansion containing new races, powers and relic/places would be really nice, just as an official "randomly generated map variant" with high-quality tiles and "resource-tokens" (Mines, Magic Crystals, Caves, Lost Tribes/Monsters).
Quote:

1. Can you use multiple relics in the conquest of a single region? In our case, use the Flying Doormat + Stinky Troll Socks to conquer a non-adjacent region as if it were empty, etc.

Sure, why not?
Quote:

2. As far as the Magic powers Bag of Many Things token is concerned, what relics are "in play"? All relics that have been obtained from monsters, or just those that were used the previous turn and are on the board?

All revealed (obtained from monsters) relics are considered to be "in play".
      
Cyan4973
Member

Nachrichten: 32
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Wed, 06 July 2011 08:14
Quote:

2. As far as the Magic powers Bag of Many Things token is concerned, what relics are "in play"? All relics that have been obtained from monsters, or just those that were used the previous turn and are on the board?


Mmmh, all relics "discovered" (taken from monsters) are supposed to always be on the board. They are never ever "outside" of the board.
      
Thorjin
Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Nachrichten: 43
Registriert:
October 2010
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Wed, 06 July 2011 16:39
Cyan4973 wrote on Wed, 06 July 2011 02:14

Quote:

2. As far as the Magic powers Bag of Many Things token is concerned, what relics are "in play"? All relics that have been obtained from monsters, or just those that were used the previous turn and are on the board?


Mmmh, all relics "discovered" (taken from monsters) are supposed to always be on the board. They are never ever "outside" of the board.


Yes, thanks... we discovered that mistake in our 2nd game. First game we were taking relics into our hand and using them (or choosing not to and keeping them in hand).
      
mageganker
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
July 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Fri, 08 July 2011 04:34
Got some questions I posted over at boardgame geek but then I found this thread!

1. How many racial liches should there be? 5 or 7?

If you look in the rulebook there is a picture of a 7 but the little cardboard thing has a 5. Their power seems pretty bad at 5 since you can't spread all that well to take advantage of it.



2. Why is corrupt twice as good as martyr?

In terms of special power balance, martyr is garbage compared to corrupt.

Martyr gives you 4 units and you receive 1 gold from the bank each time your territory is conquered by an opponent.

Corrupt gives you 4 units and you receive one gold from your opponent each time he takes your territory.

Let's say both players have 50 gold and player one has Martyr. If he loses 4 territories he now has 54 gold.

If player one has corrupt, he now has 54 gold but player two now has 46 creating an 8 gold spread, which is twice as good as a 4 gold spread.

To make it more balanced martyr has to either get 2 gold from the bank or get 5 units.

3. Why does Vengeful suck so bad compared to Commando?

Both give 4 units.

Commando attacks at a permanent -1.

Vengeful only ever gives you -1 if somebody has already attacked you and you've lost some of your units, making it more likely to put you into decline.

Unless vengeful tokens stack on an opponent that attacks you more than once, it's complete vomit compared to commando.

[Aktualisiert am: Fri, 08 July 2011 04:35]

      
AernoutMJC
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 23
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Fri, 08 July 2011 07:00
mageganker wrote on Fri, 08 July 2011 04:34


3. Why does Vengeful suck so bad compared to Commando?

Both give 4 units.

Commando attacks at a permanent -1.

Vengeful only ever gives you -1 if somebody has already attacked you and you've lost some of your units, making it more likely to put you into decline.

Unless vengeful tokens stack on an opponent that attacks you more than once, it's complete vomit compared to commando.


How about the fact that having Vengeful makes you less interesting to attack, since retaliation will be easy and swift? Works here.
      
TheQfi
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 24
Registriert:
July 2010
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sat, 09 July 2011 23:56
Two questions from today's gaming session:

1) Do Flames need to spend an extra token, when conquering the Keep, if they are supported by the Volcano bonus?

2) A player uses the Shiny Orb to convert an active Kraken in the river. Is the Shiny Orb left alone in that water region at turn's end?

(P.S. We nerfed the Iron Dwarves today. Now, whenever the Dwarves decide to use their hammers, they discard these used hammers back to the pile and out of their hand. We also discussed about giving the White Ladies a boost, when they are an active race. Suggestions were that they either receive a -1 to all attacks, or conquer all regions as if they were empty.)

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 10 July 2011 00:04]

      
Cyan4973
Member

Nachrichten: 32
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sun, 10 July 2011 00:49
Quote:

1) Do Flames need to spend an extra token, when conquering the Keep, if they are supported by the Volcano bonus?


Yes, and i guess this is explicitly written in the rulebook.
      
Zsu-Et-Am
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sun, 10 July 2011 17:44
Quote:

2) A player uses the Shiny Orb to convert an active Kraken in the river. Is the Shiny Orb left alone in that water region at turn's end?

Yes.
      
MatCauthon
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
January 2008
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 11 July 2011 16:29
1. Can the Shiny Orb be used only once, or once per opponent? The descriptions in the rules and on the quick reference sheet seem to disagree on this.

2. Can the Shiny Orb be combined with the doormat to conquer a far-away region?

3. Can Flames cross water, and if so, can they use their special attack power while connected across the water on that turn?
      
BStout
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 17
Registriert:
November 2009
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 11 July 2011 19:25
Hello Antoine,

When you update the FAQ, could you label new material as NEW? Or put a date by each item to show when it was added. The longer the FAQ gets, the more tedious it gets to reread the whole thing, looking for the newer questions and answers -- and the more likely it gets to miss the newer information.

Thanks!
      
TheQfi
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 24
Registriert:
July 2010
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 11 July 2011 19:59
BStout wrote on Mon, 11 July 2011 20:25

Hello Antoine,

When you update the FAQ, could you label new material as NEW? Or put a date by each item to show when it was added. The longer the FAQ gets, the more tedious it gets to reread the whole thing, looking for the newer questions and answers -- and the more likely it gets to miss the newer information.

Thanks!


YES! Or use the color red, like you once did, when you drastically changed how the Flames work!
      
Cyan4973
Member

Nachrichten: 32
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Mon, 11 July 2011 23:28
Quote:

1. Can the Shiny Orb be used only once, or once per opponent? The descriptions in the rules and on the quick reference sheet seem to disagree on this.


It's once per turn, as specified in the rule book.
This is consistent with all other artefacts, which are used once per turn.
One shall not confuse that with the Vampire power, which can be used once per opponent per turn.


Quote:

3. Can Flames cross water, and if so, can they use their special attack power while connected across the water on that turn?


This was asked several times before, and the answer is still yes.
Just follow the normal rules here. I guess that's why it is not in the FAQ, it's just considered obvious.
      
BStout
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 17
Registriert:
November 2009
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Tue, 12 July 2011 07:06
player759311 wrote on Fri, 24 June 2011 22:49

Flames cannot attack anyone on their first conquest by erupting from the volcano. Just see above Q&A. The starting rules apply to them as well, logically.

This is not correct. The Flames' first conquest must be next to their volcano, but there is nothing in the rules or the FAQ that says it must be an empty region.

Quote:

I don't see why lizardmen wouldn't be able to use river regions to start attacking gnomes. That bit of their power does not directly affect the gnomes, so there ought not to be a problem.

This is also not correct. No race may use its power to conquer Gnomes. If the Lizardmen could not reach that region to conquer it without using their power, then they cannot conquer the Gnomes without getting adjacent to it first. (This was probably added to the FAQ above after you wrote this.)
      
BStout
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 17
Registriert:
November 2009
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Tue, 12 July 2011 07:11
Cyan4973 wrote on Mon, 11 July 2011 17:28

Quote:

3. Can Flames cross water, and if so, can they use their special attack power while connected across the water on that turn?

This was asked several times before, and the answer is still yes.
Just follow the normal rules here. I guess that's why it is not in the FAQ, it's just considered obvious.

Where was it answered before? If it's not in the FAQ or elsewhere in this thread, I don't blame the OP for not knowing. And if several people have asked the question, I reckon it should be put into the FAQ. I can see why someone might ask that question, thematically.
      
AernoutMJC
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 23
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Wed, 13 July 2011 06:55
BStout wrote on Tue, 12 July 2011 07:06

player759311 wrote on Fri, 24 June 2011 22:49

Flames cannot attack anyone on their first conquest by erupting from the volcano. Just see above Q&A. The starting rules apply to them as well, logically.

This is not correct. The Flames' first conquest must be next to their volcano, but there is nothing in the rules or the FAQ that says it must be an empty region.



What makes you say this? I don't agree. Flames - like most other races - have to border the edge of the board, not the volcano, on their first conquest.
Of course they want to link to their volcano asap, but they don't have to.
      
Cyan4973
Member

Nachrichten: 32
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Wed, 13 July 2011 08:45
[quote title=player759311 écrit le Wed, 13 July 2011 06:55]
BStout wrote on Tue, 12 July 2011 07:06

What makes you say this? I don't agree. Flames - like most other races - have to border the edge of the board, not the volcano, on their first conquest.
Of course they want to link to their volcano asap, but they don't have to.


Amazing
This is explicitly written in the FAQ (the 1st post in this thread) :



Quote:

Q. Do Flames start on a volcano?
A. They first place the volcano in one of the Abysmal Chasm regions with a volcano symbol. Then, they make their first conquest on any adjacent region.
      
BStout
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 17
Registriert:
November 2009
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Wed, 13 July 2011 09:01
[quote title=Cyan4973 wrote on Wed, 13 July 2011 02:45]
player759311 écrit le Wed, 13 July 2011 06:55

BStout wrote on Tue, 12 July 2011 07:06

What makes you say this? I don't agree. Flames - like most other races - have to border the edge of the board, not the volcano, on their first conquest.
Of course they want to link to their volcano asap, but they don't have to.


Amazing
This is explicitly written in the FAQ (the 1st post in this thread) :
Quote:

Q. Do Flames start on a volcano?
A. They first place the volcano in one of the Abysmal Chasm regions with a volcano symbol. Then, they make their first conquest on any adjacent region.


You messed up the quotes somehow. I did not post the statement about Flames starting at the edge of the board, Player759311 did.

But I can understand why he did it. The rules do not state that Flames must start next to the volcano; only the FAQ specifies that. It's too bad, since many people will make that mistake -- I did at first.

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 13 July 2011 09:09]

      
BStout
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 17
Registriert:
November 2009
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Thu, 14 July 2011 08:47
Antoine wrote on Thu, 16 June 2011 11:19

Iron Dwarves
Q. Is it possible to conquer a region with nothing but Silver Hammers?
A. Yes, but as you will be forced to remove them at turn's end, the region will be lost (unless you redeploy an Iron Dwarf in that region).

Antoine, I believe this ruling is wrong for two reasons:

1. It goes against the rules as written.

Compare the relevant portions of the rules for the Amazons and Iron Dwarves:
Quote:

Amazons
... At the end of each of
your Troop Redeployments (see Troop Redeployment, p. 5),
remove four tokens from the map, making sure to leave at least
one Amazon token in each of your Regions if possible
, and only
take these four tokens back in hand to redeploy on the map
once you Ready your Troops (see Ready your Troops, p. 6) at
the start of your next turn.

Quote:

Iron Dwarves & their Silver Hammers
... At the end of the Troop Redeployments (see Troop
Redeployments
, p. 7) of each of your turns, remove all the Silver
Hammers from the map, making sure to leave at least one Iron
Dwarf token in each Region
. Take your Silver
Hammers back in hand and place them off the
board, in front of you, where they will wait until
the start of your next Conquest phase.

The language is very similar. The big difference is the presence of "if possible" for Amazons, and its absence for Iron Dwarves. This absence implies that having a Region with only Silver Hammers in it is forbidden.

2. It imbalances the game.

Allowing the Iron Dwarves to conquer regions with only Silver Hammers makes them too strong. It is usually easy for them to get all 7 Hammers, and even if they are beaten down to a token or two they are in a great offensive position, having an attack force as great as many starting races. They can use their Hammers to conquer almost any region that is not immune, and they become great spoilers, decimating the army of whichever opponent they choose to focus on.

Forcing the Iron Dwarves to use at least one Dwarf token for each conquest still keeps them strong, given their 7 extra attack tokens, but not so strong that they always win, as some people have complained.

Regards,
Bryan
      
BStout
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 17
Registriert:
November 2009
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Thu, 14 July 2011 10:05
Here's a nice new question from BGG:

What happens if the Krakens leave Froggy's Ring or the Scepter of Avarice in a river region, and another player conquers it? Can he move it? Both of them say that the Relic is moved "at the end of his turn", and the Scepter further says "before scoring"; can it be moved during Redeployment, or is the Relic stuck in the River?

On a related note, if a player uses any other Relic to conquer a river region, is that Relic left there when he redeploys out of the region? (I suppose so.)
      
*player38092
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 771
Registriert:
November 2004
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Thu, 14 July 2011 16:16
BStout écrit le Wed, 13 July 2011 09:01

The rules do not state that Flames must start next to the volcano; only the FAQ specifies that. It's too bad, since many people will make that mistake -- I did at first.
I did too. Welcome to the club.
Now, as the precision is not in the rules, it is hardly a mistake... Rolling Eyes
      
davidwc09
Junior Member
Tenente

Nachrichten: 15
Registriert:
August 2010
Re: Official Small World Underground FAQ Thu, 14 July 2011 19:05
player761216 wrote on Sun, 19 June 2011 08:47



1. Iron Dwarves & their Silver Hammers
"During the Troop redeployment phase of each of your turn, take 1 additional Silver Hammer token from the tray for each Mine Region you occupy and place it in front of you."

Would it be possible to get an example for this mechanic? We played it like this:
1st turn - 2 Mine Regions occupied - 2 Hammer tokens
2nd turn - 3 mine Regions occupied - 2 extant Hammer tokens + 3 new ones = 5 Hammer tokens
3rd turn - 3 Mine Regions occupied - 5 extant Hammer tokens + 2 new ones (there being only 7 in all) = 7 Hammer tokens
following turns - always 7 Hammer tokens until race goes into decline

This came up in our first game of SWU, and we played as you listed above.

The gamer who took the ID had control of Diamond Fields popular place, had the Orb relic, the Flaming Sword, and a special power that meant she essentially never lost an Iron Dwarf.

She was able to run them THE ENTIRE GAME, never once going into decline, generating 20+ coins several turns.

If the mechanic as quoted above is correct, it gives the IDs a great deal of power. Amazons with their 4 extra tokens, pfft! IDs are the real deal with a whopping 7 hammers at their disposal, plus the benefits of relics and other game mechanics.
      
*player38092
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 771
Registriert:
November 2004
Re: Official Small World Underground FAQ Thu, 14 July 2011 19:11
davidwc09 écrit le Thu, 14 July 2011 19:05

... plus the benefits of relics and other game mechanics.
I believe that they would help about any race. Rolling Eyes

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 14 July 2011 19:31]

      
AernoutMJC
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 23
Registriert:
June 2011
Re: Official Small World Underground FAQ Thu, 14 July 2011 19:18
davidwc09 wrote on Thu, 14 July 2011 19:05

player761216 wrote on Sun, 19 June 2011 08:47



1. Iron Dwarves & their Silver Hammers
"During the Troop redeployment phase of each of your turn, take 1 additional Silver Hammer token from the tray for each Mine Region you occupy and place it in front of you."

Would it be possible to get an example for this mechanic? We played it like this:
1st turn - 2 Mine Regions occupied - 2 Hammer tokens
2nd turn - 3 mine Regions occupied - 2 extant Hammer tokens + 3 new ones = 5 Hammer tokens
3rd turn - 3 Mine Regions occupied - 5 extant Hammer tokens + 2 new ones (there being only 7 in all) = 7 Hammer tokens
following turns - always 7 Hammer tokens until race goes into decline

This came up in our first game of SWU, and we played as you listed above.

The gamer who took the ID had control of Diamond Fields popular place, had the Orb relic, the Flaming Sword, and a special power that meant she essentially never lost an Iron Dwarf.

She was able to run them THE ENTIRE GAME, never once going into decline, generating 20+ coins several turns.

If the mechanic as quoted above is correct, it gives the IDs a great deal of power. Amazons with their 4 extra tokens, pfft! IDs are the real deal with a whopping 7 hammers at their disposal, plus the benefits of relics and other game mechanics.

It also means the other players didn't attack her the right way.
      
AernoutMJC
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 23
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Thu, 14 July 2011 19:21
[quote title=BStout wrote on Wed, 13 July 2011 09:01]
Cyan4973 wrote on Wed, 13 July 2011 02:45

player759311 écrit le Wed, 13 July 2011 06:55

BStout wrote on Tue, 12 July 2011 07:06

What makes you say this? I don't agree. Flames - like most other races - have to border the edge of the board, not the volcano, on their first conquest.
Of course they want to link to their volcano asap, but they don't have to.


Amazing
This is explicitly written in the FAQ (the 1st post in this thread) :
Quote:

Q. Do Flames start on a volcano?
A. They first place the volcano in one of the Abysmal Chasm regions with a volcano symbol. Then, they make their first conquest on any adjacent region.


You messed up the quotes somehow. I did not post the statement about Flames starting at the edge of the board, Player759311 did.

But I can understand why he did it. The rules do not state that Flames must start next to the volcano; only the FAQ specifies that. It's too bad, since many people will make that mistake -- I did at first.

He (being me) also made that "mistake" because either somewhere else or here a while ago (don't remember), I was told, explicitly, that since the rules do not exempt the Flames from attacking from the edge on their first attack, I was wrong to assume that I could start from the volcano.
      
*player38092
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 771
Registriert:
November 2004
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Thu, 14 July 2011 19:33
[quote title=player759311 écrit le Thu, 14 July 2011 19:21]
BStout wrote on Wed, 13 July 2011 09:01

I was told, explicitly, that since the rules do not exempt the Flames from attacking from the edge on their first attack, I was wrong to assume that I could start from the volcano.
Which is perfectly logical, if you stick to the rule and you haven't read the FAQ, which introduces some contradiction with the rules - or, for the least, a precision that one could not guess from the reading of the rules.
      
davidwc09
Junior Member
Tenente

Nachrichten: 15
Registriert:
August 2010
Re: Official Small World Underground FAQ Thu, 14 July 2011 23:53
Robin wrote on Thu, 14 July 2011 12:11

I believe that they would help about any race. Rolling Eyes


Hence the use of the preposition plus and placement of the phrase at the end of the sentence. Rolling Eyes

In other words, duh.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 14 July 2011 23:54]

      
image
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Fri, 15 July 2011 23:18
Hi,

We have a question about Kraken redeployment.

The rules state that "At the end of your turn, you do not have to
empty any of the River regions your
Kraken may be in. You can leave them...".

Are the Kraken allowed to abandon a river region during redeployment as all other races must do? Or are they not allowed to abandon a river region during redeployment, the same as any other region?

Thanks!

[Aktualisiert am: Fri, 15 July 2011 23:36]

      
*player38092
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 771
Registriert:
November 2004
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Fri, 15 July 2011 23:35
"You do not have to" seems to indicate that remaining in the river is an option - otherwise, it would be written "you must".

The French rules say the same thing : "Elles peuvent y rester" (they can/may remain in it).
      
BStout
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 17
Registriert:
November 2009
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sat, 16 July 2011 08:28
image wrote on Fri, 15 July 2011 17:18

Are the Kraken allowed to abandon a river region during redeployment as all other races must do? Or are they not allowed to abandon a river region during redeployment, the same as any other region?

Good question!

Extrapolating from general principles, I would have said No: players cannot abandon regions during Redeployment, except that they are forced to abandon Rivers; and since Krakens are not forced out of Rivers, they must stay in them during Redeployment.

But since their rules are stated as an option, both in the booklet and the summary sheet, I'd have to say Yes, Krakens are allowed to abandon River regions during Redeployment.
      
Deio
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 178
Registriert:
January 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sat, 16 July 2011 11:06
I would stick to the fact that players cannot abandon regions during redeployment; so I wouldn't allow Krakens to leave River regions during their redeployment.
      
*player38092
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 771
Registriert:
November 2004
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sat, 16 July 2011 11:42
Deio écrit le Sat, 16 July 2011 11:06

I would stick to the fact that players cannot abandon regions during redeployment; so I wouldn't allow Krakens to leave River regions during their redeployment.
But the rule explicitly says that River regions must be abandoned by players : so you are invoking a rule that does not apply in the case of Rivers.

If the wording of the Kraken introduces an option, where the general rule invokes an obligation, it is in the direction of allowing abandonment of the River rather than staying in it.

You cannot turn around the general rule to make it say, in the case of the River, that the latter must not be abandoned, in general and must be abandoned in the case or Kraken.
No more than you could invoke the general rule that one needs 2 tokens to take a region (plus any additional tokens to match the number of people/tokens in it) to state that conquering a River containing a Kraken is not 1 token + the number ok Kraken tokens in it.
The River is in itself a subcase of the general rules about regions, and the Kraken is a subcase of the River rule.

[Aktualisiert am: Sat, 16 July 2011 13:28]

      
Deio
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 178
Registriert:
January 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sat, 16 July 2011 15:43
Robin écrit le Sat, 16 July 2011 11:42

Deio écrit le Sat, 16 July 2011 11:06

I would stick to the fact that players cannot abandon regions during redeployment; so I wouldn't allow Krakens to leave River regions during their redeployment.
But the rule explicitly says that River regions must be abandoned by players : so you are invoking a rule that does not apply in the case of Rivers.

If the wording of the Kraken introduces an option, where the general rule invokes an obligation, it is in the direction of allowing abandonment of the River rather than staying in it.

You cannot turn around the general rule to make it say, in the case of the River, that the latter must not be abandoned, in general and must be abandoned in the case or Kraken.
No more than you could invoke the general rule that one needs 2 tokens to take a region (plus any additional tokens to match the number of people/tokens in it) to state that conquering a River containing a Kraken is not 1 token + the number ok Kraken tokens in it.
The River is in itself a subcase of the general rules about regions, and the Kraken is a subcase of the River rule.

Well, maybe you're right, I don't know. I was just giving an opinion; sorry, I won't do it again, I promise...
      
*player38092
Senior Member

Nachrichten: 771
Registriert:
November 2004
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sat, 16 July 2011 17:14
Deio écrit le Sat, 16 July 2011 15:43

I was just giving an opinion; sorry, I won't do it again, I promise...
Why be sorry?
I don't see anything offending in your posts. Just confronting logics and trying by mutual argumentation to understand what the rules are really about.
Sorry from my part if my argumentation was too blunt - I assure you that there was no attempt to go personal nor any emotion in my post. Rolling Eyes
      
elros
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
July 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sat, 16 July 2011 19:46
Oops, nm

Move along, move along Embarassed

[Aktualisiert am: Sat, 16 July 2011 20:03]

      
player778339
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
July 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sat, 16 July 2011 22:41
I have a couple timing questions.

When exactly is "the start of each of your turns?" That is listed in the Reborn Power explanation. Would that be before you pick to either "Expand the reach of his race" or "Put his race In Decline to select a new one?"

I assume that moving the Balrog "once at any point during his turn" can include the start of each of your turns.

If the start of the turn is before you choose to expand/decline I think the following would be legal:

Stonehenge with Reborn Power has an in decline race in control. You may empty two regions (including the Stonehenge space) of the declined race for the current active race tokens and then decline the active race. This would allow you to essentially pass control of Stonehenge and the reborn power to each of your races. (Obviously could be easily stopped by opponents, mainly just checking on the timing here.)

And:

An in decline race is in control of the Pentacle can move the Balrog and then decline the active race leaving the Pentacle space empty.

So essentially do you get to use applicable relics/powers before you pick to expand/decline or must you always pick first and see what is left to use after that choice?
      
BStout
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 17
Registriert:
November 2009
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sun, 17 July 2011 02:32
player778339 wrote on Sat, 16 July 2011 16:41

When exactly is "the start of each of your turns?" That is listed in the Reborn Power explanation. Would that be before you pick to either "Expand the reach of his race" or "Put his race In Decline to select a new one?"

I assume that moving the Balrog "once at any point during his turn" can include the start of each of your turns.
...
So essentially do you get to use applicable relics/powers before you pick to expand/decline or must you always pick first and see what is left to use after that choice?

Interesting questions!

I'm pretty sure that the answer is No, you cannot use Relics and/or Places during turns you go into decline.
      
Cyan4973
Member

Nachrichten: 32
Registriert:
June 2011
Re:Official Small World Underground FAQ Sun, 17 July 2011 02:59
Quote:

An in decline race is in control of the Pentacle can move the Balrog and then decline the active race leaving the Pentacle space empty.


That's not possible. As mentionend in the rule book :

Quote:

 Popular Places' powers cannot be used by Races that are In Decline;


So, your race in decline cannot move the Balrog. This has nothing to do with your currently active race going into decline : this is always true, a declined race cannot move the Balrog, period.

Quote:

Stonehenge with Reborn Power has an in decline race in control. You may empty two regions (including the Stonehenge space) of the declined race for the current active race tokens and then decline the active race. This would allow you to essentially pass control of Stonehenge and the reborn power to each of your races. (Obviously could be easily stopped by opponents, mainly just checking on the timing here.)



This one is very interesting.
Imho, i think it is a valid move.
As a consequence, using the same rule, you could also move your Balrog one last time (if the pentacle is controlled by the active race!) before going into decline.

I guess a confirmation from DoW would be good here.
      
Seiten (6): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6  >  » ]     
Vorheriges Thema:Fan Creations - Races and Powers
Gehen Sie zum Forum: