Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 Online - English » Close Assault bug
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Kelly's Hero
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 303
Registriert:
April 2011
Close Assault bug Wed, 30 November 2011 06:30
In an expert mode scenario, I played Close Assault and was able to armor overrun and attack even though the 2nd attack was not adjacent. I assume that's a bug but I'm not sure whether it occurs in regular scenarios or only expert scenarios. I haven't seen it in regular scenarios but it doesn't make much sense that Expert mode would get such a basic rule incorrect. I'll submit a report.
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 603
Registriert:
October 2005
Re:Close Assault bug Wed, 30 November 2011 06:56
I think that's normal rule play. Also tank doesn't get extra die on overrun.
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1778
Registriert:
December 2008
Re:Close Assault bug Wed, 30 November 2011 09:19
From the online cards database for Close Assault


Close Assault
Winter Storm says
2008-10-12 21:59:27
Armor overrun (Comment / Question)

1) Can a tank unit fire at a unit that is not adjacent to it after taking ground during an armor overrun?

2) Does the tank unit still have the additional die during armor overrun?

(the general rule in the FAQ says that a tank unit that has an additional die in close combat still has it after armor overrun but RBorg in the Forum apparently said that tanks have not the additional die in armor overrun when the close assault card is played)

2.gheintze says
2008-10-17 06:08:29
Armor Overrun Answer (Comment / Question)

1) Yes, it is as a normal Armor Overrun.

2) No, the additional die only applies to the initial close combat roll.



Hopes this helps.
The online card compendium is a good place to look for answers.

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 30 November 2011 09:25]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7127
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Close Assault bug Wed, 30 November 2011 12:04
This is not a bug...the Tank can Armor Overrun and then attack anyone on the second attack. Like the other guys stated, the second attack does not get an extra die even if it is on an adjacent unit.

I believe this information is also available in the FAQ, if you have that. Cool
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2141
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Close Assault bug Sat, 14 September 2013 14:08
[quote title=Phread wrote on Wed, 30 November 2011 03:19....
but RBorg in the Forum apparently said that tanks have not the additional die in armor overrun when the close assault card is played)[/quote]

That is indeed the case and here is the link to Richard's post on that:


http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=64288#msg_64288

It seems a lot of players are unaware of how the Close Assault card works.

In fact when I attended WBC and played in the Memoir '44 tournanment for the first time in 2008, even the GM did not know about this. I mentioned Richard's post (and produced a printed copy of the post) to the GM and he was surprised.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7127
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Close Assault bug Sat, 14 September 2013 15:41
[quote title=tank commander wrote on Sat, 14 September 2013 16:08]
Phread wrote on Wed, 30 November 2011 03:19....
but RBorg in the Forum apparently said that tanks have not the additional die in armor overrun when the close assault card is played)[/quote



That is indeed the case and here is the link to Richard's post on that:


http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=64288#msg_64288

It seems a lot of players are unaware of how the Close Assault card works.

In fact when I attended WBC and played in the Memoir '44 tournanment for the first time in 2008, even the GM did not know about this. I mentioned Richard's post (and produced a printed copy of the post) to the GM and he was surprised.


You also could have shown him this issue in the FAQ and he would have been equally surprised. Cool
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2270
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:Close Assault bug Sat, 14 September 2013 22:02
rasmussen81 wrote on Sat, 14 September 2013 09:41

You also could have shown him this issue in the FAQ and he would have been equally surprised. Cool

Since you hadn't compiled the FAQ yet in 2008, we all would have been surprised.

I used to paste all the official rulings into a word-processed document, and I remember bringing that to the tournament that year, too.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7127
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Close Assault bug Sun, 15 September 2013 00:42
sam1812 wrote on Sun, 15 September 2013 00:02

rasmussen81 wrote on Sat, 14 September 2013 09:41

You also could have shown him this issue in the FAQ and he would have been equally surprised. Cool

Since you hadn't compiled the FAQ yet in 2008, we all would have been surprised.

I used to paste all the official rulings into a word-processed document, and I remember bringing that to the tournament that year, too.


Ah, this was an historical event! Laughing I thought you were talking about a recent time. Cool
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:AI cheating - to whom it may concern...
Nächstes Thema:Tenaru Bug
Gehen Sie zum Forum: