Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 Online - English » Snipers on Expert Scenarios
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
sdnative
Senior Member
Colonel

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 448
Registriert:
February 2009
Snipers on Expert Scenarios Mon, 23 January 2012 21:55
Are we able to add snipers to the expert scenarios? and if possible how is it done.
Thanks
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1157
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Snipers on Expert Scenarios Mon, 23 January 2012 22:05
Just give them a sniper badge ... either the german or the russian one ..
They work for all other nations too
I did japanese snipers on one of the scenarios .

You also need to make them one figure units.
      
sdnative
Senior Member
Colonel

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 448
Registriert:
February 2009
Re:Snipers on Expert Scenarios Mon, 23 January 2012 22:52
Thank you very much.
      
Nygaard
Senior Member
Général de brigade

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1014
Registriert:
May 2006
Re:Snipers on Expert Scenarios Mon, 23 January 2012 23:15
Quit2 wrote on Mon, 23 January 2012 22:05

(snip)You also need to make them one figure units.


I don't actually think you need to specify 1 figure (but I'm sure it doesn't hurt if you do) - it's the same with French Resistance - they are automatically 3 figs.
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1157
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Snipers on Expert Scenarios Mon, 23 January 2012 23:35
ah, good to know ... nice that I learn something from someone else's question ...
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7127
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Snipers on Expert Scenarios Tue, 24 January 2012 04:41
Another strange thing I ran into is that when I wanted to create a Sniper Unit, I had to select a 'normal unit' type when placing it on the board. If I created an 'elite unit' (with the arch over its head) then the Sniper Badge isn't available. But if it's a normal unit, the Sniper Badge is available and it works fine in the game.

I found it a bit strange and it took a while for me to figure it out... Cool
      
sdnative
Senior Member
Colonel

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 448
Registriert:
February 2009
Re:Snipers on Expert Scenarios Tue, 24 January 2012 07:36
Noticed that snipers cannot fire after moving into jungle terrain,
Is this a bug?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7127
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Snipers on Expert Scenarios Tue, 24 January 2012 08:19
sdnative wrote on Tue, 24 January 2012 10:36

Noticed that snipers cannot fire after moving into jungle terrain,
Is this a bug?


I believe that would be a bug. They should be able to fire when moving into any terrain...if memory serves.

Use the link in my signature area to submit a bug report from a battle where this happened. Smile

I'll bet the reason this doesn't work properly yet is because there are no official scenarios where Snipers and Jungle hexes have to interact...so there hasn't been any reason for the rules to be defined in that situation. Cool
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1778
Registriert:
December 2008
Re:Snipers on Expert Scenarios Tue, 24 January 2012 09:53
SFTF "Crossing Peleliu Airfield" has an opportunity for a sniper to move onto jungle.

Col. Quit2 has replaced it with On the road to Sirte.

I have seen (& epxerienced) this too but didn't think too much about it.
      
sdnative
Senior Member
Colonel

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 448
Registriert:
February 2009
Re:Snipers on Expert Scenarios Tue, 24 January 2012 15:27
OK Bug Report submitted. Smile
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7127
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Snipers on Expert Scenarios Tue, 24 January 2012 16:38
Phread wrote on Tue, 24 January 2012 12:53

SFTF "Crossing Peleliu Airfield" has an opportunity for a sniper to move onto jungle.

Col. Quit2 has replaced it with On the road to Sirte.

I have seen (& epxerienced) this too but didn't think too much about it.



That's my point...we might see Snipers and Jungles interact in SFTF but not in Official scenarios! So the rules for the interaction between the two probably hasn't been dealt with yet. Smile
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1157
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Snipers on Expert Scenarios Tue, 24 January 2012 18:34
Well ...
Snipers say: may move into any terrain and still battle.
Jungles say: unit moving into may battle only if unit starts its move in adjacent hex

So it depends on which ruling is dominant. I would expect snipers to be allowed to move 2 into jungle and still battle, but on the "Crossing Peleliu Airfield" this was not possible.

I did not make a bug report, because I think there are more important things to solve/develop first and because I was not really sure that it is a bug.

As stated by Rasmussen81, snipers are not made to work with jungles. We are not even supposed to have Japanese or American snipers anyway. There are only badges for German or Russian snipers. Putting a german sniper badge on a japanese unit is already coloring outside the lines, and I'm happy enough that it works for everything else but the sniper-jungle combination.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7127
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Snipers on Expert Scenarios Tue, 24 January 2012 18:56
I would say that you should still send in the Bug Report...then it'll be in the system and the crew can work on it when they have time. Just don't look for a fix in the next update, maybe. Very Happy
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1778
Registriert:
December 2008
Re:Snipers on Expert Scenarios Tue, 24 January 2012 20:31
Quit2 wrote on Wed, 25 January 2012 06:34


As stated by Rasmussen81, snipers are not made to work with jungles. We are not even supposed to have Japanese or American snipers anyway. There are only badges for German or Russian snipers. Putting a german sniper badge on a japanese unit is already coloring outside the lines, and I'm happy enough that it works for everything else but the sniper-jungle combination.


I recall reading (but don't ask me where) that the Japanese used snipers in the Pacific. I think I remember stories of snipers being tied into the tops of trees, waiting for enemy troops.

SO snipers and jungles do seem - to me - to be an appropriate combination.

I think snipers should be able to move into jungle and battle, after all they can move into woods or towns and battle.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7127
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Snipers on Expert Scenarios Wed, 25 January 2012 04:13
Phread wrote on Tue, 24 January 2012 23:31

Quit2 wrote on Wed, 25 January 2012 06:34


As stated by Rasmussen81, snipers are not made to work with jungles. We are not even supposed to have Japanese or American snipers anyway. There are only badges for German or Russian snipers. Putting a german sniper badge on a japanese unit is already coloring outside the lines, and I'm happy enough that it works for everything else but the sniper-jungle combination.


I recall reading (but don't ask me where) that the Japanese used snipers in the Pacific. I think I remember stories of snipers being tied into the tops of trees, waiting for enemy troops.

SO snipers and jungles do seem - to me - to be an appropriate combination.


I'm not sure about Quit2, but I wasn't saying that Snipers can't be used in Pacific Theater battles (I know that there were a lot of very effective snipers in the jungle warfare on the islands) but my point was that Memoir '44 isn't set up for that combination yet. There have been no official scenarios with Snipers in terrain with Jungle hexes, so there's no official example to look at...and no official place that outlines the rules.

I don't think anyone is saying it's not an appropriate combination. We're just saying it's not a combination that has been made in Memoir '44 so far! Smile

Quote:

I think snipers should be able to move into jungle and battle, after all they can move into woods or towns and battle.


No question about it; Snipers can move into Jungles and battle! If they can move into terrain like Hedgerows (which have much more restrictive rules) then they can move into Jungles and battle. It just hasn't come up before and so it hasn't been programmed into the Online game yet.
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1778
Registriert:
December 2008
Re:Snipers on Expert Scenarios Wed, 25 January 2012 05:40
In SFTF scenarios we are - in part - play testing for DoW.

It the good old days standard scenarios were play tested as expert scenarios before being released as standard.

I 1st played Panzers vs Grants as an expert scenario.

No software is bug free so we are always testing and should be reporting any bugs seen. We have found most of the easy ones so now we are onto the harder ones.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2133
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Snipers on Expert Scenarios Sun, 30 March 2014 12:03
Quit2 wrote on Tue, 24 January 2012 12:34

Well ...
Snipers say: may move into any terrain and still battle.
Jungles say: unit moving into may battle only if unit starts its move in adjacent hex

So it depends on which ruling is dominant. I would expect snipers to be allowed to move 2 into jungle and still battle, but on the "Crossing Peleliu Airfield" this was not possible.




The official ruling on this is that the adjacent jungle rules trumps the sniper rule. Even Snipers must obey the jungle adjacent rule, so they cannot move 2 hexes into a jungle and battle.
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Can't install Memoir'44 Mac version
Nächstes Thema:syntax error
Gehen Sie zum Forum: