Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 Online - English » Ambush White Line Bug
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2100
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Ambush White Line Bug Sat, 22 December 2012 11:54
Hi Trent.

Just because I make a strong statement here does not mean I am upset or offended from what you are saying. I have no official involvement with the game, therefore no ax to grind.

I just disagree with you on this issue.

As to the white line thing, I just plain wonder why it exists - for me it falls into the "what the ..." category.

It would be the same as if I played this ftf and after my opponent moved his units adjacent to mine say "Oh, by the way, I have Ambush"

I know, even in ftf play, sometimes a player can detect / suspect if an opponent is holding the card. But to have it stated as a certainty in online play - well I just do not get it.

As to how players use that info, well I cannot blame them for taking advantage of that knowledge.

By the way - the Arty Bombard issue that you also mentioned - what was that again?

At any rate, this is one of those "let us agree to disagree" things.


      
stevie02
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 120
Registriert:
June 2010
Re:Ambush White Line Bug Sat, 22 December 2012 13:00
Just to weigh in. I recall playing RBF as soviets with an experienced player, who pointed out very early on that I had the Ambush Card. He therefore stayed away and done the right thing and pick away at me. In my 1800 games this was my most memorable in terms of Non enjoyment. It was bad enough having to play the commissar rules but to do it with what was ineffect 3 cards. Needless to say I lost. I eventually got rid of the card by ambushing a tank unit with my sniper, and got a retreat result !!! Whoopee effiin do!!!

Dunno what point I'm trying to make? Maybe just that there's nothing wrong with figuring it out by yourself without having a visual cue on screen. It's not a biggie but should be fixed.

Stevie
      
LooneyLlama
Senior Member
Lucky Bastard

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 723
Registriert:
March 2008
Re:Ambush White Line Bug Sat, 22 December 2012 14:53
Just my two cents.

I agree with Gheintze. Until the bug is fixed, when I know the other player has the ambush card, I still play the same moves as if I didn't know it. I realize it sounds stupid to do this, but this is just a game, and I want both of us to experience the board game 'feel'. So, if anyone plays me, you will get to use the card as intended. I even try to incorporate the other bugs into my scenarios to also enhance play. Just think of them as special rules for that scenario.
      
trentdep
Senior Member
Flags of Our Fathers

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 204
Registriert:
October 2011
Re:Ambush White Line Bug Sat, 22 December 2012 17:37
John,

Not sure that I was really all that offended specific to your post, but since you are not the first to come away w/ that feeling, perhaps my wording/tone ( something ) implied that, and that was not really my intention, although I did want to point out that - maybe, just perhaps, there is a certain - for lack of a better term ~ Snob Factor ~ that comes out on the boards.

And yes - I ~ Get ~ the purist stance ( Thanks Stevens - that was the word I was struggling for earlier ) and it's cool - If the Online game were to exactly mirror the Board Game it would not detract from the level of enjoyment it brings to me - I just think that *some people* need to keep in mind that this forum isn't entirely made up of purists, or even people who have ever played the Board Game ( or V world )...

Arty Bombard Bug : If you choose to fire w/ multiple Arty Units using this card, you cannot switch back and forth but must fire both barrages from one gun, before moving to the other, or you lose the second barrage(s). This may have been fixed in the last 90 days - I haven't tested it!
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3038
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Ambush White Line Bug Sat, 22 December 2012 20:03
stevie02 wrote on Sat, 22 December 2012 07:00

Just to weigh in. I recall playing RBF as soviets with an experienced player, who pointed out very early on that I had the Ambush Card. He therefore stayed away and done the right thing and pick away at me. In my 1800 games this was my most memorable in terms of Non enjoyment. It was bad enough having to play the commissar rules but to do it with what was ineffect 3 cards. Needless to say I lost. I eventually got rid of the card by ambushing a tank unit with my sniper, and got a retreat result !!! Whoopee effiin do!!!

Dunno what point I'm trying to make? Maybe just that there's nothing wrong with figuring it out by yourself without having a visual cue on screen. It's not a biggie but should be fixed.

Stevie


The situation you described is actually a bug.

p.5 Eastern Front Rules:
Quote:

Note: If a Sniper is adjacent to an enemy unit it must combat the adjacent unit. If the only adjacent unit is a tank, which a Sniper cannot target, the sniper must move before he may battle.


A sniper may not target an Armor unit (this would include a battle via AMBUSH). The game should not have ALLOWED this so it is a bug. Please report this to DOW so that they can improve the game. Thanks!
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2100
Registriert:
October 2004
Re:Ambush White Line Bug Sat, 22 December 2012 23:18
trentdep wrote on Sat, 22 December 2012 11:37

Arty Bombard Bug : If you choose to fire w/ multiple Arty Units using this card, you cannot switch back and forth but must fire both barrages from one gun, before moving to the other, or you lose the second barrage(s). This may have been fixed in the last 90 days - I haven't tested it!


Actually, that is not a bug. One arty unit must complete both its attacks before a different arty fires. This made it into the Official FAQ too.

But I think there should be an on screen prompt to make players aware that an arty unit still has an attack left if you mistakenly try to fire another arty.

I actually did this myself recently. I fired 3d from one arty then figured I should fire two 1d attacks from a different arty and just plain forgot I could not go back the the first arty - my bad there. Luckily I got the last 2 hits on an infantry to end that game.
      
sdnative
Senior Member
Colonel

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 447
Registriert:
February 2009
Re:Ambush White Line Bug Sun, 23 December 2012 02:31
trentdep wrote on Fri, 21 December 2012 09:40



My intended purpose is of course to not have an unfair advantage over my opponent. Unlike some of the more obscure movement / combat restrictions ( did we ever solve the issue of the two different bridge cards? )




Nope not yet as far as I know.
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 603
Registriert:
October 2005
Re:Ambush White Line Bug Sun, 23 December 2012 06:25
Here's a pic.
http://m44sed.wikispaces.com/file/view/Ambush_Arrows.jpg/394353428/Ambush_Arrows.jpg

PS: I let another opponent play his Ambush on my lone-figure infantry after I knew he had it. If you're playing face-to-face and your opponent's Ambush card gets knocked face-up, are you not going to go in close after that?

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 23 December 2012 06:28]

      
trentdep
Senior Member
Flags of Our Fathers

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 204
Registriert:
October 2011
Re:Ambush White Line Bug Sun, 23 December 2012 09:05
tank commander wrote on Sat, 22 December 2012 17:18



Actually, that is not a bug. One arty unit must complete both its attacks before a different arty fires. This made it into the Official FAQ too.



Is there a function by which one can be notified about updates to the Official FAQ ?

Perhaps a Sticky Thread here and whoever updates the FAQ could pop in and let us know?...
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3038
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Ambush White Line Bug Sun, 23 December 2012 14:20
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=23650&start=0

If you take some time to read through the last few pages of this post, you will possibly find the answers you seek.
      
trentdep
Senior Member
Flags of Our Fathers

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 204
Registriert:
October 2011
Re:Ambush White Line Bug Sun, 23 December 2012 15:59
So yes - there is a FAQ sticky thread that one can easily monitor, just not listed under Memoir '44 Online - English.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3038
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Ambush White Line Bug Sun, 23 December 2012 16:04
trentdep wrote on Sun, 23 December 2012 09:59

So yes - there is a FAQ sticky thread that one can easily monitor, just not listed under Memoir '44 Online - English.


The Thread is on the main Memoir '44 page because it is relevant to the game as a whole, not exclusive to the Online game. Unfortunately because of the "bugs" in the online game it does not always follow the Official Rules.

However for those who play:
- FTF with the Boardgame
- In Tournament play
- Online via Vassal software,

and who are "purists" about gameplay, having the Official Rules is very important. Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 23 December 2012 16:06]

      
trentdep
Senior Member
Flags of Our Fathers

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 204
Registriert:
October 2011
Re:Ambush White Line Bug Sun, 23 December 2012 21:35
Well yes - one can imagine so!

( What happened to the Ninja smiley? )

      
Seiten (2): [ «  <  1  2 ]     
Vorheriges Thema:Merry X-mas & Happy NY
Nächstes Thema:Memoir 44 Editor - Logged out
Gehen Sie zum Forum: