Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Combat Cards & Overlord
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 890
Registriert:
November 2011
Combat Cards & Overlord Mon, 24 December 2012 10:23
Hello,

Scenario: High Stakes at Bruyères http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=1093 7

Special Rules
High Stakes at Bruyères

Urban Warfare Combat card rules are in effect (Actions 25 - Combat Cards). Each Field General receives 2 Combat cards at the start of the battle.


However, the Summary Card Actions 25 says "1 card to each Field General":

http://cdn0.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_compendium_action_25.jpg

- Which one is correct?

And one question that came up yesterday during our game:

- Can a FG who has got no card this turn play a Combat Card, regardless the result of the Initiative Roll?

Thanks
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1063
Registriert:
December 2007
Re:Combat Cards & Overlord Mon, 24 December 2012 13:17
The idea to start with 2 UC cards per FG recently came Richard Borg himself to spice up the games. Seems to now have been adopted as an official rule as per the newer scenarios. So hand out 2 cards each at the start.

FGs can play Combat Cards (subject to card text) even if they don't have orders or have rolled for initiative or have not rolled for initiative. Combat cards are far more flexible than the normal order cards.

[Aktualisiert am: Mon, 24 December 2012 13:18]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3020
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Combat Cards & Overlord Mon, 24 December 2012 14:16
Quote:

Special Rules:
Re-supply rules (Actions 24 - Resupply) are in effect for Supply Trucks (Troops 17 - Supply Trucks) and Half-Tracks (Troops 18 - Half-Tracks).

Urban Warfare Combat card rules are in effect (Actions 25 - Combat Cards). Each Field General receives 2 Combat cards at the start of the battle.

Place a figure and badge on the Axis Army Sniper figure (Troops 10 - Snipers).

Smoke Shells rules (Actions 31 - Smoke Shells) are in effect for the Nebelwerfer (Troops 25 - Screaming Meemies).

Place badges on the Axis elite Infantry units (Troops 2 - Specialized Units) and Allied Engineer unit (Troops 4 - Combat Engineers).

Use the proper figures for the Allied Mobile Artillery unit (Troops 14 - Mobile Artillery).

Tiger Tank rules are in effect (Troops 16 - Tigers).

The Axis armor unit marked with a Tank Destroyer badge is a Tank Destroyer unit (Troops 24 - Tank Destroyers).

Special Weapon Asset late war rules (SWAs 4 - Special Weapon Assets, Late War) are in effect for the units equipped with Mortars (SWAs 6 - Mortar) and Machine Guns (SWAs 7 - Machine Gun). Place the proper figure with these units.


Good catch! It is hard to say whether Richard made an exception even in his own rules here. I guess you are going to have to wait on an answer from Richard or Antoine. In the interim, I would just play it as written and give each Field General 2 cards to start.
Cool

Quote:

- Can a FG who has got no card this turn play a Combat Card, regardless the result of the Initiative Roll?

To attempt an answer your second question; it seems that Combat Cards are meant to enhance the ORDERS given to a Field General. If the Field General receives no orders and uses the Initiative roll and gains an order for a unit, THEN and ONLY THEN would I think that you could use the Combat Card to enhance or modify that order. If no ORDER is received (Grenade = loss of figure or Flag - retreat one unit). then the Field General may not use the card.

One other thing to consider.
If the CinC plays TFH and each Field General rolls 4 dice and receives orders for his/her units, then I also believe the Combat Card can be used to enhance or modify these orders as well.

[Aktualisiert am: Mon, 24 December 2012 14:33]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2247
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:Combat Cards & Overlord Mon, 24 December 2012 14:51
stevens wrote on Mon, 24 December 2012 08:16

Good catch! It is hard to say whether Richard made an exception even in his own rules here. I guess you are going to have to wait on an answer from Richard or Antoine. In the interim, I would just play it as written and give each Field General 2 cards to start.
Cool

I can confirm Achtung Panzer's comment. 2 Combat cards is correct for Bruyeres (as always, scenario-specific rules prevail over what's printed on the summary card), and at WBC this summer, Richard said that his group has been using 2 per FG lately.

However, since no official change to the rules has been published, it should be treated as a house rule.

And, to stevens's comment, a Combat card can be played on any ordered unit, whether it's ordered by an FG card, TFH, or an initiative roll. I'd further posit that some offensive cards Reinforcements, Air Bombardment, and Armor Factory) don't even require the FG to have a card.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 890
Registriert:
November 2011
Re:Combat Cards & Overlord Mon, 24 December 2012 18:39
Hello and thanks to all for the replies.

The question about a Combat Card came up because one of the FG who had not gotten a card, had the "Reinforcement" combat card.

Can he use it? I'd say YES but I'm seeing others saying no.

Not sure though.

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 25 December 2012 09:43]

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 603
Registriert:
October 2005
Re:Combat Cards & Overlord Mon, 24 December 2012 20:22
I think if you can play the combat card along with Dig-In, then an FG could play it without any ordered units.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2247
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:Combat Cards & Overlord Tue, 25 December 2012 00:53
The Reinforcements card says, "Play this card before ordering any units." If I were the GM, I'd rule that it could be played without receiving a Command card.

But the unit wouldn't be able to battle without a Command card or initiative roll.
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Christmas Gift
Nächstes Thema:Vassal vs. DoW Online
Gehen Sie zum Forum: