Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Command Cars Entering Hedgehogs?
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3069
Registriert:
February 2007
Command Cars Entering Hedgehogs? Wed, 20 February 2013 19:26
This is going to be one for the FAQ.
All other vehicles state in their rules at some point that they may not enter HEDGEHOGS or they state that they function like other units which have that restriction. However, in the short blurb which describes the rules for Command Cars in the Equipment Pack Rulebook, there is no restriction listed. In fact, there is no restriction listed in the Card Compendium either. I would venture that this is an oversight by DOW and could be remedied by an entry in the FAQ.

Can anyone find any written basis to disallow this?
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 895
Registriert:
November 2011
Re:Command Cars Entering Hedgehogs? Wed, 20 February 2013 20:22
stevens wrote on Wed, 20 February 2013 19:26

This is going to be one for the FAQ.
All other vehicles state in their rules at some point that they may not enter HEDGEHOGS or they state that they function like other units which have that restriction. However, in the short blurb which describes the rules for Command Cars in the Equipment Pack Rulebook, there is no restriction listed. In fact, there is no restriction listed in the Card Compendium either. I would venture that this is an oversight by DOW and could be remedied by an entry in the FAQ.

Can anyone find any written basis to disallow this?



Even though in the Command Car summary card it is stated that
Command Car Summary Card


- Treated as Infantry, for all purposes

http://cdn0.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_compendium_troop_20.jpg

There is an upcoming entry to the FAQ stating that they are considered vehicles:

Update to the FAQ


Q: Which units are considered Vehicles in Memoir '44?
A: Vehicles are Armor units (including Hobart's Funnies, Tigers, and Tank Destroyers), Patrol Cars, Command Cars, Half-Tracks, and Supply Trucks. The following are not considered Vehicles: Artillery (including Mobile Artillery), Trains, Landing Craft, Aircraft Carriers, Destroyers, Airplanes, and Cavalry.



http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=252245#msg_252245

So I'd agree with you and I'd say that they can't enter an hex with a hedgehog on it.

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 20 February 2013 20:54]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3069
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Command Cars Entering Hedgehogs? Wed, 20 February 2013 21:57
Yes, it would be clearest to say that NO VEHICLES may enter a hex with a Hedgehog, but that is up to DOW to say to be OFFICIAL. Because the Command Car does not appear in the list of VEHICLES, you could still presume something else.

As of now, it is just our OPINION that it is a VEHICLE. Laughing Laughing

[Aktualisiert am: Wed, 20 February 2013 21:59]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7133
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Command Cars Entering Hedgehogs? Thu, 21 February 2013 00:13
stevens wrote on Thu, 21 February 2013 00:57

Yes, it would be clearest to say that NO VEHICLES may enter a hex with a Hedgehog, but that is up to DOW to say to be OFFICIAL. Because the Command Car does not appear in the list of VEHICLES, you could still presume something else.

As of now, it is just our OPINION that it is a VEHICLE. Laughing Laughing


I'm confused why you are saying that it isn't in the list of Vehicles...the Command Car is clearly under the "Vehicle" heading in the Equipment Pack rule book and it is clearly included in the list of "Vehicles" that Almilcar quoted from the upcoming FAQ update.

Command Cars are clearly vehicles.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3069
Registriert:
February 2007
Re:Command Cars Entering Hedgehogs? Thu, 21 February 2013 00:35
Quote:

Q: Which units are considered Vehicles in Memoir '44?
A: Vehicles are Armor units (including Hobart's Funnies, Tigers, and Tank Destroyers), Patrol Cars, Command Cars, Half-Tracks, and Supply Trucks. The following are not considered Vehicles: Artillery (including Mobile Artillery), Trains, Landing Craft, Aircraft Carriers, Destroyers, Airplanes, and Cavalry.


Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed
Dear Jim - Read CAREFULLY before posting.

Thanks Ras!

Another case of shooting first and asking questions later. I will amend ALL MY POSTS.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 21 February 2013 00:38]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7133
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Command Cars Entering Hedgehogs? Thu, 21 February 2013 00:37
stevens wrote on Thu, 21 February 2013 03:35

Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed
Dear Jim - Read CAREFULLY before posting.

Thanks Ras!

Another case of shooting first and asking questions later. I will amend ALL MY POSTS.


No problem. Cool

I'm happy to clearify!! Laughing
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 895
Registriert:
November 2011
Re:Command Cars Entering Hedgehogs? Thu, 21 February 2013 20:15
stevens wrote on Thu, 21 February 2013 00:35

Quote:

Q: Which units are considered Vehicles in Memoir '44?
A: Vehicles are Armor units (including Hobart's Funnies, Tigers, and Tank Destroyers), Patrol Cars, Command Cars, Half-Tracks, and Supply Trucks. The following are not considered Vehicles: Artillery (including Mobile Artillery), Trains, Landing Craft, Aircraft Carriers, Destroyers, Airplanes, and Cavalry.


Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed
Dear Jim - Read CAREFULLY before posting.

Thanks Ras!

Another case of shooting first and asking questions later. I will amend ALL MY POSTS.


Also, probably my bad. I should have bolded/highlighted the text so you had noticed that they are considered vehicles easily.

Next time I will set more emphasis in the relevant text.

Cheers!
      
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 231
Registriert:
March 2010
Re:Command Cars Entering Hedgehogs? Thu, 21 February 2013 20:33
stevens wrote on Thu, 21 February 2013 03:56

This is going to be one for the FAQ.
All other vehicles state in their rules at some point that they may not enter HEDGEHOGS or they state that they function like other units which have that restriction. However, in the short blurb which describes the rules for Command Cars in the Equipment Pack Rulebook, there is no restriction listed. In fact, there is no restriction listed in the Card Compendium either. I would venture that this is an oversight by DOW and could be remedied by an entry in the FAQ.

Can anyone find any written basis to disallow this?



The rules for the command cars would suggest to me they can enter a hedgehog hex since there is no restriction and the rules state that the command car is treated as infantry for all purposes (and inf can enter a hedgehog)
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Occasional infidelity
Nächstes Thema:Two New Awards
Gehen Sie zum Forum: