Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Small World - English » [BUG] berserk sorcerer
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Mohreb el Yasim
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
March 2013
[BUG] berserk sorcerer Sun, 16 March 2014 20:48
There seem to be a bug with the berserk sorcerer combination, the dices are re-rolled when the ability is used. so one can roll 0 and if he does not like it just use the ability that time to re-roll. I am sure it is not intended (nor documented in the rules of the board game / PC version)
Sorry if it is not the place for bug reports, haven't find where this should go, please move if there is a support sub-forum i've missed.
      
DAC cazaron
Senior Member
Aspirante

Nachrichten: 223
Registriert:
May 2012
Re:[BUG] berserk sorcerer Sun, 16 March 2014 20:57
Not technically a bug. Berserk lets you re-roll before every action, using the race power is an action.
Sure, it's annoying, but consider the following:

- You have to be in a position to be able to use the sorcerer power
- You have to have excess tokens to be able to use after the sorcerer flip in order for the extra dice roll to have any value.
- You have to get Berserk Sorcerers, an unlikely combo as it stands (due to basic mathematics)
- You may still roll another zero, as it's 50% odds.

It's a clever way to use Berserk. But I don't believe it's a bug.
      
Mohreb el Yasim
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
March 2013
Re:[BUG] berserk sorcerer Sun, 16 March 2014 23:06
In this case it should be stated in the rules, so it is not the case (neither computer nor the board-game version).
I said it is a bug as it was not mentioned by the rules. So the game or the rulebook has a bug in it.

[Aktualisiert am: Sun, 16 March 2014 23:07]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 7127
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:[BUG] berserk sorcerer Sun, 16 March 2014 23:32
Mohreb el Yasim wrote on Sun, 16 March 2014 15:06

In this case it should be stated in the rules, so it is not the case (neither computer nor the board-game version).
I said it is a bug as it was not mentioned by the rules. So the game or the rulebook has a bug in it.


It is in the rules though.

Berserk - roll before the conquest on each turn.

Sorcerer - use the "zap" power against a lone enemy token any turn.

So if the Berserk roll isn't favorable, the Sorcerer simply uses his power. The turn is over so the Berserk power rolls again. It's a legal move, and follows the rules for both powers.
      
Mohreb el Yasim
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
March 2013
Re:[BUG] berserk sorcerer Mon, 17 March 2014 00:41
rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 16 March 2014 18:32


It is in the rules though.

Berserk - roll before the conquest on each turn.

Sorcerer - use the "zap" power against a lone enemy token any turn.

So if the Berserk roll isn't favorable, the Sorcerer simply uses his power. The turn is over so the Berserk power rolls again. It's a legal move, and follows the rules for both powers.


If i read the rules (below). It says: you can conquer a region by substituting. And berserker says you roll before conquer then select a region then you place the needed tokens. In that order. so technically if you rolled, you need to place tokens to conquer. (there is no mention of cases where you might not place the tokens as in the rule)

Quote:

Sorcerers
Once per turn per opponent, your Sorcerers
can conquer a Region by substituting one of
your opponent's Active tokens with one of
your own taken from the storage tray. If
there are no more tokens in the storage tray,
then you cannot conquer a new Region in this way. The token
your Sorcerers replaces must be the only race token in its Region
(A single Troll token with its Troll's Lair is considered alone for this
purpose; likewise for a Race token in a Fortress or on a Mountain,
these markers provide no protection to a lone Race token) and
that Region must be adjacent to one of your Sorcerers'. Place
the substituted opponent's Race token back into the storage tray.
If an Elf is converted by a Sorcerer, the Elf does lose his token.
Berserk
You may use the Reinforcement die before
each of your conquests, rather than just the
last one of your turn. Roll the die first; select
the Region you wish to conquer; then place
the required number of Race tokens (minus
the die results) there.
If you do not have enough tokens left, this
is your final conquest attempt for the turn. As usual, a minimum
of 1 token is still required to attempt the conquest.


also you have written (but not important for this subject):
roll before the conquest on each turn => i guess you meant:
may roll before each conquest on each turn

      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Delete
Gehen Sie zum Forum: