Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Memoir '44 - English » Roads crossing rivers, railroads - and roadblocks
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
Zalamence
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 109
Registriert:
June 2010
Roads crossing rivers, railroads - and roadblocks Sat, 28 June 2014 10:55
Not too long ago there was a debate on this forum on whether infantry starting its movement from a road hex with a roadblock obsctacle benefited from the road movement bonus.
The most recent expansion D-Day Landings, in turn, changed the ruling concerning bridges and roads so that bridges no longer stop units getting the bonus.
As a third note, I recall the effect of railroad/roadcross was also modified some time ago.

So what is the current status?
*Roadblocks: Does starting movement from roadblock deny bonus?
*Bridges: Are the new rules in effect only in D-Day Landings?
-And in either case, does starting from a bridge grant bonus?
*Road crossing railroad: What is the correct ruling?
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2266
Registriert:
August 2006
Re:Roads crossing rivers, railroads - and roadblocks Sun, 29 June 2014 03:12
Zalamence wrote on Sat, 28 June 2014 04:55

So what is the current status?
*Roadblocks: Does starting movement from roadblock deny bonus?
IMO, since the road block itself doesn't take up the entire hex, the road movement bonus would apply. (Interestingly, the precedent that comes to mind for me is the reasoning behind the ruling that units on a Mountain hex can't fire over relatively low objects that block line-of-sight.)
Quote:

*Bridges: Are the new rules in effect only in D-Day Landings?
This is a good question and a potentially awkward situation. I seem to recall it being stated in the Forum that certain new rules are intended to replace existing rules, and the booklet seems to be worded that way. However, if you're playing against someone who is only familiar with earlier expansions and you don't discuss it before the game, the opponent would have no idea about those changes. So for all practical purposes I suspect that the default currently would be the "old" rules, unless you and your opponent agree in advance. That's just my guess.
Quote:

-And in either case, does starting from a bridge grant bonus?
If the bridge is part of the road movement bonus, then that would apply whether the unit starts on, passes through, or ends on it.
Quote:

*Road crossing railroad: What is the correct ruling?

Page 16 of the FAQ specifically states that the movement bonus does apply to road/railroad hexes.
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1156
Registriert:
July 2007
Re:Roads crossing rivers, railroads - and roadblocks Mon, 07 July 2014 23:10
I have a question about road/railroad crossings.
Normally, there are 6 hexes around a crossing: 2 road, 2 railroad, and 2 other.
Let's assume for my question the 2 other are countryside.

When armour moves from countryside to crossing, does it have to stop, or can it continue movement on the other countryside hex or even the other hexes?
I know it won't get the road bonus, (only when it starts, stays and ends on the road), but does it have to stop?
I think no, but some of my opponents have been thinking it was yes.
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Let's play overlord : March 23rd - on Vassal
Nächstes Thema:D-Day - Reinforcements & Activation
Gehen Sie zum Forum: