Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Gang of Four - English » Flush ranking
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
jarwell
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
August 2003
Flush ranking Tue, 14 October 2003 15:46
Two questions:

1. Does color matter in Flush ranking? Does a Green Flush with 8 high beat a Yellow Flush with a 6 high.

2. Does it come down to the next highest card to beat a flush. Ex. a yellow flush with 10 high and 7 next highest gets beat by a yellow flush with 10 high and 8 next highest.

      
Yann
-= Crew =-
KS Backer - Skeleton

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 2349
Registriert:
October 2002
Re:Flush ranking Wed, 15 October 2003 19:00
The rule is this:
- to compare two cards, look at the numbers first, then the colors if there is a tie. Two cards are equal if they have both identical number and color.
- to compare two combinations (in flushes and suites), start by comparing the highest cards. If they are equal, consider the second highest cards, etc.

So now, let's look at your examples:

Quote:

Does a Green Flush with 8 high beat a Yellow Flush with a 6 high.
Yes, because 8G > 6Y

Quote:

a yellow flush with 10 high and 7 next highest gets beat by a yellow flush with 10 high and 8 next highest.
Correct, because 10Y=10Y, then 7Y < 8Y

Have fun,

Yann



      
jarwell
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
August 2003
Re:Flush ranking Sat, 18 October 2003 16:39
So, color ranking is ignored.
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3194
Registriert:
October 2002
Re:Flush ranking Sat, 18 October 2003 21:37
Not exactly. Color ranking just takes second seat to numerical ranking, that's all.
eric
      
RandyCox
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 1
Registriert:
March 2004
Re:Flush ranking Mon, 15 March 2004 19:44
Does the same rule apply to pairs? Would a red and green pair of sevens beat a pair of yellow sevens?

--Randy
      
shannon_appel ~ Skotos
Member

Nachrichten: 38
Registriert:
March 2003
Re:Flush ranking Tue, 16 March 2004 01:33
RandyCox wrote on Mon, 15 March 2004 10:44

Does the same rule apply to pairs? Would a red and green pair of sevens beat a pair of yellow sevens?

--Randy


Yes. R7 > Y7.

I'll often curse when my pair of yellow 10s gets beaten by a red/green 10 pair, because I've inevitably convinced myself that only a pair of red 10s will beat them (which is, plainly, wrong; my brain just gets there somehow).

Shannon

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 16 March 2004 01:33]

      
dotburn
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 4
Registriert:
May 2003
Re:Flush ranking Tue, 22 June 2004 14:24
One additional nuance for full houses:

If Player 1 has 3 Yellow 2's and 2 Red Nines
and
Player 2 has 3 Red 2's and 2 Red 3's

who wins may depend on when we look at colour, before or after we look at the pair...

What is the rule?
      
Brice
-= Crew =-
Commandant

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1917
Registriert:
October 2002
Re:Flush ranking Tue, 22 June 2004 15:50
dotburn wrote on Tue, 22 June 2004 14:24

One additional nuance for full houses:

If Player 1 has 3 Yellow 2's and 2 Red Nines
and
Player 2 has 3 Red 2's and 2 Red 3's

who wins may depend on when we look at colour, before or after we look at the pair...

What is the rule?

Usually you have to look at the three-of-a-kind first, then if pure equality, compare the pair.
It means that:
2Y 2Y 2Y 9R 9R < 2R 2R 2R 3R 3R
(because 2Y 2Y 2Y < 2R 2R 2R, and because 2Y < 2R).
Notice we don't even compare the pairs.
      
Dadof8
Junior Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 16
Registriert:
January 2008
Re:Flush ranking Sun, 07 February 2010 08:14
Here's one I came across online tonight:

Hand in play is 2-3-4-7-10 Red. I have in my hand 3-7-9-9-10 Green. Seems I should be able to play the green flush over the red flush as my 10-9 start of my green flush should beat the 10-7 start of the red flush. But, the online game won't let me play the green flush.

Is that a "bug" in the online or am I reading the ranking of the flushes wrong?

Should my green 10-9 flush beat the red 10-7 flush?
      
Franck
-= Crew =-

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 1082
Registriert:
February 2003
Re:Flush ranking Mon, 08 February 2010 15:13
Actually, as Red 10 beats Green 10, there's no need to compare the second cards of the flushes...
That's the reason why you couldn't play your green flush...

      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Ok Nayeli
Nächstes Thema:* Game with more points in table ever*?
Gehen Sie zum Forum: