Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forum

Suche
Forum » Cleopatra and the Society of Architects - English » # of Cards In hand / corruption
Anzeigen: Heutige Nachrichten 
  
VerfasserThema
stroby
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
July 2006
# of Cards In hand / corruption Tue, 04 July 2006 03:39
Little confused on when to take corruption.
It states in the rules that when you visit the market and have more than ten cards you can do one of two options:
Discard down to 10 for 1 corruption.
Keep all cards for 1 corruption per every card over 10

Now this is my question: It does not state that when you visit the quarry you have to take any corruption for having more than 10 cards in your hand.

Example.

I visit the market. Take some cards. My hand total is now 15 cards.
I take 5 corruption for having 15 cards.

Next Turn.

I visit the quarry. I only spend 3 cards on an object. I am therefor left with 12 cards in my hand. Do I take corruption again at the end of visiting the quarry since I still have over 10 cards in my hand or do I only take corruption after visiting the market?

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 04 July 2006 03:41]

      
holywolfman
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 5
Registriert:
May 2005
  Re:# of Cards In hand / corruption Tue, 04 July 2006 19:38
I had trouble with this to at first...

the rule says: "At the END of a player's turn...if you have more than 10 cards..."

http://img485.imageshack.us/img485/9216/csoarule11xx.png

just before you say "pass"... count your cards and deal with corruption then!

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 04 July 2006 19:48]

      
stroby
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 2
Registriert:
July 2006
Re:# of Cards In hand / corruption Tue, 04 July 2006 19:54
Thanks Holy...
We will play it that way.

I read that section of rules, but since it was under the topic of "Visit The Market", we were not sure that the same rules applied when you went to "Visit The Quarry".

Thanks for the response.
      
holywolfman
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 5
Registriert:
May 2005
Re:# of Cards In hand / corruption Tue, 04 July 2006 19:56
Basically...the only time you have to check for hand size is when you go to the Market (if you go to the Quarry...you already checked for hand size the last time you went to the Market)- not to confuse you more!-lol Very Happy

So...if you have more than 10 cards (and paid the corruption last turn you went to the Market) and this turn you go to the quarry...you wouldn't have to pay the penalty again.

Also...(normally) multiple cards will be spent and discarded as you go to the Quarry and build.

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 04 July 2006 20:00]

      
holywolfman
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 5
Registriert:
May 2005
Re:# of Cards In hand / corruption Tue, 04 July 2006 19:59
(Hope that helps)- Razz

[Aktualisiert am: Tue, 04 July 2006 20:00]

      
reverendvader
Member
Cadet

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 94
Registriert:
November 2005
Re:# of Cards In hand / corruption Sun, 09 July 2006 08:18
holywolfman wrote on Tue, 04 July 2006 11:56

Basically...the only time you have to check for hand size is when you go to the Market (if you go to the Quarry...you already checked for hand size the last time you went to the Market)- not to confuse you more!-lol Very Happy

So...if you have more than 10 cards (and paid the corruption last turn you went to the Market) and this turn you go to the quarry...you wouldn't have to pay the penalty again.

Also...(normally) multiple cards will be spent and discarded as you go to the Quarry and build.


In essence, the rule only effectively applies to a turn in which you visit the market. That's why it's only mentioned in the "Visit the Market" section of the rules.

It's too difficult for most people to remember how many cards they had last turn and whether or not they received however many corruption tokens... etc. etc. etc.

My understanding of the rules is that you only "pay the price" for extra cards during a turn in which you visit the market.
      
infocynic
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 18
Registriert:
March 2005
Re:# of Cards In hand / corruption Thu, 13 July 2006 07:36
A better question is "why did you go to the quarry with 14+ cards and only build one item?" Smile I'm sure it's possible to have a terrible setup where you have 1 artist and 10 wood and 3 stone and no wilds left, but that's pushing it a bit. Smile

Still, I suppose it's worth finding an official answer. I imagine it's only listed under the market because like I said, you just wouldn't go the quarry with that many cards and not spend enough to get down to 10.

[Aktualisiert am: Thu, 13 July 2006 07:36]

      
GreatDane
Senior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 755
Registriert:
June 2004
Re:# of Cards In hand / corruption Wed, 21 March 2007 15:32
LightInfo wrote on Thu, 13 July 2006 07:36

A better question is "why did you go to the quarry with 14+ cards and only build one item?" Smile I'm sure it's possible to have a terrible setup where you have 1 artist and 10 wood and 3 stone and no wilds left, but that's pushing it a bit. Smile

Still, I suppose it's worth finding an official answer. I imagine it's only listed under the market because like I said, you just wouldn't go the quarry with that many cards and not spend enough to get down to 10.


Your hunch is correct - as can be found by Bruno's reply in the French forum:

Quote:

"effetivement, en théorie tu devrais aussi compter ta main après un passage à la carrière...
ceci dit, quand tu vas à la carrière, en général tu as intér^t à construire tout ce que tu peux, pour obtenir les bonus de construction (sans lesquels il est bien difficile de gagner)..

donc, ds la pratique, je n'ai jamais vu qq avec plus de 10 cartes en main après construction, même si c'est théoriquement possible.

C'est pour ça qu'on a pas rajouté une ligne de règle ds c paragraphe pour ne pas alourdir le texte."


Now, my French is a little rusty, but the gist of the reply is that

"in theory you should also check the hand limit after Building. That said, you would normally build all you can in order to score as many bonus points as possible, so in practice you will never have more than 10 cards at the end of a Building turn. I have never seen anyone with hand of 10 cards after Building, even though it is theoretically possible. This is why it was decided not to clutter the paragraph with this text."
      
AK_Aramis
Senior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 399
Registriert:
January 2006
Re:# of Cards In hand / corruption Wed, 21 March 2007 20:14
I've explained it to players this way:

As you leave the market, you must either keep all, taking corruption for each card over 10, or discard down to 10. If you discard, you take one corruption.

      
karlstroff
Junior Member

Nachrichten: 3
Registriert:
April 2007
Re:# of Cards In hand / corruption Mon, 30 July 2007 23:18
Here is a scenario that happened in an actual game with five players.

A) I had eight (8) cards in my hand

B) I picked a stack of three card from the market, giving me a total of eleven (11) cards. I took one corruption to keep the extra card.

C) On my next turn, I again went to the market, and picked a stack of five cards, giving me a total of sixteen (16) cards.

D) I played the smuggler card, taking one corruption, leaving me with fifteen (15) cards.

E) On my next turn, I went to the quarry and spent six cards on two itemss. Note that I would have liked to build more, but just because of some bad draws, I just did not have the correct combinations to build more than just the two items. This now left me with nine (9) cards.

F) Before rolling the dice for the altar, I played the beggar card, took a corruption, which reduced my hand temporarily to eight cards, but I was able to to collect a card from each of my four opponents. Hence I ended up with twelve (12) cards in my hand, after having built two items from the quarry!

G) My oppenents and I agreed that I should not have to take another corruption, since the "check for more than 10 cards" rule is listed under the "go to market" section and not in the "go to quarry" section.

H) However, my oppenents and I felt somewhat uncomfortable with this situation. We would like a clarification from the game authors: Does the "check for more than 10 cards" apply only on going to the market? Or should it also occur whenever a player is completing a turn (also when going to the quarry)?

[Aktualisiert am: Mon, 30 July 2007 23:19]

      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

Fan-Seite
Nachrichten: 3326
Registriert:
February 2006
Re:# of Cards In hand / corruption Tue, 31 July 2007 00:29
The rules state only when you go to market do you check for corruption. One of the designers said it should have been all the time but conceded the rules state otherwise. The discussion is around here somewhere.
      
    
Vorheriges Thema:Can't Decide on What to Purchase
Nächstes Thema:Can I use "smuggler" card for such situation?
Gehen Sie zum Forum: