Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Simple Archer/Forest Question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
dikfox
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 20
Registered:
August 2007
Simple Archer/Forest Question Tue, 21 August 2007 17:59
If archers occupy a forest hex, can they fire out of it?
      
guest374110
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
August 2007
Re:Simple Archer/Forest Question Tue, 21 August 2007 18:19
Yes with a maximum of 2 dice. Which as it happens is what archers have anyway....

      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Simple Archer/Forest Question Tue, 21 August 2007 18:19
Yes. Typically, the terrain that you are standing on does not prevent you from doing anything. Itg may reduce the number of dice you can toss but usually doesn't prevent you from attacking. [One exception is Cliffs and melee]
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1597
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Simple Archer/Forest Question Tue, 21 August 2007 20:24
Since I met dixfox on Vassal today and showed him various examples of LoS with the archers and thus able to see.

Since obviously if there is another forest in the way, it would block LoS. Used adventure #7, with the forest on the far right (for Player 2) to explain.

Cab
      
dikfox
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 20
Registered:
August 2007
Re:Simple Archer/Forest Question Tue, 21 August 2007 20:39
Thanks guys!
      
dikfox
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 20
Registered:
August 2007
Re:Simple Archer/Forest Question Tue, 21 August 2007 20:54
Follow up - Can another range unit hit an archer unit a couple hexes away that is standing on a tree hex, if there is no other LoS blocks?
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Simple Archer/Forest Question Tue, 21 August 2007 21:23
dikfox wrote on Tue, 21 August 2007 13:54

Follow up - Can another range unit hit an archer unit a couple hexes away that is standing on a tree hex, if there is no other LoS blocks?

Yes. Typically, LOS is not affected by the terrain under either unit in the battle. So if the terrain between does not block LOS and the units are within range, they may attack each other. (Rule of thumb - if Unit A has LOS to Unit B, then B also has LOS to A)
      
Captain Kremmen
Member
Oberleutnant

Posts: 46
Registered:
August 2007
Re:Simple Archer/Forest Question Tue, 21 August 2007 23:01
Sorry I can't remember where it is, but somewhere on this site (I think unless it was BGG) there is a one page picture showing a nummber of different LOS examples. It is a good one to print out and keep with new players. Anyone remember where it is?

Cpt K
      
--JP
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 289
Registered:
December 2004
Re:Simple Archer/Forest Question Tue, 21 August 2007 23:14
it's in the section of the 'official' scenarios...and an excellent reference.
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Simple Archer/Forest Question Tue, 21 August 2007 23:20
Captain Kremmen wrote on Tue, 21 August 2007 16:01

Sorry I can't remember where it is, but somewhere on this site (I think unless it was BGG) there is a one page picture showing a nummber of different LOS examples. It is a good one to print out and keep with new players. Anyone remember where it is?

Cpt K

Here's the link....

http://www.daysofwonder.com/battlelore/en/battlelore_editor/ view/?id=1064&returnto=app
      
    
Previous Topic:Newbie question
Next Topic:Utter Chaos, lovely however
Goto Forum: