Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Question to DoW about Medieval Lore deck makeup
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1595
Registered:
May 2004
Question to DoW about Medieval Lore deck makeup Fri, 24 August 2007 02:36
In regards to the Medieval Lore deck, found the following items to be odd

1) The Wizard's "Invoke Lore" card (as well Cleric's "Summon Lore" card) remained in the deck, since it cost 4 lore to get 4 lore (i.e. net wash of 0). The only reason why I would think they allow that card is to allow for the possibility of "nothing magical" happened during that battle turn. Of course, it could have been an oversight on DoW's part too.

2) Rogue's "Foiled" was removed but not the Wizard's "Dispel Lore". Both do the same thing. I would think, in this case, one would want both or neither. And thus not have only 1 card in the deck that can cancel a lore card, versus the 2 we do have.

3) Rogue's "Terrified" card removed , but not Cleric's "Divine Terror" - which does the same. Not a big issue unlike #2 above, but just odd.
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Question to DoW about Medieval Lore deck makeup Fri, 24 August 2007 03:42
1) Read the rules again Wink Take ALL warrior cards... Take all rougue cards EXCEPT... Take ONLY the Wizard and Cleric cards listed. Invoke Lore is not included in the deck.

2) Likewise, Dispel Lore is not included in the deck

3) Likewise, Divine Terror is not included in the deck.

Your medieval lore deck should only have 15 Warrior + 10 Rougue + 2 Wizard + 2 Cleric for a total of 29 Cards.

[Updated on: Fri, 24 August 2007 04:35]

      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1595
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Question to DoW about Medieval Lore deck makeup Fri, 24 August 2007 06:50
Yes I know CF, but found it odd that one of the 2 cards of the same type was removed and not the other.

I can live with the 1st question, since it could be DoW's intent, like I stated previously, of saying "Nothing major happened this turn".

But with having so many lore cards and only keeping 1 lore card in hand, having 2 dispel cards might be good (of course, we could have that classic match that each one has them, waiting for the other to cast the lore card..and I probably laugh my head off if it happened too!).

Thus the questions to make sure there was no oversight, since there have been some issues and making sure there was none there.

And if not, sure would be nice to see why, especially when 1 of the like cards was kept but not the other, if possible.

Cab
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Question to DoW about Medieval Lore deck makeup Fri, 24 August 2007 13:06
Seriously Caboose, are you in some Alternate reality tonite? You're telling me Answers aren't in the compendium and now you are completely misreading the rules and the answer I gave! Am I on Candid Camera???? Very Happy

THERE IS NO SITUATION WHERE ONE CARD IS REMOVED AND THE OTHER IS NOT.

Show me where Dispel Lore is included in the deck? It is not in there. They only two Wizard Cards in are #4 Eagle Eye and #9 Mass Speed. There is no Dispel Lore.

Please, go read the rule book again carefully and you will see what i am talking about.
      
Captain Kremmen
Member
Oberleutnant

Posts: 46
Registered:
August 2007
Re:Question to DoW about Medieval Lore deck makeup Fri, 24 August 2007 15:14
Gentlemen,

May i ask where the rules for medieval Lore deck are? They sound interesting to me.

Which of the different lore council are you still allowed to take?

Thanks in advance

Andy (Cpt Kremmen)
      
bcpravel
Member
First Lieutenant

Posts: 34
Registered:
December 2005
Re:Question to DoW about Medieval Lore deck makeup Fri, 24 August 2007 15:29
The detailed rules are in the 100 years war set, but a summary is that there is no war council and you simply use the more "realistic" cards in the lore deck (like the warrior abilities).

As a side note, what is the policy for quoting entire rules like this? I'd hate to post these rules on the internet without permission from DoW.
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Question to DoW about Medieval Lore deck makeup Fri, 24 August 2007 15:40
No War Council so everyone is out of character. Therefore every card costs you 3 more Lore. The deck is built with all of the Warrior cards; 10 of the Rogue (which I don't remember since I am at work now - I think you EXCLUDE: Pick Pocket, Deja Vu, Spy, Dispel Lore, and 1 more); only 2 Wizard cards (Eagle Eye and Mass Speed); only 2 Cleric Cards (not sure again - i think it is Stone Skin and Move as the Wind).

You can discuss the rules all you want. Just don't post scans of them.
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1595
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Question to DoW about Medieval Lore deck makeup Fri, 24 August 2007 16:16
ColtsFan76 wrote on Fri, 24 August 2007 07:40

No War Council so everyone is out of character. Therefore every card costs you 3 more Lore. The deck is built with all of the Warrior cards; 10 of the Rogue (which I don't remember since I am at work now - I think you EXCLUDE: Pick Pocket, Deja Vu, Spy, Dispel Lore, and 1 more); only 2 Wizard cards (Eagle Eye and Mass Speed); only 2 Cleric Cards (not sure again - i think it is Stone Skin and Move as the Wind).

You can discuss the rules all you want. Just don't post scans of them.


The other Rogue card missing is "False Orders"

Cleric is "Move as the Wind" AND "Bless", not Stone Skin

Not bad CF..for remembering 7 of the 9 cards..guess that would be passing in the eyes of the government (ROFL!)

Cab
p.s. agreed, don't post scans.
p.s.s. Hopefully we can get back on topic Smile
      
Captain Kremmen
Member
Oberleutnant

Posts: 46
Registered:
August 2007
Re:Question to DoW about Medieval Lore deck makeup Fri, 24 August 2007 19:01
Thankyou, i will purchase the 100 year expansion when it is available around here.

Cpt K
      
    
Previous Topic:The Lost Adventure - #38
Next Topic:Unacceptable - No card replacements?
Goto Forum: