Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Brignais -- do archers count as infantry?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
paulvbrown
Junior Member

Posts: 20
Registered:
December 2005
Brignais -- do archers count as infantry? Mon, 27 August 2007 22:35
hi -- got an ongoing game on Vassal where we're playing scenario 15, Brignais. Part of the special rules are: Pennant infantry attack w/4d if on elevated terrain, whether hill-to-hill or hill-to-"plain". The way we've interpreted this is that this rule applies for green, blue and red units all, but 1 question was whether or not to consider the archers as "infantry".

This is likely a no-brainer, but as one w/no military background, my concepts go like: cavalry = on horseback, infantry = on foot... and the archers are definitely on foot.
      
Roobarb
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 1004
Registered:
May 2007
Re:Brignais -- do archers count as infantry? Mon, 27 August 2007 22:44
i would say youer right i mean there not on horseback and there not creatures it as you sed seems like a no brainer to me as well
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Brignais -- do archers count as infantry? Tue, 28 August 2007 00:44
I've been meaning to post this question as well for months, but never seem to remember too. Right now, unless a player feels strongly one way or another, we just roll the die and let it tell us which way to go.
      
Roobarb
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 1004
Registered:
May 2007
Re:Brignais -- do archers count as infantry? Tue, 28 August 2007 01:20
maybe its not a no brainer after all but if there not what are they ?
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Brignais -- do archers count as infantry? Tue, 28 August 2007 01:37
The more proper term would have been to use "foot units" instead of "infantry." In game terms, "infantry" has never been defined while "foot unit" has. If they then wanted to exclude Archers, they could have stated something like "non-ranged foot units."

Given all that and the context of the story of this scenario, it seems they mean ALL foot units. They have already restricted it to just melee attacks so ranged attacks are excluded. The thought behind the 4 dice if on elevated terrain is that they are tossing down stones upon the enemy. In order to do that, you must cast aside your bow just as easily as your sword to be able to do that. And tossing rocks is just as easy if you are a swordsmen or an archer I would presume.

So in this context, I say, Yes, archers are infantry and roll 4 dice in melee if they are on an elevated terrain.
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Brignais -- do archers count as infantry? Thu, 20 September 2007 14:09
Another question about this adventure: does p1 get a stronghold (having a level 3 Commander)?

I've been playing that since the notes don't say there is one and nothing about landmark rules, no stronghold. But I'm not sure it that is the case. Anybody else?
      
Roobarb
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 1004
Registered:
May 2007
Re:Brignais -- do archers count as infantry? Thu, 20 September 2007 15:28
on page 68 of the players handebook has the rules for strongholds but to save you the bother yes and if p2 also has a l3 commander they also must have a stronghold Smile
      
liwargamer
Senior Member

Posts: 110
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Brignais -- do archers count as infantry? Thu, 20 September 2007 18:30
The way I see it, Archers on foot= Infantry. Archers on Horse ( Horse Archers)= Cavalry.
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Brignais -- do archers count as infantry? Thu, 20 September 2007 23:03
Roobarb wrote on Thu, 20 September 2007 07:28

on page 68 of the players handebook has the rules for strongholds but to save you the bother yes and if p2 also has a l3 commander they also must have a stronghold Smile


The only reason I see some ambiguity is that adventure 9 specifically says no landmarks and adventure 10 specifically says to use landmarks, so I'm not sure if in #15 landmarks are in play or not. Addtionally a reason I think not is that the adventure uses prebuilt war councils. Another precedent for this is that no rockpile is used for the hill giant in #13 (at least I think it's 13...). Anyway, the way I see it, p1 could certainly use it and not tilt the balance of the scenario beyond playable by any means - just that I like to play by the same rules as my faceless vassal mate Smile A yes or no from DoW would be appreciated (by me if not anyone else Wink ).
      
stenic
Senior Member
Major

Posts: 136
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Brignais -- do archers count as infantry? Fri, 21 September 2007 23:26
Not sure they need to define 'infantry' as the dictionary already has done so as troops that fight on foot.

Steve P
      
    
Previous Topic:any reason to construct a cta deck other than Pennants C and Standards B?
Next Topic:Hundred Year War: DVD and Movies
Goto Forum: