Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » 2 Questions
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
MadJackMcMad
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 25
Registered:
June 2004
2 Questions Tue, 22 June 2004 14:17
OK:
1. In terms of the retreat dice it says that this only applies after all hits and casualties are removed.
What came up before was that 2 seperate Allied Infantry units decided to attack 1 German Infantry Unit.
The first Allied unit attacked and rolled 2 hits and 1 flag. 2 units were removed from the Germans.
Then the second Allied unit attacked (before the German unit retreated 1 hex) and rolled 2 hits and therefore they were eliminated before they retreated.
Is this correct? Or should the full results of the first attacking unit apply, ie. 2 hits and 1 retreat and then the second Allied unit battles with fewer dice due to the now increased distance between the German unit and itself?
2. On the wire hex it says Armor must remove the wire and may still battle. How does this work?
Does it mean the Armor automatically runs over the wire as it moves into the Hex and can therefore battle as normal or does it have to reduce, say 1 of its 3 attack dice to do so?

Many thanks for your answers.
      
Tomski
Member
Cadet

Posts: 43
Registered:
December 2003
Re:2 Questions Tue, 22 June 2004 14:28
i think...
you battle unit by unit, so your first unit would battle, that gets resolved with the retreat and then your second unit battles, either at the same unit if in range, another if you so choose, or not at all if there are no actions.

Also, wire is removed as the tank enters the hex. It can then battle normally. Or, a tank can roll through a hex, remove the wire and be followed by infantry who can then treat it as a normal/blank hex (ie no need to stop)

But thats all unofficial of course Smile
      
gt8595b
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 24
Registered:
June 2004
Re:2 Questions Tue, 22 June 2004 14:30
1. i believe the rules state that an entire fight and all its results must be applied before the next fight is rolled. so the unit would retreat before the second allied got to fight. we were playing incorectly for a while where i thought the rule was you had to declare all attacks before you rolled them and thus if a unit retreated behind blocking terrain or out of range then any other units that targeted it would be out of luck.
2. yeah, no matter what happens the tanks destroy the wire. i gues this is so that whoever the wire is protecting (placed as an obstacle to the other side) is forced to destroy their own wire if their own tanks roll over the wire.
      
wayner2d2
Member

User Pages
Posts: 62
Registered:
June 2004
Re:2 Questions Tue, 22 June 2004 16:50
Each battle is resolved seperately. In the example provided, the retreat is resolved before the next ordered unit carries out its battle order.
      
MadJackMcMad
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 25
Registered:
June 2004
Re:2 Questions Tue, 22 June 2004 17:43
Thanks All.
Thats now really clear - as long as you're all correct, of course!
      
Bilben04
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 105
Registered:
June 2004
Re:2 Questions Tue, 22 June 2004 19:40
They are mostly right and here are the rules references that you can check yourself.

1. Page 8, section 4 - Battle, first paragraph, second sentence: "You must announce and resolve one unit's battle entirely before beginning the next one." Since retreats are the result of battle dice, you must resolve them before rolling for another unit's battle.

2. Page 16, under Wire, last sentence after Battle: "Armor must remove the Wire and may still battle." Only infantry in a Wire hex have to reduce their battle dice as is clear in the preceding sentence. Someone said that Armor could "roll through" and this is wrong. They must still stop after entering the hex with the Wire as it says in the Movement section.
      
swinkelp
Junior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 20
Registered:
May 2004
Re:2 Questions Wed, 23 June 2004 08:08
Bilben04 wrote on Tue, 22 June 2004 19:40

They are mostly right and here are the rules references that you can check yourself.

Someone said that Armor could "roll through" and this is wrong. They must still stop after entering the hex with the Wire as it says in the Movement section.


What if an armour unit needs to retreat two hexes and ends up in wire on its first retreat hex? Does it:

  1. remove the wire?
  2. lose one armour because it has to stop and cannot retreat for the second flag?

We play it by these rules...
      
Benji
Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 94
Registered:
May 2004
Re:2 Questions Wed, 23 June 2004 08:59
Retreat-Rules (page 10, 2nd bullet):

"Terrain has no effect on retreat moves,therefore a retreating unit may move through a forest or village without stopping. However, impassable terrain may not be moved through during a retreat move."

Meaning that the armour does NOT have to stop.

Is the wire still removed? I vote "yes" (they are probably destroying their own wire while retreating).

[Updated on: Wed, 23 June 2004 09:00]

      
    
Previous Topic:Scenario 9 Question
Next Topic:Optional Mine Rules
Goto Forum: