Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » FAQ: Do bridges block LOS?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Marz
Junior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 1
Registered:
June 2004
FAQ: Do bridges block LOS? Tue, 22 June 2004 02:24
While every other terrain feature in the set has a notation in the rules, I noticed that bridges have no entry except as a note in the entry on river hexes.

In a case like the bridge at Arnheim, I'd say that the structure blocks LOS. Of course, smaller bridges would probably not.

Any official word? Yes? No? Agree at the start of a game?

[Updated on: Tue, 22 June 2004 02:25]

      
gt8595b
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 24
Registered:
June 2004
Re:FAQ: Do bridges block LOS? Tue, 22 June 2004 03:54
on the terrain aid card for river tiles, it claims that bridges are counted as normal terrain, so i would say they normally don't block LoS BUT the ahwoeiruwldkjf bridge migh be special, if the infantry can't shoot acroos the river, how can the shoot down a bridge which spans that river? so you're right about that needing another looking at.
      
wayner2d2
Member

User Pages
Posts: 62
Registered:
June 2004
Re:FAQ: Do bridges block LOS? Tue, 22 June 2004 12:40
If something works differently than what is stated in the rules there will be notes listed for that scenario. If the bridge mentioned above blocked LOS, then it would say so in the scenario write up.
      
Bilben04
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 105
Registered:
June 2004
Re:FAQ: Do bridges block LOS? Tue, 22 June 2004 20:55
The special rule basically says that infantry cannot shoot over the river. If you read the terrain rules for Rivers in the book, you'll see that they never refer to a bridge hex. They always say "a River hex with a bridge". I think this answers the question, because it indicates that a hex containing a bridge is still considered a River hex. Since the special rule doesn't make exceptions for River hexes with bridges, I'd say it applies to them as well. That's my take on it.
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3194
Registered:
October 2002
Re:FAQ: Do bridges block LOS? Tue, 22 June 2004 20:58
Bilben is correct. As for bridges blocking LOS, yes they do by default. When they don't it will be specified in the scenario's Special Rules section.
eric

[Updated on: Tue, 22 June 2004 21:05]

      
Llama
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 1
Registered:
June 2004
Re:FAQ: Do bridges block LOS? Wed, 23 June 2004 15:32
eric wrote on Tue, 22 June 2004 14:58

Bilben is correct. As for bridges blocking LOS, yes they do by default. When they don't it will be specified in the scenario's Special Rules section.
eric


SHouldn't that be the other way around? That they don't block LOS, and if they do, it will be mentioned in the special rules section?
      
ebill1
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Registered:
April 2004
Re:FAQ: Do bridges block LOS? Wed, 23 June 2004 18:25
good quetions-
after eric's explanation ,i'm confused. bridges do block line of sight. what about units on the bridge; can they be hit? we played arnhem last night & it was a slaughter for the germans.perhaps if the german units coming across can't be seen (line of sight) until they reach the exit hex they would have a better chance.
      
wayner2d2
Member

User Pages
Posts: 62
Registered:
June 2004
Re:FAQ: Do bridges block LOS? Wed, 23 June 2004 18:45
units on a bridge should be able to be hit. for example, a unit on a woods hex can be targeted even though a woods hex blocks line of sight to other units. For the bridge in question you could always impose a -1 modifier to infantry units shooting at the units on the bridge.
      
Yann
-= Crew =-
KS Backer - Skeleton

User Pages
Posts: 2349
Registered:
October 2002
Re:FAQ: Do bridges block LOS? Wed, 23 June 2004 19:23
Sure they can be hit. Woods block the Line of Sight too, but that does not prevent units in woods to be hit !
      
wayner2d2
Member

User Pages
Posts: 62
Registered:
June 2004
Re:FAQ: Do bridges block LOS? Wed, 23 June 2004 20:08
exactly.
      
gt8595b
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 24
Registered:
June 2004
Re:FAQ: Do bridges block LOS? Wed, 23 June 2004 22:12
but what about the terrain aid card for river hexes saying that river hexes with bridge tiles act like normal terrain? OR is it that the bridge tile takes on all the properties of the river tile except that it can be moved on/across. So in normal sceneraios rivers don't block line of sight so bridge tiles on them don't either but when it comes to the Anhiwekljnm bridge the bridge tile does block line of sight becuase the river its on blocks line of sight. is that confusing?
Bridge Tile Properties = River Hex Properties + units can cross
      
wayner2d2
Member

User Pages
Posts: 62
Registered:
June 2004
Re:FAQ: Do bridges block LOS? Wed, 23 June 2004 23:17
It is not that confuseing. any units on the bridge can be targeted as normal. I think that what eric means is that if you try to target a unit and LOS runs through the hex with the bridge on it then LOS is blocked. If the unit in question is on the bridge it can be targeted as normal. the bridge should be counted as an obstruction otherwise.
      
SingleShot
Junior Member
First Lieutenant

Posts: 1
Registered:
February 2006
Re:FAQ: Do bridges block LOS? Sun, 12 March 2006 01:58
The FAQ for the basic game at www.memoir44.com states that bridges do not block line of site:

Quote:


Q. Does a bridge block Line of sight?
A. No



However, the terrain card that comes with the game says they do. From "Rivers & Waterways" card:

Quote:


Bridges block Line of Sight; Rivers do not



So, did the rules change and the FAQ is correct, or is the FAQ wrong?

[Updated on: Sun, 12 March 2006 01:59]

      
Randwulf
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1361
Registered:
March 2005
Re:FAQ: Do bridges block LOS? Sun, 12 March 2006 07:06
the FAQ is right....

and updated as often as needed...

now that does not mean that a special rule in the scenario could make the bridge block LOS.... just have not seen any yet.

But as it stands, bridges do NOT block LOS... a unit on the bridge will, but not the bridge.
      
    
Previous Topic:ocean terrain problem
Next Topic:Counter-Attack card question
Goto Forum: