Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Ties in Reluctant Allies
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
--JP
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 287
Registered:
December 2004
Ties in Reluctant Allies Sat, 06 October 2007 17:33
2 questions:

The RA rules state that the game _ends_ when 1 or both sides score 8 or more points.


1) who wins if both sides have the same score?

2) within a side, which players wins if they both have the same number of 'kills'?

      
Tsugo
Member

Posts: 95
Registered:
January 2007
Re:Ties in Reluctant Allies Sat, 06 October 2007 19:55
There would be no clear winner. It would be a true tie. I guess they could arm wrestle.
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1597
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Ties in Reluctant Allies Mon, 08 October 2007 19:07
As Tsugo stated, no one would win - essentially an "equal" win for all.

But for the 8 RA games I have done, that has yet to happen so far.

Cab
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Ties in Reluctant Allies Mon, 08 October 2007 20:54
Eric stated a while back (under the context of one of the Lore cards that allows both sides to simultaneously loose a unit and both gain a winning banner under certain circumstances) that BL can end in a tie. Since RA goes a step further and allows more opportunity for ties, it seems that this would still be the official stance. They wanted BL to be friendlier than M44 and the other C&C's. Go figure!
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Ties in Reluctant Allies Mon, 08 October 2007 21:21
I haven't had the opportunity to play but half of one RA game, but I envision a messy endgame with some backstabbing (maybe double backstabbing Laughing ) going on as formerly cooperating players vie for the win.
      
mvettemagred
Senior Member

Posts: 266
Registered:
August 2005
Re:Ties in Reluctant Allies Mon, 08 October 2007 21:40
It's been a while since I read the RA rules. Can you attack your ally?
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Ties in Reluctant Allies Mon, 08 October 2007 21:45
mvettemagred wrote on Mon, 08 October 2007 14:40

It's been a while since I read the RA rules. Can you attack your ally?

No, that was the first thing I looked for. However, you can send your allies into battle on your turn! Sending them on a suicide mission is tantamount to attacking him. Not quite taking his hand and slapping him in the face, but taking his hand and slapping your opponent!
      
mvettemagred
Senior Member

Posts: 266
Registered:
August 2005
Re:Ties in Reluctant Allies Wed, 10 October 2007 21:54
I see. So, the backstabbing opportunities would likely be moving your ally's units away from easy kills, or using them on your turn to get the kills for yourself.

I could definitely see situations where your ally tried to kill a unit, but one figure escaped. You swoop in on your next turn and take out the lone figure. Nice!
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Ties in Reluctant Allies Wed, 10 October 2007 23:24
Right. Or sending his unit in to try to force a retreat or otherwise breakup a supporting cluster of enemy units. If it fails, he suffers the battleback. Either way, you can then guage whether you want to make any attacks in that direction if you also ordered your units that turn.
      
    
Previous Topic:Questions, Questions, and More Questions...
Next Topic:Buying promo figure
Goto Forum: