Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » (f)AQ about flags
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Pelly
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Registered:
September 2007
(f)AQ about flags Tue, 09 October 2007 09:38
Hi commanders,
Can somebody answer my question about flag roll and retreat...

When a flag is rolled during a battle and I am allowed to ignore first flag due to a bunker or sandbags, may I decide to NOT ignore it and withdraw my unit when it is strategically advantageous OR do I have to ignore the flag and stay with the unit where it is?

Tanks for ANS, LT. Pelly
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2141
Registered:
October 2004
Re:(f)AQ about flags Tue, 09 October 2007 11:59
Pelly wrote on Tue, 09 October 2007 03:38

Hi commanders,
Can somebody answer my question about flag roll and retreat...

When a flag is rolled during a battle and I am allowed to ignore first flag due to a bunker or sandbags, may I decide to NOT ignore it and withdraw my unit when it is strategically advantageous OR do I have to ignore the flag and stay with the unit where it is?

Tanks for ANS, LT. Pelly



Hi.

Certain terrain and features allow a player to ignore flag results if they wish. This is an option but they may also retreat if they want to.

However there is an exception. If the IJA rules are in effect, Japanese units MUST ignore the first flag rolled against them, if they are in a position that allows a player to ignore a flag, then they MUST ignore the first two flags rolled against them.
Also, if in a Cave, they MUST ignore all flags rolled against them. Note, this does not cause a Japanese unit to lose figs (even if that unit has no retreat path).

Of course any special card (ex Air Power) that states any flags rolled by it's use may not be ignored override the IJA rules and the Japanese Inf in question MUST retreat in that case.
      
Pelly
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Registered:
September 2007
Re:(f)AQ about flags Tue, 09 October 2007 12:20
Who else can earn my tanks then tank commander Razz My thanks go with your tanks ...
      
Modoc31
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Registered:
October 2007
Re:(f)AQ about flags Tue, 09 October 2007 16:37
I have a quick qesution to add.

Do flag rolls stack?

Example: My opponent rolled 1 flag against by units behind a sandbag. I opt to ignore that flag. Next turn he rolls 1 flag against the same units. Do I get the option to ignore the flag again or do the rolls stack and I would have to retreat?

Thanks
Keith
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:(f)AQ about flags Tue, 09 October 2007 16:43
Modoc31 wrote on Tue, 09 October 2007 09:37

I have a quick qesution to add.

Do flag rolls stack?

Example: My opponent rolled 1 flag against by units behind a sandbag. I opt to ignore that flag. Next turn he rolls 1 flag against the same units. Do I get the option to ignore the flag again or do the rolls stack and I would have to retreat?

Thanks
Keith

Each attack (dice roll) is considered separately. So if you have 3 different units attacking the same bunker with an artillery and each of them roll exactly one flag in each of their attacks, the artillery would ignore all of them. They would not stack.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2141
Registered:
October 2004
Re:(f)AQ about flags Tue, 09 October 2007 21:58
Pelly wrote on Tue, 09 October 2007 06:20

Who else can earn my tanks then tank commander Razz My thanks go with your tanks ...


You are most welcome Very Happy
      
labalbi
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 209
Registered:
September 2006
Re:(f)AQ about flags Wed, 31 October 2007 20:17
I had a situation , and I think we (me and friend) played wrong.

I had an INF unit in a sandbag hex surrounded by 3 enemy units : 1 ARM and 2 INF .

They attacked me in the SAME turn . First the enemy INF rolled one GRE + FLG . I took the hit and DIDNT retreat (´cos the sandbag).

But...but..then..he use the other INF to attack me . He rolled STR+ FLG . So I took no casualty but I retreat ´cos I considered that this FLG was the second on this turn .

And the sandbags rules says : "...Ignore the FIRST flag ... "
So Im playing wrong ?That´s my question .

When you have something to use in order to ignore the first flag , what´s is the right thing to do ? Ignore the first FLAG of the TURN or ignore ALL FIRST FLAGS from attackers ? So , the only way they will force me to retreat is rolling 2 FLAGS on the same attack ?

Clarify me , masters ....

______________
Uh!Ha!Ha! Achtung sou Panzer Elite ...
Rolando pelas estepes , destroçando os bolcheviques
Afrika Korps qual o seu dever ?
No deserto de El Alamein fazer inglês sofrer !!!
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:(f)AQ about flags Wed, 31 October 2007 21:05
you played it wrong. the first flag from EACH attack is ignored. So 4 units could have attacked you each rolling 1 flag each time and all 4 flags would be ignored.

So yes, the only way to be forced to retreat is if they rolled 2 flags in the same attack.

Now keep in mind, you MAY ignore the first flag in this case but you do not HAVE to. So if I am in a position behind a sandbag and 2 flags are rolled against me, and I have 2 more units ready to attack me, then I may very well opt to retreat 2 hexes to get as far away as possible!
      
labalbi
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 209
Registered:
September 2006
  Re:(f)AQ about flags Wed, 31 October 2007 21:08
Thanks for your quick answer !
As soon as I post I read another post from a guy with the same question of me. And your answer is the same I read there ! Thanks ... Razz
      
Whiterook
Senior Member

Posts: 296
Registered:
December 2006
Re:(f)AQ about flags Fri, 02 November 2007 21:54
ColtsFan76 wrote on Wed, 31 October 2007 16:05

you played it wrong. the first flag from EACH attack is ignored. So 4 units could have attacked you each rolling 1 flag each time and all 4 flags would be ignored.

So yes, the only way to be forced to retreat is if they rolled 2 flags in the same attack.

Now keep in mind, you MAY ignore the first flag in this case but you do not HAVE to. So if I am in a position behind a sandbag and 2 flags are rolled against me, and I have 2 more units ready to attack me, then I may very well opt to retreat 2 hexes to get as far away as possible!


And the retreating two back in the face of heavy opposition comes in handy when you can retreat into , say, woods...this offers you protection if the enemy comes a runnin' on your heels! Kind of like how the French Resistance use this to their advantage.
      
    
Previous Topic:Scenario Editor Frozen River Bends
Next Topic:Web access code - eastern front
Goto Forum: