Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » I'm Sure This Has Been Discussed Before - Pacific Theater
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
roboman
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 5
Registered:
August 2007
  I'm Sure This Has Been Discussed Before - Pacific Theater Mon, 24 December 2007 06:11
While I'm sure this has probably been discussed to death, I am new to M44 and just recently played the Pacific Theater Expansion for the first time.

Is it just me, or is the combo of Japanese + Caves a bit overpowered? The ability to ignore all flags, reduce battle die by 2 for everything except artillery, and the ability to Banzai Charge out of the caves at a 2-Hex Range for a 4-dice attack (assuming you have a full squad of guys) seems to be a bit much! My friend and I tried Iwo Jima and Okinawa and the U.S. side was obliterated both times.

The caves really are a tough nut to crack. If you try to charge them full-on, you are stuck rolling a single dice to kill people. If you don't get a hit on the first dice roll, god help you because there is going to be a 4-dice close assault on you the next turn. You can't stay back and chip away at them with infantry because of the -2 dice. If you try to stay back and use tanks you mine as well be using pebbles, since you can only have 1 dice.

To top it all off, if you manage to get a cave clear of guys, a brand new squad of 4 can pop up from another cave using the transport ability.

The only tactic that seems to have any chance of working is to stay back and lob in some shots with artillery. If you do that enough you seem to have half a chance. Even then, there's a good chance that the Japanese player will rush down from the caves to smoke your arty with a 4-dice roll Sad

Anyone else agree? Or am I just suffering from Pacific Theater noobishness? Laughing
      
Pz V
Member

Posts: 46
Registered:
January 2005
Re:I'm Sure This Has Been Discussed Before - Pacific Theater Mon, 24 December 2007 07:46
I assume you are referring to the Iwo Jima scenario. Are you using your engineers and flamethrower tanks? These are absolutely essential to success against the caves. I've actually had a tougher time as the japanese stopping the allies.
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1389
Registered:
October 2006
Re:I'm Sure This Has Been Discussed Before - Pacific Theater Mon, 24 December 2007 17:24
It the Iwo Jima scenario is #3144u, use the engineers and flame tanks to roast the Japs out of their holes. Engineers ignore terrain and flame tanks (or zippo's) have a maximum of +1 terrain modifiers. The Marines can win that scenario, also use the ships to bombard the shore positions, especially the bunkers.
Cool
      
Whiterook
Senior Member

Posts: 296
Registered:
December 2006
Re:I'm Sure This Has Been Discussed Before - Pacific Theater Mon, 24 December 2007 17:40
Pz V and 50th hit the nail on the head...especially using you ship bombardment, which a lot of folks seem to miss the boat on (ahhhhh, I crack myself up!)
Laughing

Hey, and welcome to the Forum!!!!! Very Happy
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2266
Registered:
August 2006
Re:I'm Sure This Has Been Discussed Before - Pacific Theater Tue, 25 December 2007 05:38
Also, remember, you're not obligated to charge head-on into three cave-protected infantries.

Choose the target where you think you can have the greatest advantage over the enemy, and take advantage of it. It may not be the target that your troops are initially lined up against.

And yes, welcome to the Forum!

[Updated on: Tue, 25 December 2007 05:38]

      
roboman
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 5
Registered:
August 2007
Re:I'm Sure This Has Been Discussed Before - Pacific Theater Thu, 27 December 2007 06:46
I must have missed the rules for bombardment, 'cause I haven't heard of that on the 2-player Iwo Jima scenario Embarassed
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:I'm Sure This Has Been Discussed Before - Pacific Theater Thu, 27 December 2007 11:42
roboman wrote on Wed, 26 December 2007 23:46

I must have missed the rules for bombardment, 'cause I haven't heard of that on the 2-player Iwo Jima scenario Embarassed

You didn't miss it. Iwo Jima is a "countryside" board so there are no destroyers. He may have been talking about the Barrage card which allows you to target one unit anywhere with 4 dice.

Good strategy in M44 is to focus on weakened units and destroy those first,. You don't get point for the number of figures hit, just the number of units eliminated. But better strategy against the Japanese is to target all units that can do you harm to knock them down to 3-figures each. This eliminates their extra die in close combat so you can then focus on eliminating units.
      
roboman
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 5
Registered:
August 2007
Re:I'm Sure This Has Been Discussed Before - Pacific Theater Thu, 27 December 2007 17:49
The Japanese Reduction strategy was the one I was trying to use. If I could knock them down to 3 units they wouldn't be able to use that brutal bonus in close combat. The problem is, when you're rolling 1 dice at a time one them in the caves (if you can't get an engineer unit up there fast enough, the odds of getting a hit are only 33%, as I recall (either a grenade or an infantry unit).
      
Antoine
-= Crew =-
Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1668
Registered:
April 2007
Re:I'm Sure This Has Been Discussed Before - Pacific Theater Thu, 27 December 2007 23:57
roboman écrit le Thu, 27 December 2007 17:49

the odds of getting a hit are only 33%, as I recall (either a grenade or an infantry unit).


There are two infantry figures on the dice, so it's 50% chance to hit.

[Updated on: Thu, 27 December 2007 23:57]

      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1389
Registered:
October 2006
Re:I'm Sure This Has Been Discussed Before - Pacific Theater Sun, 30 December 2007 21:16
ColtsFan76 wrote on Thu, 27 December 2007 04:42

roboman wrote on Wed, 26 December 2007 23:46

I must have missed the rules for bombardment, 'cause I haven't heard of that on the 2-player Iwo Jima scenario Embarassed

You didn't miss it. Iwo Jima is a "countryside" board so there are no destroyers.


No, I thought he was talking about Iwo Jima "the real thing" scenario #3144 which is an attack on the island by sea! Shocked

In that scenario there are two destroyers!
      
roboman
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 5
Registered:
August 2007
Re:I'm Sure This Has Been Discussed Before - Pacific Theater Mon, 31 December 2007 01:19
50th wrote on Sun, 30 December 2007 15:16

ColtsFan76 wrote on Thu, 27 December 2007 04:42

roboman wrote on Wed, 26 December 2007 23:46

I must have missed the rules for bombardment, 'cause I haven't heard of that on the 2-player Iwo Jima scenario Embarassed

You didn't miss it. Iwo Jima is a "countryside" board so there are no destroyers.


No, I thought he was talking about Iwo Jima "the real thing" scenario #3144 which is an attack on the island by sea! Shocked

In that scenario there are two destroyers!


Those destroyers would be real nice for cleaning out some caves!
      
    
Previous Topic:Owned the game for > 1 year and played
Next Topic:in Vassal for m44 now what
Goto Forum: