Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Question about Vantage Point
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Question about Vantage Point Tue, 25 December 2007 20:08
I've been meaning to ask this for some time, but always forget...until now Smile

When placing the two reserve units adjacent to other units, may the second unit be placed adjacent to, and only adjacent to, the first after it has been placed using the card? Or, must both units re-deployed by Vantage Point be placed adjacent to a unit(s) not directly effected by Vantage Point?
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Question about Vantage Point Tue, 25 December 2007 20:26
Good question. I have always assumed it was adjacent to existing units - so you could not place the first unit and then the 2nd only next to the first.

My reason for this is because the action of placing two units should be simultaneous. But really, the card doesn't get this specific and does say place it next to "any" unit.

In the last round of questions, I only asked where these units could be placed (i.e. outside the "normal" deployment area). Let's see if they read our minds and included any hints to this question as well.
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Question about Vantage Point Tue, 25 December 2007 20:53
I had assumed as you, but when an opponent wanted to do differently, I didn't really have an answer with backing to give Smile

I'm hoping that a "Specialist Cards Compendium" makes an appearance at some point. Though, like with cc's, I expect most figure that the cards are self-explanatory.
      
RBorg
Game Designer
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 238
Registered:
December 2003
Re:Question about Vantage Point Tue, 25 December 2007 21:06
The card Vantage Point reads-
You may deploy up to two of your Reserve unit(s) onto any hex adjacent to a friendly unit.

The intent and the way we play Vantage Point-
One or both Reserve units must be placed in an hex adjacent to a friendly unit that is already deployed on the battlefield. The hex the Reserve unit is placed on must be a vacant hex and may not contain impassable terrain. Note, if two Reserve units are being placed, the two Reserve units do not have to be placed adjacent to the same friendly unit.

Merry Christmas
Richard Borg
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Question about Vantage Point Tue, 25 December 2007 22:09
Not to seem ungrateful Very Happy , but as long as you've said that much, how about using vantage point (or any specialist card) to position units outside the original deployment area (ie, beyond the fourth row)? I never thought there was a problem with doing so, until others pointed out that it may go against the spirit of the deployment rules.

And if I have to wait until the questions ColtsFan submitted are answered, well so be it Smile

Thanks again for designing the gift that keeps on giving Wink
      
    
Previous Topic:Merry Christmas!
Next Topic:What can the system offer to differentiate further units?
Goto Forum: