Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Official FAQ Update - work in progress
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
decumanusmaximus
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 21
Registered:
October 2007
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Sun, 30 December 2007 22:35
Quote:

Yes. There is no DOW copyright on the FAQ that I know of. However, DOW just announced today a compendium to answer all questions on all cards released under the Air Pack. This will basically eliminate the need for an FAQ - though one will probably be made available for print out eventually.


Would you be willing to review, suggest edits and point out any inaccuracies in both an "unofficial" FAQ as well as House Rules & Variants document I've compiled? I believe these could be very helpful resources. If so, it is certainly appreciated and I suspect you could do it quite quickly. Lastly, can you recommend any good Memoir '44 sites to post such material?

I'm not sure the best way to get them to you. In an e-mail as an attachment, perhaps? Currently, they are in Word 2003 format, however, I would like to convert them to PDF after editing.

I appreciate any help you could offer. God bless.

P.S. I'm aware that some of the information may be dated with the introduction of the Air Pack, however, for those who don't have the Air Pack, it is still relevant. Also, I know you aren't a fan of variants and, therefore, if you would be willing to review it from a usage perspective, that'd be great.
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Mon, 31 December 2007 17:04
I would be willing to look at whatever you have. Probably the best way to tsend them is in email form and Word 2003 would be best. You can email me at mola76 AT sbcglobal DOT net.

As far as where to post it, there are a few fans that have deciated sites. Perhaps maintaining it on www.boardgamegeek.com would reach a larger audience.

As you mentioned, I am not a fan of houserules but realize others appreciate them. I could glance at them but don't know what I could offer.

As far as an "official" FAQ, I think I will follow in Dark Padawan's footsteps on the BattleLore site and work to make a printed form of the Compendium. I think the old FAQ should still exist. Perhaps some notation on those questions that have been resolved with the printing of the Air pack would be best. That way they don't dissappear but they don't confuse those using the Air Pack.
      
decumanusmaximus
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 21
Registered:
October 2007
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Mon, 31 December 2007 17:49
It is on its way. Thanks again and I look forward to hearing from you. Over and out.
      
Durandel
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Sat, 05 January 2008 04:33
Hello,

I had a question about the ambush card. Does the "Close Assault" term mean when your opponent plays the "Close Assault" card or just when you are attacked by an adjacent enemy.

Thanks
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Sat, 05 January 2008 05:36
Durandel wrote on Fri, 04 January 2008 21:33

Hello,

I had a question about the ambush card. Does the "Close Assault" term mean when your opponent plays the "Close Assault" card or just when you are attacked by an adjacent enemy.

Thanks

It means ANY close assault where you are being attacked by an adjacent enemy. Not specifically the Close Asault card.
      
bgm1961
Junior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 18
Registered:
September 2007
How about a GAME SCALE explanation? Sun, 06 January 2008 10:23
When you go to the M'44 Fan Site, you can find a set of house rules put together by Mr & Mrs Guderian. (http://www.m44platoon.com/index.php?option=com_content&t ask=view&id=51&Itemid=40)

In their opening paragraph there's a very good description of the concept of game scale and how it applies to M'44. However, the description , even has thorough as it is, still needs to be taken a step further.

An explanation of the concept of GAME SCALE would be a great addition to the FAQ. Such an explanation would help explain the hex scale, and help a gamer to understand why a unit maintains it's strength even when it's size is reduced from 4 to 1 (the content of each unit, and hence it's combat capability, is explained through game scale). An explanation should be provided that helps the gamer determine the game scale for each scenario. I.e... are the units in a given scenario Armies or Divisions? Or Battalions?

The Guderians explain for instance, how the presence of artillery might suggest a smaller game scale which incorporates smaller units (and as such, a reduced time scale). Again, It would be nice for the FAQ to address this in a way that can be applied by gamers.

I wish I can provide the answer, but unfortunately I'm one of those asking the question!

Thanks,
Barry
      
chimera
Junior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 6
Registered:
October 2007
scenario 44 plus snipers and engineers Sat, 23 February 2008 14:46
From what I know, there hasn't been any good explanation on the details of Scenario 41 (Stalingrad).

- I suspect the medal in the city ruins is a typo, and in fact there should be TWO medals in two town hexes instead. I decided to put them in the town hexes with the Snipers. That would be more in accordance with the instructions, since if we add up the medals you get for the towns (2) + the factory complex (2) + destroyed enemy units (6), it gives 10 medals, which is the number needed for victory. Moreover, the instructions don't say anything about there being a medal in the ruins, but it clearly states that one should place Objective Medals in "these" hexes, obviously referring to town hexes, although it doesn't specify which ones.

- Important for engineer and sniper rules: are Obstacles Terrain? The manuals always describe them as a different category, but I still have some doubts, especially when it comes to the aforementioned special units. Do Snipers get penalties for Bunkers or Sandbags or are they like Artillery Units?

[Updated on: Sat, 23 February 2008 15:13]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2278
Registered:
August 2006
Re:scenario 44 plus snipers and engineers Sun, 24 February 2008 03:30
Stalingrad: I found the original scenario description ambiguous, too. The Air Pack version of the scenario spells it our much more clearly.

"The four contiguous ruins and factory hexes at the Red Barricades factory complex form a Temporary Medal Objective worth 2 medals for whomever controls it." (Temp Medal Objective means that the medal stops counting if you leave it or lose control of it.)

"The isolated factory hex and the city ruins next to the other factory hex ire individual Temporary Medal Objectives, worth 1 medal each to whomever occupies them."

Obstacles and Snipers/Engineers: Yes, snipers can attack a unit that stands on an obstacle. Yes, engineers ignore dice reductions in close assault against a unit on an obstacle.
      
chimera
Junior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 6
Registered:
October 2007
Re:scenario 44 plus snipers and engineers Sun, 24 February 2008 05:12
sam1812 wrote on Sat, 23 February 2008 21:30


Obstacles and Snipers/Engineers: Yes, snipers can attack a unit that stands on an obstacle.


But do they get the penalties?

Quote:

Yes, engineers ignore dice reductions in close assault against a unit on an obstacle.


That's what I suspected, but it seems to be contradictory to the rules unless Obstacles are part of the Terrain category. If it is so, where exactly is the rule supporting this viewpoint? The rules I have (Memoir 44 and Eastern Front) always refer to Obstacles as a separate category. At least tha's my understanding of them.

Thanks a lot by the way.



      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:scenario 44 plus snipers and engineers Sun, 24 February 2008 06:38
Obstacles are a subset of Terrain. The rules show this clearly on Page 13 of the basic Game.

Page 13 starts a Section Called "Appendix 2 - Terrain" Appendix 2 includes all pages up to page 17, which then starts "Appendix 3 - Multi player games..."

So under Appendix 2, Terrain, you have:
-Using the Terrain Help Cards
-Forests
-Hedgerows
-Hills
-Towns & Villages
-Rivers & Waterways
-Oceans
-Beaches
-Fixed Obstacles
-Removable Obstacles

So Snipers can ignore the protection that obstacles give their occupants as can Engineers in Close combat.

EDIT: Keep forgetting about the Air Pack. All "obstacles" are listed on Terrain Cards in the reference section. Further support that the game classifies them asll as "terrain."

[Updated on: Sun, 24 February 2008 06:41]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2278
Registered:
August 2006
Re:scenario 44 plus snipers and engineers Mon, 25 February 2008 03:59
chimera wrote on Sat, 23 February 2008 23:12

sam1812 wrote on Sat, 23 February 2008 21:30


Obstacles and Snipers/Engineers: Yes, snipers can attack a unit that stands on an obstacle.


But do they get the penalties?



Sorry, I should have been clearer. Since snipers only roll 1d, being able to attack means that there is no dice reduction.
      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1842
Registered:
July 2005
Re:scenario 44 plus snipers and engineers Thu, 06 March 2008 21:27
This...

http://www.bouldergames.com/gamenotes/gamenotes_803.htm

...is a very interesting interview, especially the discussion of scale and one or two other aspects of the C&C games that often attract comments and questions here. It would be good to have parts of it reproduced in the FAQ at appropriate places if it isn't copyright, or if the publishers or Richard give consent. Maybe a section in the FAQ on design philosophy?

Thanks to ANZAC_Trooper for posting this link in another thread.

[Updated on: Thu, 06 March 2008 21:28]

      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1842
Registered:
July 2005
Taking Ground / Follow-on Combat Sun, 13 April 2008 10:16
It would be very nice to have a summary list all in one place of all of the exceptions to the ability to take ground and have follow-on combat. E.g. if you didn't start the turn adjacent to the bocage hex you're battling into you can't take ground.

Also, an affirmation of the situations where you can still use those abilities, but it might be questioned. E.g. if an armour unit moves onto a fordable river, is it able to take ground and have follow-on combat this turn? (realised I wasn't sure about this one today, and I haven't got all of my rules and FAQs etc. immediately to hand).
      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1842
Registered:
July 2005
Counter-Attack Card and Air Power Thu, 15 May 2008 13:01
"Q. When Air Power and Blitz rules are in effect, may the Allied player play a counter attack card right after the Axis player plays a Recon 1 card that was used as an Air Sortie and also use the Recon 1 card as an Allied Air Sortie?

A. No. The counter attack has the effect of a Recon 1 card because Blitz rules only are in effect for the Axis player.

Q. When Air Power and Blitz rules are in effect, may the Axis player play a counter attack card right after the Allied player plays a Recon 1 card and use the Recon 1 card as an Axis Air Sortie?

A. Yes. The counter attack can be used to counter an Allied Recon 1 card and play it as an Air Sortie because Blitz rules are in effect for the Axis player.

When Air Strike rules are in effect for both the Axis and Allies the scenario will indicate that both sides may use Air Strike rules. So when a Recon 1 card is played as an Air Strike and then counter attacked by the opposition player it MUST be played as an Air Strike. If the Recon 1 card is played as a Recon 1 and then counter attacked by the opposition player it must be played as a Recon 1.

R. Borg"

My emphasis.

See http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=14630&prevloaded= 1&rev=&reveal=&start=0&count=40 for more details.
      
IPLawyer
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Mon, 02 June 2008 05:10
Richard,

Questions about the Air Pack:

In the scenario Kasserine Pass the Allies set-up with a P-40 and a ready to take-off marker on an airbase.

Question 1: Once the P-40 has been used and the ready to take-off marker have been used as P-40's, may the Allied Player play an Air Power card as an Air Sortie equivalent to bring a P-38 on the map?

Question 2: If the P-40 is still on the ground on the airfield, may may the Allied Player play an Air Power card as an Air Sortie equivalent to bring a P-40 on the map (allowing the Allied player, for instance, to bring on a P-40 for a strafing action or ground interdiction action from the German edge of the board)?


Question 3: If the P-40 is still on the ground on the airfield, may may the Allied Player play an Air Power card as an Air Sortie equivalent to bring a P-38 on the map (allowing the Allied player, for instance, to bring on a P-38 for a strafing action or ground support action from the German edge of the board)?

Question 4: If the German brings on an ME-109 using an Air Power card as an Air Sortie equivalent, may the ME-109 attack the P-40 and/or ready to take-off marker as part of a strafing mission?

Question 5: If the German brings on an ME-109 using an Air Power card as an Air Sortie equivalent, may the ME-109 stops its movement in an airfield hex containing a P-40 on the ground?

Question 6: If the German brings on an ME-109 using an Air Power card as an Air Sortie equivalent, may the ME-109 stop its movement in an airfield hex containing just the ready to take-off marker?

Question 7: If the German brings on an ME-109 using an Air Power card as an Air Sortie equivalent, may the ME-109 stop its movement in the same hex as an airborne P-40?

Question 8: If the German brings on an ME-109 using an Air Power card as an Air Sortie equivalent, may the ME-109 move through a hex containing an airborne P-40?


Thanks for your help with these questions.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Tue, 03 June 2008 01:18
Dear IPLawyer,
I would suggest that you take a little time and read through the Airpack rules. I think that you will find the answer to most of your questions there. Nevertheless, until then I will do my best to refer to those rules and answer your questions. Basically question 5,6 and 7 are the same question - or at least they have the same answer - NO!

Page 6 AIRPACK RULES
Unlike ground units, an Airplane may fly over any hexes,
including unit-occupied hexes, terrain hexes and even
impassable terrain hexes during its movement, provided it
ends its movement on a vacant hex. A vacant hex is any
terrain hex that is clear of units - friends or foes.

The airplane must end its turn in a VACANT HEX.

Your question 8 is answered in the same paragraph as it states the Airplane may fly over any hexes. Consider that the different aircraft may be at different altitudes. Again, however, it must continue on to a vacant hex.

In response to question 1. The airpack rules on page 4 state:
When an Air Sortie is made, if no specific Airplane was
assigned in the Special rules of the scenario being played,
the following guidelines must be used to select a proper
aircraft type:

The rule book then lists the theaters and time periods for specific aircraft. I would think that the scenario you mentioned lists the P-40 as the assigned aircraft. I know you would like the P-38 for its ground support capabilities, but it seems that the scenario has chosen the other aircraft.

Again it seems that question 1,2 and 3 are similar in that you are asking to use the Air Sortie card or its equivalent to choose a different aircraft and/or entry point into the game. My thought is no, however, I would wait to see if the up and ups answer differently. Richard has surprised me with some of his recent decisions.

Finally question 4 seems easy. Yes the take off marker and aircraft can both be attacked while on the ground. In fact Richard's recent decision to allow both stars and flags to destroy grounded aircraft is not one I agree with. However, here is the call from the updated Airpack FAQ:

Q: When a plane is on the ground, is it still only vulnerable to the grenade symbol when strafed?

A: A plane strafed while on the ground is hit on a Grenade, a Star or a Flag
(overriding the rules that states that a plane on the ground is only hit on a Grenade; and a plane on the Ground can't retreat, so a Flag becomes a hit)

I hope this is helpful.




[Updated on: Tue, 03 June 2008 01:20]

      
IPLawyer
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Tue, 03 June 2008 22:06
Dear IPLawyer,
I would suggest that you take a little time and read through the Airpack rules. I think that you will find the answer to most of your questions there.


I have read through the Air Pack rules. While I appreciate your proposed answers, there is considerable more ambiguity in the rules than your answers imply. For the example, at one point the Air Pack rules state that you ONLY do an air check for units that are already in the air. But in another place it says you roll for a unit taking off.

Basically question 5,6 and 7 are the same question - or at least they have the same answer - NO!

Page 6 AIRPACK RULES
Unlike ground units, an Airplane may fly over any hexes,
including unit-occupied hexes, terrain hexes and even
impassable terrain hexes during its movement, provided it
ends its movement on a vacant hex. A vacant hex is any
terrain hex that is clear of units - friends or foes.


The airplane must end its turn in a VACANT HEX.

Although I believe you're "no" answer is probably correct. However, the Air Pack is completely silent as to the interactions between airplanes of the opposing sides. I will also note that for question 6, a "ready to take-off marker" is called a "marker" not a unit, so under a strict reading of of the rule, an airfield with a take-off marker would be considered vacant.

Although I do believe that airplanes and take-off markers are probably "units" for the purpose of determining a vacant hex, based on my previous experience with Memoir '44's rules and FAQ answers, I'm less than certain that this is the case.

Your question 8 is answered in the same paragraph as it states the Airplane may fly over any hexes. Consider that the different aircraft may be at different altitudes. Again, however, it must continue on to a vacant hex.

Once again, the problem for me is that the Air Pack is silent with respect to the interactions of opposing aircraft.

And the issue isn't a question of what would happen in real life, or an airplane could stop its movement in a hex containing ground units; the fact it can't is a game rule that makes play of the game easier by avoiding special rules for planes and units in the same hex and/or avoiding hexes getting overcrowded.

In response to question 1. The airpack rules on page 4 state:
When an Air Sortie is made, if no specific Airplane was
assigned in the Special rules of the scenario being played,
the following guidelines must be used to select a proper
aircraft type:


The rule book then lists the theaters and time periods for specific aircraft. I would think that the scenario you mentioned lists the P-40 as the assigned aircraft. I know you would like the P-38 for its ground support capabilities, but it seems that the scenario has chosen the other aircraft.

The problem is although there is a P-40 on the board, the scenario is silent about off-board planes for both the Germans and the US and the rules do not make it clear that the assignment of a particular on-board plane specifies that only that type of plane is available as an off-board plane.

There are scenarios where the scenario specifies that all of the offboard planes are of a particular type.

Again it seems that question 1,2 and 3 are similar in that you are asking to use the Air Sortie card or its equivalent to choose a different aircraft and/or entry point into the game. My thought is no, however, I would wait to see if the up and ups answer differently. Richard has surprised me with some of his recent decisions.

Richard has surprised me too, which is why I am asking these questions.

Finally question 4 seems easy. Yes the take off marker and aircraft can both be attacked while on the ground. In fact Richard's recent decision to allow both stars and flags to destroy grounded aircraft is not one I agree with. However, here is the call from the updated Airpack FAQ:

Q: When a plane is on the ground, is it still only vulnerable to the grenade symbol when strafed?

A: A plane strafed while on the ground is hit on a Grenade, a Star or a Flag
(overriding the rules that states that a plane on the ground is only hit on a Grenade; and a plane on the Ground can't retreat, so a Flag becomes a hit)

I hope this is helpful.


Thanks for that info. I hadn't seen the updated Airpack FAQ. And I agree with you about the Flag being a hit, given there is absolutely no indication of this in the Air Pack rules.

In general, I said above, I was surprised in the Airpack rules as to the lack of discussion of the interaction between planes of the opposing sides.





[Updated on: Tue, 03 June 2008 22:08]

      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1842
Registered:
July 2005
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Tue, 03 June 2008 23:33
IPLawyer wrote on Tue, 03 June 2008 21:06

The problem is although there is a P-40 on the board, the scenario is silent about off-board planes for both the Germans and the US and the rules do not make it clear that the assignment of a particular on-board plane specifies that only that type of plane is available as an off-board plane.

There are scenarios where the scenario specifies that all of the offboard planes are of a particular type.




If a scenario doesn't specify the nature of a possible Air Sortie then any aircraft eligible for that nation, time, and theatre may be flown onto the board.

When my brave Ivans have been arrayed in line of battle, I've often hoped my opponent would choose a Storch Wink
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Wed, 04 June 2008 02:08
Dear IPLawyer,
Here is the website for the newly updated Airpack FAQ:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/faq_airpack/

Please note the second question regarding your previous question about two aircraft occupying the same hex:

Q. Can an airplane fly through another aircraft's hex when flying?
A. Yes, as long as the airplane ends its movement on an unoccupied hex, it may fly through other aircraft, ships or ground unit-occupied hexes during its movement.

Also I think there is some discussion in the original Airpack rules about aircraft interaction.

In Memoir '44, an Airplane that is flying is never attacked
directly. But flying is a dangerous business nonetheless: An
Airplane can run out of fuel; fly into the face of a mountain; get
pummeled by bad weather or become lost at sea; get spotted by
search lights and shot down by anti-Aircraft batteries, etc...
On any turn at the start of which your Airplane is already
airborne, you must do an Air check roll immediately after
ordering your Airplane, but before the start of your Movement
phase.

Although aircraft do not technically "dogfight" in Memoir 44, the fact that an airplane adjacent to yours forces a two die air check certainly increases the odds of a take down with the victory medal going to the side forcing the air check.

Again I hope this is helpful.
      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1842
Registered:
July 2005
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Wed, 04 June 2008 10:04
And I can't remember if this is in the rules or not, but if enemy units or aircraft are adjacent to your airplane when an airchack must be made we play that the enemy player rolls the dice for the aircheck. This increases the sense of a dogfight or AA fire and is a lot more fun!
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Wed, 04 June 2008 12:00
Yangtze you are correct about the opponent rolling the die. On page 8 of the Airpack rules it states:

If there are adjacent enemy units, roll 1 additional die for
each adjacent enemy unit and 2 for each adjacent enemy
Airplane. In this case, it is the Opponent that rolls the dice for
the Air check.

It is fun to see the angst on an opponents face when their beloved aircraft crashes and burns. And to add insult to injury, you have just scored another medal.Razz
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Wed, 04 June 2008 13:58
Dear IPLawyer,
In response to your questions, I just reread the Airpack rules. In your prior response you stated:

"For the example, at one point the Air Pack rules state that you ONLY do an air check for units that are already in the air. But in another place it says you roll for a unit taking off."

At no time did I ever see the mention of the word ONLY in regard to air checks. As a matter of fact, the rules are clear in stating on page 8 that an aircraft taking off from an airstrip MIGHT be subject to an Air check roll.

Takeoff/Land on Aircraft Carriers or Airfields
Special Action: Airplane may take-off/land on Aircraft
Carrier (Corsair, Zero) or Airfield (all Airplanes).
This is a free action (i.e. the Airplane can still do another
Special Action this turn); of course, the Airplane must be still be
ordered to take-off during the Orders phase, and might be
subject to an Air Check roll.

And on page 9:

Airplanes that are ordered to take off from an Airfield or an
Aircraft Carrier are subject to an Air check roll during the turn
in which they are ordered to take off, unless ordered to take
off through the play of an Air Sortie(or equivalent) card that
negates the need for the Air check.
For this purpose, an Airfield is considered as having 0d
terrain effect on the Air check so if there are no enemy troops
adjacent to the Airfield when the Airplane takes off, no die is
rolled.

So no Air check if there are no adjacent enemy units to the airfield.




      
IPLawyer
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Wed, 04 June 2008 20:04
At no time did I ever see the mention of the word ONLY in regard to air checks. As a matter of fact, the rules are clear in stating on page 8 that an aircraft taking off from an airstrip MIGHT be subject to an Air check roll.

stevens,

Thanks for the help and the link for the FAQ. You're right that the word "only" does not appear in the rules, but in the section of the rules titled Air Losses on page 8 only an "Airplane that is already airborne" is mentioned. To know you have to also check for possible losses for Take-off/Land, I needed to also know to look in the Take-off/Land on Aircraft Carriers or Airfields section on p. 8 or the Airborne Airplanes section on p. 9.

During the games I played with a friend this past weekend, I did what I thought was the logical thing and looked at the Air Losses section to see when you rolled for possible losses. Then, while looking up another rule, we came upon the sections indicating you could also possibly roll for air checks for planes taking off. One of these sections, Take-off/Land on Aircraft Carriers or Airfields sectiondoes not indicate that you only need to make an air check roll for taking off off unless an enemy unit is adjacent and the other section is titled "Airborne Airplanes" which is not the place I would have expected to look for rules regarding airplanes taking off.

My opponent and I this weekend have played a lot of Memoir '44, but we were having a hard time using the air rules for the first time. Every time we thought we understood one rule, we would look up a another rule and find that there was something affecting the 1st rule that we had missed. I had read and re-read the Air Rules several times in advance of playing with them for the first time, and this still happened while we were playing.





      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2164
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Wed, 04 June 2008 22:35
I do not know if this will help or not, but I am posting my AIR PACK player aid.

MEMOIR - 44 AIR PACK RULES SUMMARY

WHEN AIR RULES ARE IN USE

They must be used if the scenario being played requires it.

Otherwise, both players must agree to their use.

AIR RULES

If aircraft type not specified in scenario rules, then refer to plane list on Pgs 4 & 5.

Follow scenario special rules for air. If there are none listed, then deal 1 Air Sortie card to each player at the beginning of the game.

NOTE: The AIR POWER card or any Recon 1 played as AIR POWER is now played like an AIR SORTIE card (except they are not shown until played, cannot be played w/ a section card and are replaced after they are played). Also, if a RECON 1 card is played as an AIR SORTIE, then it must be played in the section listed on the RECON 1 card.

AIRBORNE AIRCRAFT

A plane that is airborne and does not receive an order during the owning players turn, is removed from the board.

A plane that is airborne may be ordered by a section card (the plane must be in the same section as listed on the card), a DHQ
or THF (from a star symbol). If ordered, the plane uses up 1 order from those cards. It may also be ordered by an AIR SORTIE card (or equivalent).

AT START ON GROUND AIRCRAFT

These are indicated by the scenario map and scenario special rules.

Place Aircraft model of app type (w/o base) in setup hex (if more than one aircraft available, then use model and aircraft markers).

Need not be ordered when on ground -- they remain on ground until ordered or eliminated by enemy action.

May be ordered to take off by using the proper section card or applicable Command card or AIR SORTIE card.


AIR SORTIE CARD

* Placed face up.
* Does not count against a players card limit.
* If drawn from the deck, it is placed face up and another card is drawn.
* May be played like any other Command Card.
* If a player COUNTER ATTACKS an AIR SORTIE card, he does replace the COUNTER ATTACK card.
* May be played w/ a section card, but the ordered plane uses up one order from the section card.
* If a player uses COUNTER ATTACK vs the above, he only COUNTER ATTACKS the Section card.
* May be used to order a plane onto the board.
* May order an already Airborne plane w/o an Air Check.
* A plane that is ordered by an AIR SORTIE card (or equivalent) is considered ordered for that turn.

MOVEMENT

An ordered plane may move up to 4 hexes (and must move at least 1 hex).

When ordered by an AIR SORTIE card, a plane enters from any full board edge hex on the map. This entry hex counts against the 4 hex move limit of the plane. It may then move 3 more hexes.

Once on the board, a plane may be ordered like any other unit and follow the same actions order: ORDER,MOVE and BATTLE.

May move over any hex (ground units may not move into / through a hex w/ an airplane).

Must end its move in a vacant hex.

Cannot move into same hex twice nor move into the hex it started its move in.

LANDING

An airplane which ends its move on a friendly airfield (vacant of ground units) or aircraft carrier hex may land there. Once it lands there, it remains as an On Ground Airplane ready to take off.

TAKE OFF / LAND on AIRCRAFT CARRIERS or AIRFIELDS

This is a free action but must be ordered and are subject to an Air Check roll unless ordered by the play of an AIR SORTIE (or card equivalent) but only when taking off from the ground (a take off from a carrier still requires an Air check no matter how the plane was ordered). NOTE: If there are any enemy units adjacent to the airfield, then an air check roll will have to be made w/ the required number of dice.

AIRFIELD -- All types of airplanes may land on these

AIRCRAFT CARRIERS -- Only Zeros & Corsairs may land on these.

AIRPLANE LOSSES

If you have a plane that is airborne at the start of your turn you must make an Air Check for that airplane if you issue it an order but before you move it.

AIR CHECK ROLL

Roll a number of dice equal to the number listed on the planes summery card (see the Summery Deck -- pg 11).

If there are any enemy units adjacent to the air plane when it makes its air check roll add +1 dice for each ground unit and +2 dice for any enemy airplane. In this case the enemy player makes the air check.

If at least one GREN is rolled, then the airplane is lost along w/ the order it was given.

A medal is awarded to the opponent if there were any enemy units adjacent to the airplane when it was lost.

ATTACKING on the GROUND AIRPLANES

Any airplane on the ground (model or Take Off Marker) may be targeted like any other unit. If any GREN is rolled all airplanes in the target hex are lost. No matter how many airplanes are lost in an attack only one medal is awarded.

An airplane or ready to take off marker on an Air Craft Carrier may not be targeted but is lost if the Carrier is sunk. No medal is awarded for any planes on a carrier that is sunk.

Airplanes on the ground (either models or markers) block line of sight (LOS) and enemy units may not target more distant units if adjacent to airplanes on the ground.

Airplanes on the ground cannot conduct any Special Action other than take off.

Airplanes can never be the target or beneficiary of an AMBUSH card, even when on the ground.

AIRBORNE AIRPLANES

Do not block LOS and do not prevent enemy units from firing on more distant targets.



[Updated on: Thu, 05 June 2008 22:12]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Wed, 04 June 2008 23:42
Dear IPLawyer,
I am with you on the fact that a lot of times it is hard to catch the nuances of the rules. And again you have to read around. In due time with enough play time under our belts I know we will figure it out. The main thing is that even if your not totally "by the book" if both you and your opponent agree to how to implement the rules as understood, you'll have a good time. I have enjoyed Memoir 44 and all its additions immensely.

By the way-
Thanks Tank Commander for your Aid Sheet! I have copied to a word document.

[Updated on: Wed, 04 June 2008 23:44]

      
IPLawyer
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Thu, 05 June 2008 06:05

Dear IPLawyer,
I am with you on the fact that a lot of times it is hard to catch the nuances of the rules. And again you have to read around. In due time with enough play time under our belts I know we will figure it out. The main thing is that even if your not totally "by the book" if both you and your opponent agree to how to implement the rules as understood, you'll have a good time.I have enjoyed Memoir 44 and all its additions immensely.


stevens,

Usually I would agree with you about figuring things out with my opponent. Unfortunately, I will be the Game Master of a six round Memoir '44 tournament for 60+ players in August and the scenarios we will be playing in the last 4 rounds use the Air Rules, so I need to be able to given definitive answers to player questions.

Usually, most of issues with the Memoir '44 rules during a tournament revolve around the interaction of the Behind Enemy Lines card with special terrain rules, players forgetting that a unit adjacent to an enemy unit cannot fire at a more distant enemy, whether you may ignore a retreat caused by artillery fire if the defending unit has a sandbag, how to handle the Commissar chit (for Eastern Front scenarios), and how to handle the beach hex movement limitations (for beach scenarios).

I can see the air rules significantly increasing the number of questions I will need to answer this year (which is one of the reasons I'm not using the air rules in the first two rounds when there are more games that I have the administer).

[Updated on: Thu, 05 June 2008 06:05]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2164
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Thu, 05 June 2008 11:38
IPLawyer wrote on Thu, 05 June 2008 00:05



Unfortunately, I will be the Game Master of a six round Memoir '44 tournament for 60+ players in August


Would that be the BPA convention?
      
IPLawyer
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Thu, 05 June 2008 16:51
tank commander wrote on Thu, 05 June 2008 05:38

IPLawyer wrote on Thu, 05 June 2008 00:05



Unfortunately, I will be the Game Master of a six round Memoir '44 tournament for 60+ players in August


Would that be the BPA convention?



Yup, I will be GM'ing the 2008 WBC M44 tournament; we will be playing 6 of the Mediterranean scenarios from the Air Pack. I GM'ed the tournament in 2005 and 2006 as well.

The 2006 tournament was particularly exciting for me as a GM, because working with Days of Wonder, we took a chance and had an Eastern Front theme. This meant that we needed at least 1/2 the players to bring not only a copy of M44 but a copy of the Eastern Front expansion. Fortunately, the M44 players really came through for us and about 75% of the players brought the expansion. And, had copies of the Eastern Front expansion been available before the 1st round of the tournament (The Days of Wonder staff had their shipment messed up by UPS IIRC), over 90% of the players would have had a copy of the Eastern Front expansion.

We also had no complaints about the fact we were doing scenarios that required an expansion. Everyone looked at this as an opportunity to play the new Eastern Front expansion using new scenarios provided by Days of Wonder. Days of Wonder was wonderfully supportive of me as a GM and I really can't say enough about how great they were to supply new scenarios for the 2005, 2006 and 2007 tournaments.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2164
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Thu, 05 June 2008 22:10
I was thinking aobut attending the WBC this year. But could only do a Tue - Wed. When does the Mem 44 tourney kick off?
      
IPLawyer
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Sat, 21 June 2008 03:26
Tank Commander,

Unfortunately, the 6 rounds of the Memoir '44 tournament at WBC is Friday, with an optional heat on Thursday night.
      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1842
Registered:
July 2005
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Thu, 03 July 2008 17:02
Level 6 on the Night Attack visibility chart has a 6 hex graphic. This is misleading, as level 6 actually represents full visibility. Planes may fly, big guns may fire, and the chart may be disregarded once visibility reaches level 6.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Fri, 04 July 2008 12:46
Dear Yangtze,
I would argue that the visibility chart is not "misleading" but rather just not graphically clear. However, this is completely offset and further clarified by the rule which states that once full daylight is reached (six hexes shown) the chart may be disregarded. Hence, their are no restrictions on firing range.
      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1842
Registered:
July 2005
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Fri, 04 July 2008 13:16
...not graphically clear...

And therefore misleading - at least potentially. It caused me to check the rules to clarify the situation.

The text at level 6 is at odds with the graphic and some other text at the bottom of the card which states "All units are subject to this limitation on their firing range". It would be much clearer if level six simply stated "Visibility Unlimited" in big letters, and dispensed with the hex graphic.

I agree: if you take the card and the rules together you should come up with the correct interpretation. I only offer the above in the spirit of wishing to contribute to a comprehensive FAQ. If whoever ultimately compiles the next edition feels this entry is unworthy I have no problem with that.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Fri, 04 July 2008 13:22
Agreed. What we all want is for the understanding of the rules to be as simple as possible so that everyone can enjoy the game. Thanks!

      
Exoow
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 2
Registered:
September 2008
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Sun, 14 September 2008 21:13
Hi - I'm new to M44 and I've been enjoying it so far!

Most of the rules are very clear, but I'm not too sure about this:

When a unit moves onto a forest or town hex, they cannot move further or battle that round. However, if the unit moves onto an adjacent hex of the same type in the next turn (e.g. from forest to forest), is this considered as "one" forest (thus not limiting further movement/battle), or does every hex by itself forces the terrain limitations?

Thanks for the replies! Smile

[Updated on: Sun, 14 September 2008 21:14]

      
TommieSL
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 341
Registered:
November 2004
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Sun, 14 September 2008 21:54
Every hex has the terrain limitations.
      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1842
Registered:
July 2005
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Mon, 15 September 2008 08:38
Another addition for the FAQ: the plane in the Wake Pacific Theatre scenario should be a P40 or a P38, not a Corsair. The Corsair was not available at this time. Thanks to Winter King for spotting this one.

[Updated on: Mon, 15 September 2008 10:48]

      
Exoow
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 2
Registered:
September 2008
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Mon, 15 September 2008 10:37
TommieSL wrote on Sun, 14 September 2008 15:54

Every hex has the terrain limitations.

Thank you!
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Mon, 15 September 2008 15:41
hugheslw wrote on Sat, 05 May 2007 20:12

Hi Recon1. Excellent contributions here. I'm new to M44, but have played war games for 25 years (Squad Leader and variants, and miniatures). I have had many of the same questions and appreciate your presentation of them. The first flag rule is unclear to us, too, especially when you look at the Pacific Theater rulebook in which it specifies (for Japanese units) to ignore flags "on a given roll." We are certain that the "ignore first flag" rule is per roll, but since we're seeking clarification... Cool

For us, if we need to seek clarity it's comforting to know that there is a great bunch of folks out there supporting each other! Thanks!


Welcome to the boards! Smile

To answer your question...if a unit can ignore a flag (for terrain or because they are Japanese), they ignore one flag from each unit that attacks them. So if four infantry units attack in one turn, and they each roll 1 flag and no hits, your unit doesn't have to retreat and isn't hit once.

To retreat, you have to have multiple flags in the same dice toss. I hope this helps! Cool Have fun, and welcome again.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2164
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Update - work in progress Mon, 15 September 2008 19:11
Please note that the Japanese Infantry must ignore the first flag rolled against them.

If they are in defensive terrain that allows a unit to ignore the first flag in a given attack, they must ignore two flags in a given combat (if two are rolled).

If they are in a Hill Cave or Mountain Cave, they must ignore all flags rolled against them.

So in most cases, Japanese Inf do not have the option of retreating. This makes it harder to overrun them w / armor. However, they are easier to kill when several units fire at the same Japanese Inf as they usually stay in the same hex and this does not reduce the number of dice you attack with..

Of course, any card played against them that states flags may not be ignored override the above and they must retreat.
      
Pages (9): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  >  » ]     
Previous Topic:Guadalcanal - Struggle for Henderson Airfield - New Campaign!
Next Topic:am trying to recall the name of a scenario
Goto Forum: