Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Barrage card and Line of Sight
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
HonkaDuka
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 2
Registered:
January 2008
Barrage card and Line of Sight Sat, 05 January 2008 21:50
Hey gamers,

My son and I just started playing with the base game of M44. We love it so far. We are on the Pointe Du Hoc scenario and his opening move played a barrage card that rolled two flags and took out the Axis artillery. This seemed too easy to me for two reasons:

1) Those are 100ft. cliffs so the LOS should apply.
2) Do I really have to NOT ignore flags on this card?

What's the consensus....mostly on LOS requirements on the barrage and other cards like it. In this scenario....where did this barrage come from....the advancing rangers on the beach?...doubtful....shall we assume that it's from a ship in the channel?

Thanx for your help.

Weaver
908th FA battalion
83rd Infantry Division
"Thunderbolt"
      
Doc Halloween
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 141
Registered:
November 2007
Re:Barrage card and Line of Sight Sat, 05 January 2008 22:03
Someone more experienced than myself will come a long and give you a better answer. However, my take on it is this:

LOS has nothing to do with the card. I would say the barrage was coming from off shore ships as well to soften the assault area up. The card says "Flags may not be ignored." So the artillery in the bunker goes up in smithereens since the artillery can not retreat both flags turn to hits.

And WELCOME Smile
____________
"Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own" Matthew 6:34 (Holy Bible)
"Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends." John 15:13 (Holy Bible)

I often view RPG/Grognard rules like the Pirate's Code. They are more like guidelines.
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Barrage card and Line of Sight Sun, 06 January 2008 00:23
Doc answered as well as I could have. LOS doesn't come into play for this card or anything having to do with Artillery for that matter. The card does not allow you to ignore flags so any flag rolled is a hit like you played. Thematic explantion would be off shore support (or if you want to step outside of the scope of the card - call it an airstrike).

It was a good shot and bold move. One I probably wouldn't have taken (unless the rest of my hand was bad) and once where my luck would have been 4 misses!
      
HonkaDuka
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 2
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Barrage card and Line of Sight Sun, 06 January 2008 02:47
Hey thanx you guys....This game is impressive and so are it's fans.

I can see Eastern front and Overlord in our future. My 12 year old son and I are having a blast together.

I'll probably refer to you again when we expand. The Pointe Du Hoc scenario ended badly for the Germans after the "Barrage" took out my nested artillery on the very first play of the game (thus my orginal post). An airstrike did me in after I had effectively held the 2nd Rangers at bay for a bit. I just didn't see the battleship in the channel until it hit me.

Weaver

      
trumpetman52
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 247
Registered:
April 2006
Re:Barrage card and Line of Sight Sun, 06 January 2008 17:53
Weaver,
Welcome to the Memoir44 community.
As you just said, it is always the one that you don't see coming that gets you.
trumpetman52
      
    
Previous Topic:Blowing up bridges
Next Topic:AARs and Statistics for Revised Scenarios
Goto Forum: