Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Close Assault question.
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Soap Monkey
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered:
June 2004
  Close Assault question. Tue, 06 July 2004 03:48
Hey all,

A question about the Close Assault card came up as we were playing last. I had two infantry units adjacent to one of her tank units. After playing the Close Assault card, the first infantry unit destroyed her tank unit. Should the second unit still get to battle a unit of its choice (that it's not adjacent to)? Or, since it is no longer adjacent to an enemy unit, does it not get to do anything?

Any help would be appreciated.

- Matt
      
BloodyBucket
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 193
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Close Assault question. Tue, 06 July 2004 04:01
I'd say since the unit can no longer close assault, it does nothing else.

Just be glad the first unit took out the armor, and quit fishing for more attacks! Razz
      
Soap Monkey
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Close Assault question. Tue, 06 July 2004 22:00
But I like crushing my opponents into the ground! Twisted Evil
      
Tomski
Member
Cadet

Posts: 43
Registered:
December 2003
Re:Close Assault question. Wed, 07 July 2004 15:40
I read this differently. Battles are handled one ordered unit at a time. The first unit battles and attacks by close assault. The results are implemented. The second unit then battles: if it has a unit in close assault, it must attack that unit, but if it does not (even if the close unit was eliminated this turn), it can battle anything it wishes to. The two units battle seperately.
      
wayner2d2
Member

User Pages
Posts: 62
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Close Assault question. Wed, 07 July 2004 16:36
all battles are worked out seperatley. you can battle what ever unit you like.you do not commit all your units to battle at one time. if the unit mentioned in the beginning post retreated it stil would have been a valid target as long as range requirements are met.
      
Ubergeek
Member

User Pages
Posts: 55
Registered:
April 2004
Re:Close Assault question. Wed, 07 July 2004 16:40
This is right out of the FAQ and may help put the question to rest (or not):

Close Assault Card
Q. Close assault card is played, unit retreats, which puts it next to a unit that originally was not
adjacent when order was issued. Can it battle?
A. No, only units adjacent when the order card is played are issued orders.


Projecting the intent to the situation posted here, the order issued with the Close Assault is to allow a unit to attack an adjacent unit. When that targeted unit is no longer adjacent, the original order doesn't change to allow it to either move or attack a non-adjacent unit. I agree with Bloodybucket that you cannot attack a non-adjacent unit regardless of how it became non-adjacent. Cheers. Smile
      
Tomski
Member
Cadet

Posts: 43
Registered:
December 2003
Re:Close Assault question. Wed, 07 July 2004 16:44
oops - apols. completeley retract my post Embarassed

I missed the word "card" after the close assault!
      
boombob
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 22
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Close Assault question. Thu, 22 July 2004 04:15
If an Armor unit, after a successful Close Assualt, enters a hex that would normally not allow it to fire immediately (town, forest, etc.) can it STILL fire, since the "Close Assult" portion of the rules indicates that it can do so?
      
Benji
Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 94
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Close Assault question. Thu, 22 July 2004 08:15
boombob wrote on Thu, 22 July 2004 04:15

If an Armor unit, after a successful Close Assualt, enters a hex that would normally not allow it to fire immediately (town, forest, etc.) can it STILL fire, since the "Close Assult" portion of the rules indicates that it can do so?


The "Taking Ground" section and the "Armor Overrun Combat" Section of the rules belong together. The "Taking Ground" Section describes what happens after a close assault.

Infantry : may advance into the hex
Artilery: never advances
Armor: May advance and claim an armor overrun

In any case, "terrain and battle restrictions still apply when units take ground".

So when a armor unit takes ground and if terrain restrictions allow so, it may claim an armor overrun combat.

The section "armor overrun combat" then describes what happens, given that terrain restricions allow one to take place (meaning an armor units must have advanced into open terrain or onto a hill).

[Updated on: Thu, 22 July 2004 08:16]

      
    
Previous Topic:Scale
Next Topic:Customer Service
Goto Forum: