Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Strafing and Retreat
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Rock Shox Lyrik
Junior Member
Major

Posts: 29
Registered:
December 2006
Strafing and Retreat Mon, 31 March 2008 17:41
When a plane executes the strafing ability and the last of the 4 movement is on a place which blocks the units, who it is bombarding, do theese units lose a figure on flag? Because they are blocked... on the other hand logically at the time they are being bombarded the hex where the plane will end its movement would be free and they can retreat normally - but in this case where the plane goes?
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Strafing and Retreat Mon, 31 March 2008 18:10
The rules are very clear on this: Your plane must make its full movement before any dice are rolled. So if the plane blocks a unit from retreating when the dice are rolled, then it loses additional figures based on the number of hexes it can't retreat. There is no such thing as "when the plane passed over that hex" during combat.
      
Turboheizer
Senior Member
Generalmajor

User Pages
Posts: 464
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Strafing and Retreat Sat, 11 May 2013 16:00
As the movement is completed before the dice are rolled, the case aforementioned seems to be clear. Just to be sure, I assume that it is impossible to strafe the same unit twice during one turn, even if it retreats from one strafed hex onto another?
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 621
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Strafing and Retreat Sat, 11 May 2013 16:24
Turboheizer wrote on Sat, 11 May 2013 16:00

As the movement is completed before the dice are rolled, the case aforementioned seems to be clear. Just to be sure, I assume that it is impossible to strafe the same unit twice during one turn, even if it retreats from one strafed hex onto another?



No a unit can never be bombed twice in 1 turn.

As said above the plane makes the 1 to 4 move first and if it moves over enemy units it can drop a bomb, however if you fly over empty hexes and later on there is a unit due to a retreat in that hex it can not be targetted again.
J.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Strafing and Retreat Sat, 11 May 2013 19:12
JJAZ wrote on Sat, 11 May 2013 16:24

Turboheizer wrote on Sat, 11 May 2013 16:00

As the movement is completed before the dice are rolled, the case aforementioned seems to be clear. Just to be sure, I assume that it is impossible to strafe the same unit twice during one turn, even if it retreats from one strafed hex onto another?



No a unit can never be bombed twice in 1 turn.

As said above the plane makes the 1 to 4 move first and if it moves over enemy units it can drop a bomb, however if you fly over empty hexes and later on there is a unit due to a retreat in that hex it can not be targetted again.
J.


Why do you say "drop a bomb"? My understanding is that strafing is attack with machine-gun or cannon.

The Free Dictionary


strafe (strf) tr.v. strafed, straf·ing, strafes
To attack (ground troops, for example) with a machine gun or cannon from a low-flying aircraft.
n. An attack of machine-gun or cannon fire from a low-flying aircraft.

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3069
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Strafing and Retreat Sat, 11 May 2013 19:33
Almilcar wrote on Sat, 11 May 2013 13:12

JJAZ wrote on Sat, 11 May 2013 16:24

Turboheizer wrote on Sat, 11 May 2013 16:00

As the movement is completed before the dice are rolled, the case aforementioned seems to be clear. Just to be sure, I assume that it is impossible to strafe the same unit twice during one turn, even if it retreats from one strafed hex onto another?



No a unit can never be bombed twice in 1 turn.

As said above the plane makes the 1 to 4 move first and if it moves over enemy units it can drop a bomb, however if you fly over empty hexes and later on there is a unit due to a retreat in that hex it can not be targetted again.
J.


Why do you say "drop a bomb"? My understanding is that strafing is attack with machine-gun or cannon.]


Because in Belgium the airplanes only have bombs
Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing

http://www.wwiaviation.com/drawings/Hanriot-HD1-No1-Willy-Coppens-1ere-Escadrille-300px.png

 https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTjdNJ17awmrzmdggHju4xr-MiUbdOyl7B_RoZb2UZ0k-tHwl__

[Updated on: Sat, 11 May 2013 20:16]

      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 621
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Strafing and Retreat Sat, 11 May 2013 20:08
stevens wrote on Sat, 11 May 2013 19:33

Almilcar wrote on Sat, 11 May 2013 13:12

JJAZ wrote on Sat, 11 May 2013 16:24

Turboheizer wrote on Sat, 11 May 2013 16:00

As the movement is completed before the dice are rolled, the case aforementioned seems to be clear. Just to be sure, I assume that it is impossible to strafe the same unit twice during one turn, even if it retreats from one strafed hex onto another?



No a unit can never be bombed twice in 1 turn.

As said above the plane makes the 1 to 4 move first and if it moves over enemy units it can drop a bomb, however if you fly over empty hexes and later on there is a unit due to a retreat in that hex it can not be targetted again.
J.


Why do you say "drop a bomb"? My understanding is that strafing is attack with machine-gun or cannon.]


Because in Belgium the airplanes only have bombs
Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing

http://www.wwiaviation.com/drawings/Hanriot-HD1-No1-Willy-Coppens-1ere-Escadrille-300px.png

 https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTjdNJ17awmrzmdggHju4xr-MiUbdOyl7B_RoZb2UZ0k-tHwl__


Hey that is a picture of my grandfather! Razz
My grandmother could never figure out where the blender went. Laughing

[Updated on: Sat, 11 May 2013 20:11]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3069
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Strafing and Retreat Sat, 11 May 2013 20:19
JJAZ wrote on Sat, 11 May 2013 14:08


Hey that is a picture of my grandfather! Razz
My grandmother could never figure out where the blender went. Laughing


I guess no more Strawberry Smoothies at your house.

 https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR7vBr7IpiCnwjoMalcym3_ugrmbxjUdu-Leqe5PdL_IvbE87OH

Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing
      
    
Previous Topic:New Breakthrough Scenario
Next Topic:WARNING Game HACKS online
Goto Forum: