Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Question about "retreating"
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Napoleon
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
July 2004
  Question about "retreating" Sun, 01 August 2004 14:10
When playing, I position three units in order to attack a single enemy unit. Unfortunately, the attack of my first unit fails (only flags on the battle dice). As I understand the rules, the enemy unit retreats before my remaining two units attack. Therefore the enemy unit is out of range from my remaining two units, all my effort in vain. Sad Is this correct or do my remaining units have a chance to attack before the retreat?

Thanks for your help!
      
Gojira
Senior Member

Posts: 165
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Question about "retreating" Sun, 01 August 2004 18:11
That's correct. Sequencing your attacks to allow for the possibility is very important.
      
bbmagic
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 2
Registered:
July 2004
Re:Question about "retreating" Sun, 01 August 2004 18:29
While we're on the subject of retreating, I have another question. The rules state that you should retreat back towards your side of the board. Let's suppose during the course of a game I manuever an Allied infantry unit so that it's attacking an enemy unit from the North (North being the top of the board from the perspectice of the Allied player). In other words, I'm in a North hex and the Axis player is in a South hex. If the Axis player attacks and forces me to retreat, I'm pushed backwards, but TOWARDS the Axis players side of the board! The only way to retreat towards my side of the board would be to 'retreat' forward! My wife said this would be the only retreat possible. I disagree, feeling that moving forward is never a retreat, you're gaining ground!
Does this make sense? So here's my question: When it says to retreat to your side of the board, is it actually referring to 'Allied' or 'Axis' side of the board (i.e. the side that I'm sitting at?) or is it referring to the side of the board as it pertains to combat (so in this particular battle, MY side of the board would be the NORTH side)?
My wife and I just picked up the game yesterday and this rule is driving her nuts. I tried to explain my interpretation of the rule, but she wanted an official answer.
Cheers!
bbmagic
      
Brummbar44
DoW Content Provider
Artillery Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1129
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Question about "retreating" Sun, 01 August 2004 19:56
There are a few clarifications on this forum about retreating, unfortunately they aren't search capable so thhey are not easy to track down.

The unit retreating must retreat towards their side of the board even if it may lead them into further danger. So if you are sitting on the Allied side and your unit is flanked by an Axis unit who forces you to retreat, you must retreat toward your side which would bring you inline not further away from the attacking Axis unit.

This is in accordance with keeping the game simple. Always retreat toward your side of the board, if retreat just isn't possible (ie. you are at the edge of your side, would retreat into and Ocean hex or are blocked by either units or impassible terrain) then you lose one figure from that unit for each flag rolled (bunkers and sandbags exempting the first).
      
Ubergeek
Member

User Pages
Posts: 55
Registered:
April 2004
Re:Question about "retreating" Mon, 02 August 2004 02:51
You'll find that you're pretty much getting the same answers here that you got over at the geek. If you're the Axis player, you sit on that side of the board. If one of your units must retreat, it's towards you. That's your side of the board.
      
bbmagic
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 2
Registered:
July 2004
Re:Question about "retreating" Mon, 02 August 2004 03:09
Thanks for the advice. I guess all my previous gaming experiences have clouded my vision of the rules. I'm just used to retreating back, rather than always towards a border. What has been explained does make sense.
Thanks for all the help.
Cheers!
bbmagic
      
    
Previous Topic:New Starting Hand variant
Next Topic:"Dig In" card question.
Goto Forum: