Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Gang of Four - English » Can you play a full house on a smaller combination?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
jhenke
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
August 2004
Can you play a full house on a smaller combination? Tue, 10 August 2004 23:59
Just a rule question: Can you play a 5 card combo (full house, straight, flush, etc) on a combo of lesser cards?

Say someone plays a pair and I have a full house, could I play the whole full house or must I only play the pair portion of the full house?

I know you can play the gangs over the other player's pair, but I was uncertain on this one.

I wanted to get it down before I teach my friends.

Thanks!! Smile
      
mcYEP
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
July 2004
Re:Can you play a full house on a smaller combination? Wed, 11 August 2004 23:45
read the key rules on the reference cards. It's No.1. Rolling Eyes

Yep
      
MarkoPolo
-= Crew =-
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 138
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Can you play a full house on a smaller combination? Thu, 12 August 2004 03:53
To be clear, the answer is no. The rule McYEP is refering to is that you always have to play the same number of cards currently being played, EXCEPT if you play a Gang of Four.

      
jhenke
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
August 2004
Re:Can you play a full house on a smaller combination? Fri, 13 August 2004 03:32
Thank you both so much for the replies Razz

The rule that I was getting confused on is on page four of the rule book. It's where the rules for "a combination is of a higher rank if:" is explained.

The 3rd bullet point says, "or it is a five card combination of a stronger type," I was thinking that it meant you could play a 5 card combination over any other combination currently in affect (as if each bullet point were a step up in card power).

Now though (after your replies), I can see that this bullet is only valid if a 5 card combination is already in play; this bullet would then be how you decide if the next one played is higher than the current 5 card combo on the table.

Well, I was over thinking the reading of the rules. Rolling Eyes Thanks for setting me straight. Razz

I'm really looking forward to playing and introducing my friends to it. I've got a couple of friends who are card maniacs...I'm more a boardgame guy, but I'm corrupting them into regular game nights so anything is fair game....excuse the pun.

So far I'm a huge fan of Days of Wonder. Thanks again guys. Smile

[Updated on: Sat, 14 August 2004 09:30]

      
TherMight
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
October 2004
Comparing Full Houses Sat, 27 November 2004 23:54
That reminds me.

About how to compare Full Houses to see which one wins, the Days of Wonder Manual does not explain them well.

What full house beats another? It's completely dependent upon the 3 card part of the full house. If 2 10s and 3 2s are played, it can be beaten by 2 of anything and 3 of either strongers 2s, or 3s, 4s, etc.

For those who play Poker and other gambling games this is obvious but for others it is skipped in the rules leaving people to come up with strange algorithms based on the scant examples presented.
      
jhenke
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
August 2004
Re:Comparing Full Houses Thu, 02 December 2004 14:59
TherMight,

That's a great point! Thanks for brining it up. Hopefully it'll help people.

I too thought it was a bit under explained in the rules, but I just used the poker way as you had. Smile
      
    
Previous Topic:Djinni is losing...
Next Topic:Masters Level Proposal
Goto Forum: