Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Advanced Lore Questions
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
PETz
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Registered:
September 2007
  Advanced Lore Questions Tue, 11 November 2008 10:08
Hello,

I have playied with Wizard level 1. Today I will try scenario 7 I think, the one with the creature. Anyway, after that I want to try the scenario where I have all the lore-masters.

From what I saw, if you are a Level 1 wizard you can have 2 lore cards in your hand.

But in scenario 8 where ALL the war-councils are level 1 (except the commander), how many lore cards can I have?

Also another things what is very very confusing is the setup of the lore cards. On wizard 1 I simply shuffled the wizard cards. Now what? I saw I have to remove 1 card from each "lore deck". But after that?

Thanks
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1597
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Advanced Lore Questions Tue, 11 November 2008 10:54
PETz wrote on Tue, 11 November 2008 02:08

Hello,

I have playied with Wizard level 1. Today I will try scenario 7 I think, the one with the creature. Anyway, after that I want to try the scenario where I have all the lore-masters.

From what I saw, if you are a Level 1 wizard you can have 2 lore cards in your hand.

But in scenario 8 where ALL the war-councils are level 1 (except the commander), how many lore cards can I have?


If you look at the lore council card, you will find there is a chart. Scenario #5 uses one side of the lore council card (Wizard only) and the other side of the council card has all of the other council members + charts. Use THAT side for all of the other scenarios (unless playing #5) If memory serves, the chart is in the lower left corner.

Basically, you take the highest level in your lore council (not including the commander though!) and ADD +1 to maximum # of lore cards you can have. Thus level 1 is 2 cards, 2 is 3 cards and 3 is 4 cards.

But also you start the game with a certain # of lore cards, depending on your lore level as well. NO matter what your highest level is, you are dealt 4 lore cards. Of those 4 lore cards, you can only keep what is highest level in your lore council (not including the commander though!). Thus if it is level 1, you keep 1...level 2, keep 2 and level 3, you keep 3 out of the 4.

Look at page 56 in the rulebook, right column, near the bottom.
(also you do start with certain # of lore - which is also addressed in that chart)

PETz wrote on Tue, 11 November 2008 02:08


Also another things what is very very confusing is the setup of the lore cards. On wizard 1 I simply shuffled the wizard cards. Now what? I saw I have to remove 1 card from each "lore deck". But after that?


Again, if you look on the OTHER side of the lore council card (see above) - there is a chart that lists how many of each type of lore cards you place in the lore deck. It is either 5, 8 or 14 of the particular type of that lore council.

For example, player A has a lore council of level 1 Warrior, level 3 Wizard and level 2 Commander. Player B has a lore council of level 2 Commander, level 1 Creature, level 2 Cleric and level 1 Wizard.

For each deck, you will take either 5, 8 or 14 cards from that deck. If NO one has any levels of that lore council (in the above example, would be Rogue), you take 5 cards of that type and put them into the lore card pile. If only ONE of the 2 players has a level in the lore council, you take 8 cards of that type. (In the above example, that would be Warrior and Cleric). And if BOTH players have levels in it, then you take 14 cards (i.e. remove 1 card out of the 15 - in the above example, that would be Wizard). And of course, after you have the lore card set up, you would shuffle the cards before dealing out the initial 4 cards to each player I mentioned above.

Also you can consult page 57 of the rulebook, left column - War Council Set-Up. Usually if you consult the chart that is on the lore council card, it does cut down the time - and remember there are only 3 numbers - 5,8 or 14 for that particular council member cards to be in the lore deck.

Cab

[Updated on: Tue, 11 November 2008 11:01]

      
PETz
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Advanced Lore Questions Tue, 11 November 2008 11:06
So basicly I will just remove 1 card from each "lore deck" in the scenario after the creature scenario (The game is away from me and I'm to lazy to go check it up Embarassed ). That's because each players have level 1 for each council (except commander).

After I do this, I simply combine the remained cards into a lore deck and shuffle them. I give 4 cards to each player and each of them keeps 2. Right?

So you don't have maximul 2 WIZARD cards if you have a level 1 wizard, maximum 2 ROGUE cards if you have a level 1 Rogue and so on?

This is what's confusing right now. I saw that chart with how many lore cards I have... but does that apply to all the masters?

Like for example in the scenario where each player has a level 1 lore-master. Do I keep maximum of 2 lore cards, or I have 2 lore cards for the wizard, 2 lore cards for the rogue, and so on?
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1597
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Advanced Lore Questions Tue, 11 November 2008 11:18
PETz wrote on Tue, 11 November 2008 03:06

So basicly I will just remove 1 card from each "lore deck" in the scenario after the creature scenario (The game is away from me and I'm to lazy to go check it up Embarassed ). That's because each players have level 1 for each council (except commander).


Correct - since both sides have a level for each of the 4 council members, you would remove 1 card from each deck and shuffle the 64 cards (14 x 4)

PETz wrote on Tue, 11 November 2008 03:06


After I do this, I simply combine the remained cards into a lore deck and shuffle them. I give 4 cards to each player and each of them keeps 2. Right?


I think you are messing up the HAND limit with the Initial cards.
Read page 56 & 57 in the rulebook. For this scenario, you would keep ONE card out of the 4, not 2. Since everyone is at level 1.

PETz wrote on Tue, 11 November 2008 03:06


So you don't have maximul 2 WIZARD cards if you have a level 1 wizard, maximum 2 ROGUE cards if you have a level 1 Rogue and so on?


Nope - doesn't matter on the TYPE of lore cards in your hand, just the total # of lore cards. Makes it easier for both sides to make sure they have the correct # of lore cards in hand.

PETz wrote on Tue, 11 November 2008 03:06


This is what's confusing right now. I saw that chart with how many lore cards I have... but does that apply to all the masters?



NO! Only the Warrior, Rogue, Wizard and Cleric matter for lore (otherwise perhaps called lore-masters, if you wish to do so). Commander has it's own chart for command cards. The Creature has no chart. Currently Guest is still unknown at this time. And the Commander, Creature and Guest levels don't figure into the calculations for # of lores.

PETz wrote on Tue, 11 November 2008 03:06


Like for example in the scenario where each player has a level 1 lore-master. Do I keep maximum of 2 lore cards, or I have 2 lore cards for the wizard, 2 lore cards for the rogue, and so on?


A maximum of 2 lore cards, if you only have AS YOUR HIGHEST level a level 1 lore-master.

Cab
      
PETz
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Advanced Lore Questions Tue, 11 November 2008 11:23
I got it right now. I tought I will have cards for each of my masters.

If I have a level 3 Wizard and a level 1 rogue, cleric, warrior I will have the option on having a maximum of 4 lore cards.

right?

Thanks for your help.
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Advanced Lore Questions Tue, 11 November 2008 13:37
I think you've got it Smile
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1597
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Advanced Lore Questions Tue, 11 November 2008 15:32
PETz wrote on Tue, 11 November 2008 03:23

I got it right now. I tought I will have cards for each of my masters.

If I have a level 3 Wizard and a level 1 rogue, cleric, warrior I will have the option on having a maximum of 4 lore cards.

right?

Thanks for your help.


Correct.

But also, to explain something else as well, let's say you have the following : Level 3 Commander, Level 1 Rogue, Warrior and Cleric. Since you don't have any levels in Wizard, all Wizard cards you play cost you an additional 3 more lore than what is stated on the card to play.

Cab
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Advanced Lore Questions Tue, 11 November 2008 17:57
Caboose wrote on Tue, 11 November 2008 04:18

Correct - since both sides have a level for each of the 4 council members, you would remove 1 card from each deck and shuffle the 64 cards (14 x 4)

Just so there is no confusion, 14 x 4 = 56. There are only 60 Lore cards to begin with Wink
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1597
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Advanced Lore Questions Fri, 14 November 2008 07:54
ColtsFan76 wrote on Tue, 11 November 2008 09:57

Caboose wrote on Tue, 11 November 2008 04:18

Correct - since both sides have a level for each of the 4 council members, you would remove 1 card from each deck and shuffle the 64 cards (14 x 4)

Just so there is no confusion, 14 x 4 = 56. There are only 60 Lore cards to begin with Wink



Brian - Go be with your wife! <G> Yeah I knew there was 60 but obviously had no idea why I didn't catch that when typing that - must have been the hour of day - being up at 2 o'clock in the morning. At least I got the number RIGHT in the calculation & just the result was wrong. Sad

Cab

[Updated on: Fri, 14 November 2008 07:55]

      
    
Previous Topic:thank you, DoW
Next Topic:Cannot export PDF ?
Goto Forum: