Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » what is it correct according to rules
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
player490654
Junior Member
Tenente

Posts: 7
Registered:
November 2008
what is it correct according to rules Fri, 28 November 2008 08:40
Hi there,
i want to ask ..what is the correct way to "retreat" a unit in the game...if an axis,for example,come with a tank unit from behind the ally unit...and drop two or one flag...which way the ally unit retreat...and generally which way the units they have to retreat?they have to retreat the way back of the facing opponent attack?

ps my english is not very good.So sorry if i cant explain exactly what i want to say. Razz
      
raistlin_majere
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 159
Registered:
January 2005
Re:what is it correct according to rules Fri, 28 November 2008 13:01
player490654 wrote on Fri, 28 November 2008 09:40

Hi there,
i want to ask ..what is the correct way to "retreat" a unit in the game...if an axis,for example,come with a tank unit from behind the ally unit...and drop two or one flag...which way the ally unit retreat...and generally which way the units they have to retreat?they have to retreat the way back of the facing opponent attack?

ps my english is not very good.So sorry if i cant explain exactly what i want to say. Razz


Hi,

Your english is fine.
Yes, you have understood correctly. If there are no other rules in scenario about retreating, it must be done always to either hex behind the unit even if this means coming closer the shooter if that was behind the retreating unit. Remember that the hex must be free and not impossible so one tactic to cause losses is to go behind the enemy unit and occupy both retreat hexes thus making flag results also cause losses.
I have made one variant about retreating always away from shooter and I will release that in the next scenario I publish. Sneak preview can be found from my pages under working projects.

      
Vomica
Junior Member
Lucky Bastard

User Pages
Posts: 6
Registered:
October 2005
Re:what is it correct according to rules Fri, 28 November 2008 13:33
i found the answer a bit confusing.

you always retreat towards your side the side where you place your victory medals. unless other retreat rules are in the special rules of the scenario.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2177
Registered:
August 2006
Re:what is it correct according to rules Fri, 28 November 2008 14:44
Also, If you have to retreat multiple hexes, you may retreat through towns, forests, wire, and other terrain that normally would stop your movement. You may retreat through mine fields without them exploding. However, if you retreat through a frozen river hex, you have to roll 2 dice against yourself.

And, as Raistlin said, if there's an impassable hex (such as most rivers, or a mountain that you can't climb), you can't retreat onto or through that hex.

One final note: After each attacker rolls its dice, the defender does all the retreats resulting from that roll. You don't accumulate them to do them all together at the end.
      
player490654
Junior Member
Tenente

Posts: 7
Registered:
November 2008
Re:what is it correct according to rules Fri, 28 November 2008 16:31
"you always retreat towards your side the side where you place your victory medals. unless other retreat rules are in the special rules of the scenario."

...as i can understand ,this way of retreatment can happen when the opponent facing you normally from front of you...but if he comes from behind you...then with a "flag" can push you toward to his forces?

Thank you all for your replies
      
TommieSL
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 341
Registered:
November 2004
Re:what is it correct according to rules Fri, 28 November 2008 16:53
No.

You always retreat toward your own map-edge.
      
    
Previous Topic:blitz rules
Goto Forum: